On Anoop Desai and Jamal Malik

April 19, 2009 at 4:09 pm 7 comments

“He looks like that guy from American Idol,” my 11-year old son told me as we start to watch Slumdog Millionaire.

“Oh, you mean, Anoop,” I said.

anoop

I have a soft spot for Anoop Desai and my kids have heard me say a few times, “I don’t think he’s going to win, but I like Anoop.” I like him when he sings the slower songs, like when he sang You’re Always on My Mind, True Colors, and Everything I Do. Because he can sing naman, di ba? And probably one other reason why I have such a soft spot for him is that he looks like my kind of people. Brown skin and black hair. Just like my kids. If Anoop could be famous for being on American Idol, my kids could also have a good chance at being famous for being a jazz musician, or a basketball player, or an artist, or maybe an actor, or whatever it is they decide to do in the future. πŸ™‚ Besides, Anoop seems to be such a nice, polite kid.

Well, anyway, back to Slumdog Millionaire . . .

I thought I’d convince the kids to watch the movie with me. Make it a movie night like last time. “It’s about this kid who was a contestant on the Indian version of Who Wants to be a Millionaire,” I told them. We used to watch that game show.

My 19-year old wanted to watch the movie, but he has final exams next week and he needs to study and practice.

The 14-year old wasn’t interested or he probably just got annoyed with me for saying the word slumdog wrong. I said it like slamdog. πŸ™‚ Of course I’m just kidding, he just wasn’t interested.

And after guilt-tripping my 11-year old son, “don’t you want to spend time with your mommy?,” I finally convinced him to watch it with me. Only to send him away after about 10 or 15 minutes into the movie. I’ve already asked him a couple of times to cover his eyes with the blanket when I told him, “I don’t think this is a good movie for you to watch. I’ll tell you whether he wins the million dollars or not. Sorry, Ryland.” I know, it was my bad. I thought, they’d show the main character play and win the game at the start of the movie or something, but the story was told in flashbacks of flashbacks. I know, it’s kind of complicated.

dev-patel

Well, it started with 18-year old Jamal Malik being tortured because they suspected him of cheating. He was from the slums of Mumbai, a slumdog, and here he was, one question away from winning 20 million rupees, which is equivalent to about US $400,000.00. But he didn’t cheat. (Ooops, sorry, if you consider that a spoiler.) He just happened to know all the answers, and that’s the reason for the flashbacks. His life story explains why he knew the answers.

The story of where he came from is really a sad one but it is filled with hope in the end. And on Jamal’s persistence to find his childhood love, Latika, again and again, I find it so inspiring and romantic at the same time.πŸ™‚ Well, I’d spare you with anymore details. You might want to go rent the movie or buy your own copy because I highly recommend it.

Here are related movie reviews from a couple of my favourite bloggers:

Jayred’s Why you should watch Slumdog Millionaire

Wil’s Slumdog Millionaire

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, Inspiration, Raising the 3Rs. Tags: , , , , .

‘He-cession’ affecting husband and wife roles Between you and me

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nke  |  April 19, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    anoop is such a special person…πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. Daphne  |  April 20, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Yes you are right, Anoop is good in singing ballads but he won’t win. hehe

    Slumdog Millionaire was a hoot to watch. At least it was different from your standard Hollywood fare.

    Reply
  • 3. Wil  |  April 20, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    Naks. Thanks for the mention, niceheart. πŸ˜€

    The film is definitely PG-13 if not R, (e.g. the interrogation scenes and the acid scene). Your 11 year old can watch the film soon enough. =)

    i haven’t heard any of the contestants this season, but I’ll check out Anoop on youtube.

    Reply
  • 4. bw  |  April 23, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Anoop is a nice kid but his college boy look – too clean and preppy doesn’t seem to fit an American IdolπŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. bingskee  |  April 26, 2009 at 1:07 am

    anoop is more guapo than jamal. he he:-D and the height, it matches his physique.

    the x factor to be the american idol is missing in anoop though undoubtedly he can sing better than a karaoke singer.

    Reply
  • 6. Jayred  |  April 30, 2009 at 9:35 am

    Hi, Niceheart. Thanks for linking my Slumdog Millionaire movie review. I really loved that film!

    American Idol…hay, I’m so much out of the loop when it comes to American TV.😦

    Reply
  • 7. Kyels  |  May 1, 2009 at 5:51 am

    I love Jamal Malik … His acting was good in Slumdog Millionaire. I couldn’t stop watching that movie!
    πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


