The boyfriend

January 10, 2007 at 11:08 pm 24 comments

We were having supper on Saturday when my eight-year old son and I had this conversation: 

kissHim: Mommy, did you have a boyfriend? 

Me: Yes, daddy! 

Him: No.  Did you have another boyfriend? 

Me: Yes 

Him:  Who? 

Me: A boy from high school.  

Later that night when I was tucking him into bed… 

Him: Mommy, did you kiss your boyfriend? 

Me:  Daddy?  Yes.  

Him:  No, your other boyfriend? 

Me:  Yeah. 

Him:  Oh, you don’t like me anymore. 

Me:  (I chuckled.)  Of course I do!  (And I kissed him on the cheek.)

Entry filed under: My Sweet Ryland, Raising the 3Rs. Tags: .

A Frosty Morning Deep Freeze

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joy  |  January 10, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    Oooh… he’s becoming curious, huh?
    How cute!

    Reply
  • 2. Cai  |  January 11, 2007 at 12:16 am

    That’s very cute =)

    Reply
  • 3. JO  |  January 11, 2007 at 12:35 am

    hmmm… wonder what makes him ask you that question?

    Reply
  • 4. iskoo  |  January 11, 2007 at 12:41 am

    you were put on the spot, hahaha.

    Reply
  • 5. mmy-lei  |  January 11, 2007 at 3:01 am

    huh! have you wonder why he asked those things?

    Reply
  • 6. haze  |  January 11, 2007 at 3:02 am

    Hhhmm why asking ? Curious and probably he has a sweetheart🙂 ! A puppy love what we normally call !

    Reply
  • 7. rhodora  |  January 11, 2007 at 5:26 am

    Very cute! Such curious age… My daughter reacted that way too when she learned I also had a high school boyfriend. Ah, kids can be possessive of their parents!

    Reply
  • 8. Toe  |  January 11, 2007 at 5:57 am

    Oh, Ryland is just adorable! 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. ann  |  January 11, 2007 at 7:34 am

    My kids are also asking questions like that. Sabihin pa nila “Maybe you don’t love Dada anymore because you had another boyfriend.” Syempre explain na lang na tapos na yun. Curiosity I think. Part of growing up.

    Reply
  • 10. Ferdz  |  January 11, 2007 at 8:42 am

    Aww! Really cute. Kids can really surprise you

    Reply
  • 11. Sunshine  |  January 11, 2007 at 10:24 am

    How very cute.🙂

    Reply
  • 12. pining  |  January 11, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    ..oh, dear! next thing he’ll be asking about the birds and the bees..

    Reply
  • 13. Michelle  |  January 11, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    kids now a days are very curious… cute naman🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Sidney  |  January 11, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Glad my son didn’t asked me about my girlfriends (yet)!
    Nice story!

    Reply
  • 15. cruise  |  January 11, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    you handled his querries well, haha. cute conversation!

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  January 11, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    Thanks for all the comments, guys!

    Yeah, I also thought it was cute and I just had to share it. What makes him ask these questions? I can think of many reasons. But kids his age are just curious. And he’s had this thing about girlfriend/boyfriend thing since he was in kindergarten. He once thought that this girl was his girlfriend because she likes him and tells him that he’s handsome. And once a girl kissed him on the cheek. Yes, in kindergarten. I think my boy is a girl magnet.🙂

    Also, his older brother is now 17 and once we were at the mall and this girl from his school shouted, I love you Reggie. And he asked him, Kuya is that your girlfriend?🙂 So he’s quite aware of these things.

    And of course, he watches stuff on TV and there’s always a mention of girlfriend and boyfriend stuff and kissing. I know, we watch too much TV. That’s my bad.🙂 But it’s just fine with me.

    And yes, pining, he has asked about the birds and the bees. I have a post on that subject. Just click it on my sidebar.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. sexy mom  |  January 12, 2007 at 1:29 am

    his question sounds familiar. hmmmm….sometimes we are caught off guard, they’re young, but they’re smart. next question, please!

    Reply
  • 18. Kyels  |  January 12, 2007 at 3:33 am

    Awww … He’s so cute, asking you that question!
    🙂

    Reply
  • 19. pining  |  January 12, 2007 at 11:34 am

    I’ve just read your post on the birds and the bees.. you handled that well! I agree with you; I think it’s hard for boys to confide to their mothers, think I’ll leave it to my husband , the explaining, I mean, mind you, got a long way to go yet..🙂

    Reply
  • 20. eric  |  January 12, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    He is so sweet, huh?

    Reply
  • 21. sesame  |  January 12, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Oh, he’s too cute! Usually at this age, they won’t even want to be seen holding hands with mummy.

    Reply
  • 22. niceheart  |  January 12, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    Thanks again for the comments, guys.

    Sexy mom, there are a lot of times when I’m often caught off guard.🙂 Thanks for dropping by.

    Thanks pining. I also think it’s ideal for the dad to answer the boys’ questions, but the thing is, my kids are more comfortable talking about such things with me than their dad.

    Sesame. Oh, that’s true. Sometimes he pulls away his arm when we are out and he’d walk with his brothers who sometimes ignore him and he’d be left behind and so I’m always on the lookout for him.

    Reply
  • 23. bw  |  January 12, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    That’s a cute one.. kids are just so adorable🙂

    Reply
  • 24. Shoshana  |  January 14, 2007 at 12:55 am

    And here I thought we jave it bad at 33F and raining! LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


