Watching romantic scenes with the boys

March 22, 2009 at 2:10 pm 6 comments

kiss1

On Thursday nights, I tape Ugly Betty and on Friday nights, I watch it with my family. In this last week’s episode, Matt brought Betty home from their date and they were outside her house saying their goodbyes when suddenly the door opens and Betty’s dad Ignacio pops out. I saw my 14-year old son smiling and I told my 11-year old son, who was sitting next to me, “He did that on purpose.” “Why?” he asked. “Well, Matt was going to kiss Betty goodnight and I guess her dad saw that from the window and he didn’t want that to happen. So he went outside so Matt wouldn’t kiss her.” He looked confused but my 14-year old son was still smiling. “Remember that when the time comes that you have a girlfriend,” I continued. “Maybe you should check first if her dad is around before you decide to kiss her.” 😉 Now my husband started teasing him, too. And I was like, oh boy, what am I teaching my kids now?

There was a time when I’d make them look away or cover their eyes when there are kissing scenes on TV. But that was when they were little boys and they are not anymore. They’re growing up and they’re getting curious. And isn’t it better that they learn about the birds and the bees here at home rather than from the streets? And since almost all of the shows that we watch will tackle relationship issues or mention sex at least once in an episode, I find it a good idea to give a comment or two. “She’s crying because he hurt her feelings,” I would say. Or “She’s not talking to him because she’s still mad at him.” Or “It takes time for us girls to forget when boys hurt our feelings.” They don’t like it that much when I do that. “Mommy, will you please just not talk,” they’d say. “We’re watching.” 🙂

Let’s go back a couple of weeks ago. We watched an advertisement of the release of the Twilight DVD. They know I’m a Twilight fan and they asked me if I was going to buy it. “Yes, of course,” I said. “I’ll watch it then,” said my 14-year old. “I just want to see what it’s all about.” Two nights ago, I was excited when I announced, “So, I’m buying Twilight tomorrow.” “What time are you going to watch it?” asked my 14-year old. “After supper,” I said. “I want to watch it, too,” said my 11-year old son. 🙂

So we made it into a big movie night event. We made popcorn and we brought a big chocolate bar and a stick of Mentos that we all shared down in our basement where the flat screen is. And I watched Twilight again with my boys this time. I promised them that I’d keep my mouth shut and I kept my promise. They laughed at the funny parts and I heard “geez” at some parts. I missed the applause and the giggles from the girls when I watched it in the theatre. As I’ve mentioned in my Twilight movie review, the girls applauded and giggled every time Edward got his close-ups and when he and Bella would stare at each other or kiss. 😉 But I love the moments when I exchanged smiles with my 11-year old son last night while we watched those “giggly scenes.” 🙂

And their feedback on the movie? “Ah, it’s okay.”

Entry filed under: Birds and bees, Movies, My Sweet Ryland, Raising the 3Rs, Ryan in the middle, TV Shows. Tags: , , , , .

A Mother of A Problem My mommy guilt trips

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wil  |  April 9, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Ok lang ang Twilight sa kanila. hehe.

    Speaking of things that are just ok, I finally finished Book 4. hehe. It wasn’t as good as Books 2 and 3. I think Meyer probably could’ve ended the series at Book 3. And the resolutions in book 4 were a bit anticlimactic and unsatisfying. They’re actually shapeshifters? And there just happened to be a half-human, half-vampire that existed somewhere in the Amazon? And Jacob ending up with Ness? I think Jacob and Leah ending up together would’ve been a better resolution, imo. 😀 Anyway that’s my take on Book 4. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. niceheart  |  April 10, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Matatawa ka nga dyan sa mga anak ko. The following night when we were talking about Twilight, the 11-year-old said it was lame, and the 14-year-old was like, where’s the action? I told him that it’s romance and not an action movie and that he’ll have to wait for the 3rd movie if he wants to see some action. 🙂

    I had a feeling that you wouldn’t be happy with Jacob ending up with Nessie in Breaking Dawn. It also left me unsatisfied. I found Jacob such a strong character in the beginning, that is until Eclipse. He knew what he wanted, Bella, and he tried to fight for her love. And then suddenly he was hit with this magic, this imprinting thing, which he didn’t have any control of. I also would have liked it better if Jacob ended up with Leah. But then again, how would you explain Jacob’s “addiction” to Bella. Oh well, maybe Ms. Meyer could have come up with better resolutions nga. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Kyels  |  April 13, 2009 at 7:03 am

    I remember when I was a kid and when we were watching movies together with my relatives at the hall, the adults would always chase us into the room when there were “giggly scenes”.

    Haha!

    (:

    Reply
  • 4. Of Anoop Desai and Jamal Malik « n i c e h e a r t  |  April 19, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    […] Watching romantic scenes with the boys […]

    Reply
  • 5. Slumdog Millionaire « My Movie Room  |  August 3, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    […] thought I’d convince the kids to watch the movie with me. Make it a movie night like last time. “It’s about this kid who was a contestant on the Indian version of Who Wants to be a […]

    Reply
  • 6. pragnya  |  November 29, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    ilike to see the all sexyness

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories