Twilight – A movie review

November 23, 2008 at 4:32 pm 16 comments

twilight movie

Warning: Spoilers Alert!

Okay, before I get any nasty comments, I know that not everybody is interested in the Twilight series and Twilight the movie is not for everyone. But as I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I admit that I got hooked and I just had to see the movie.

It was okay, at least for me. I went last Saturday at 12:30 pm at Kildonan Place and there weren’t a lot of people. None of that frenzy that I’ve been hearing on the news in other places. Most were teen-agers and young adults and there were a handful of pre-teens and young teens with their mothers.

The movie tried to stay with what happened in the book, although they changed some parts which I will mention later.

I like that the movie also started with Bella’s prologue about how she’d never given much thought to how she would die, but that dying in place of someone she loves is all worth it.

The entire movie was mostly dimly lighted. But I guess that was to be expected as in the town of Forks, it is mostly cloudy. That is the reason why the Cullens decided to live there. Because vampires can’t go out it the sunlight. Or they would sparkle like there are thousands of tiny diamonds embedded on their skin.

First difference that I noticed is that Bella met Jacob early on in the movie. In the book she met him towards the middle of the story. But if you think about it, Bella and Jacob knew each other since they were kids.

The actors who played the Cullens are all handsome and beautiful, and noticeably pale and white. And Robert Pattinson! Wow! I never really noticed how handsome he was in the Harry Potter movies. But he got a lot of close-ups in the movie and boy does he have smouldering eyes like Edward Cullen. And Kristen Stewart is pretty, too. They make a good couple.

Okay, I’m gonna control myself now before I sound like a giggly school girl. 🙂 And let me tell you, there were applause and giggles in the theatre every time Edward got those close ups and every time he and Bella stare at each other and when they kiss. But then I think the director and the actors were successful in that because that’s the reaction the readers get from the book. I just wish there was at least one scene when Edward would have brushed his icy fingertips on Bella’s cheek.

Or I would have loved to see the part where Edward was telling Bella that it’s twilight and how it’s the safest time of day for them and also the saddest. That would explain the title of the movie, wouldn’t it?

What bothered me a little was that Bella and his dad Charlie ate out in the diner a lot. In the book, Bella would always prepare dinner for Charlie. It shows how she was taking care of him. I didn’t miss the author herself, Ms. Stephenie Meyer. She appeared as an extra in the movie. She was one of the customers in the diner.

In the book, Bella was using a computer with a slow dial-up internet connection. In the movie she was using a laptop. Can I just mention that the actor who played Mike Newton is also handsome? I didn’t think that he would be. The actor who played Jacob Black is cute, too. But we won’t see a lot of him until the second installment.

Also in the movie, Charlie gave Bella pepper spray, as protection. It was funny, but it did help a little when bad vampire James attacked her in the dance studio. In the book, James bit Bella on the hand, but it the movie, he bit her on the wrist. Yes, it was crescent-shaped, too.

There were a few lines that made the audience laugh, and of course Bella’s clumsiness can be funny at times.

And of course, in a movie where there is a vampire who’s impossibly fast and strong, there has to be special effects. They were alright. I just thought I’d mention that, too.

The changes and omissions are forgivable. I guess they add a different flavour to the movie. As I’ve said, the movie was okay for me. I give it a score of three out of five stars.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, The Twilight Saga. Tags: , , , .

Business Trip to Winnipeg Slippery in Winnipeg

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wil  |  November 23, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    wow, 3 out of 5 stars only, huh? Then again, the book is usually always better than the movie. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Kyels  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    I’m looking forward to watch this movie and I wonder if it has been released here or not and a lot of people have been making huge commotion about the book … Heh.

    Reply
  • 3. Wil  |  November 28, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    I just watched this film. It’s pretty entertaining. I was surprised. Probably the one quibble I have is the product placement of Google, amazon, apple. I’m thinking that’s why she uses a laptop in the movie — so viewers can see the apple logo. hehe

    Reply
  • 4. niceheart  |  November 29, 2008 at 8:38 am

    Wow, wil. You surprise me. I didn’t think of you as one who would be interested in Twilight.🙂 So have you also read the book?

    I didn’t even think about the apple logo. You’re probably right about that.🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Wil  |  November 30, 2008 at 1:49 am

    I haven’t read the books. I was just curious about the story since the film has caused quite a stir. hehe. But there’s definitely more to the story than the love story, making it a more interesting film. There were some pretty funny moments, for instance. 😀

    Reply
  • 6. niceheart  |  November 30, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Aside from the funny moments, there is a lot more to the story than what you saw. More mushy stuff in the book, too.😉

    Reply
  • 7. julie  |  December 6, 2008 at 12:36 am

    I was looking forward to the sparkle and the meadow scene but was disappointed.

    Robert as Edward was a great choice, his eyes and smiles speak of warmth and love, funny because he is supposed to be stone cold.

    I plan to watch this again, without the kids in tow😀

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  December 7, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Hi Julie. You know what, I was gonna mention about the meadow scene but somehow it got lost when I did my final draft. Yes, I was also looking forward to that and I was also disappointed. It didn’t have the wow factor. I think they should have done more work on that. I read in Stephenie Meyer’s website that Twilight was inspired from a dream she had where the girl and the boy was in a meadow and the boy sparkled like diamonds.

    My 10-year old wanted to see this with me at first, but then he changed his mind, so I watched it alone. He hasn’t read the books but was curious and he’d ask me what it was all about.

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  December 26, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    In his post, Chick Flicks, Wil was wondering “why certain vampires like Edward decided to become “good vampires”. Their good character is illustrated by their decision to only drink the blood of animals, not humans. ”

    Here’s my response to that post.

    Thanks for the mention about Twilight.🙂 Actually, it was mentioned in the first book why the Cullens don’t drink human blood. You see, Dr. Carlisle Cullen’s dad was an Anglican pastor who led the hunt for vampires, werewolves and witches. When his dad got old and Carlisle took over, he was bit by a vampire when he found one of their covens (vampire families). That’s how he eventually became a vampire. When he started to get hungry, he was so repulsed by the monster that he had become and he tried to kill himself before he would even drink human blood. But of course a vampire could just not die and when he saw a deer, he drank it’s blood and he became strong. So he vowed to not drink human blood and only drink animal blood. And he instilled this to his family and adopted children.

    It was also mentioned in the book about some of the myths regarding vampires. Myths, which means they are not true. Like they don’t have fangs or that they don’t sleep in coffins. And I guess bursting into flames under the sunlight is also a myth.🙂 I haven’t seen any of the Buffy episodes.

    Reply
  • 10. Twilight « n i c e h e a r t  |  December 27, 2008 at 6:10 am

    […] here for my Twilight movie review Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Review: TwilightTwilight by Stephenie Meyer […]

    Reply
  • 11. coffee  |  January 17, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    seems likely that they will come out with a Twilight sequel pretty soon, there’s a crazy lot of ticket sales at stake

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  January 18, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Coffee, they are already working on the Twilight sequel, New Moon.🙂

    Reply
  • […] go back a couple of weeks ago. We watched an advertisement of the release of the Twilight DVD. They know I’m a Twilight fan and they asked me if I were going to buy it. “Yes, of […]

    Reply
  • 14. The Bluest Eye and Hounddog « n i c e h e a r t  |  June 4, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    […] four years old? And did you know that she’s playing the bad girl Jane in the upcoming sequel to Twilight, New Moon? This is her first role as a villain. I guess she must have become a versatile actress, […]

    Reply
  • 15. New Moon: My Movie Review « n i c e h e a r t  |  November 24, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    […] movie is better than Twilight, as I hoped it would be. I’ve read a movie review of New Moon where the critic had a problem with […]

    Reply
  • 16. New Moon: My Movie Review « My Movie Room  |  November 25, 2009 at 12:01 am

    […] movie is better than Twilight, as I hoped it would be. I’ve read a movie review of New Moon where the critic had a problem with […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


