A fun day of bowling

August 24, 2008 at 9:50 pm 11 comments

For school outings, my kids would usually go bowling once or twice a year. And at the end of every school year, the schools give out coupons for a free game of bowling at Rossmere Lanes. My youngest son had been asking me to go bowling since school ended. We finally decided to go last weekend. His brothers and dad didn’t want to go so it was just the two of us.

“I have a reservation for two for niceheart at 3:00 p.m,” I told the guy at the counter.

He checked his computer and then he asked,

“What shoe sizes?”

“Five and six,” I replied.

“Do you want bumpers?”

“What are those?”

“They’re railings for children under six so they won’t get the balls in the gutter.”

Okay, my son is already ten and I thought that we didn’t need those. So I told the guy, “No.”

“For how many games?” he asked.

“Oh I don’t know. It’s my first time bowling. What do you recommend?”

“A game has ten frames. And lasts about 15 minutes for two players.”

I thought for a moment and said, “Two games then.”

“You’re on Lane 6.”

So Ryland and I put on these ugly shoes.

I let him go first so I can watch him play. Because I’ve never bowled before. But I’ve seen how people do it on TV and in the movies. πŸ™‚

Ryland was a good and patient teacher. He told me what I was doing right and what I was doing wrong. He’d even give me two thumbs up after I finished my turn even if my balls went in the gutter. I thought that I should probably have asked for those bumpers. πŸ™‚

“Mommy, I think you should go closer to that line,” Ryland said.

“But I don’t want those people to see me,” I told him. “They might laugh at me.”

He even showed me how smaller kids do it and as a beginner he thought that I should do it this way. Spread my legs apart. And throw the ball from between my legs.

“It’s okay if you look like a fool, Mommy.”

He he he.

Although it was my first time to bowl, I had a lot of fun. Even if a lot of my balls went in the gutter. After two games, we wanted to play more. So we paid for two more games.

I was so excited when I got a spare, and then a strike.

But don’t be impressed too soon. There were only five pins and those balls were smaller than the regular ten-pin balls. They were not that heavy and they fit in my palm. They don’t have any finger holes.

We worked up a sweat. After about an hour and four games, we went to Dairy Queen and treated ourselves to these.

Banana split for me.

And strawberry milkshake for him.

More of our bowling video clips here.

Entry filed under: Detour, Kids say the darndest things, My life as a mom, My Sweet Ryland. Tags: .

Look at me and look at you Getting ready for school

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toe  |  August 26, 2008 at 3:02 am

    Niceheart, ang saya-saya niyo naman ni Ryland! Haha… and the bumpers would have been for you and not for him. πŸ™‚ The best part of course was the DQ treat after! πŸ™‚ Great mother and son bonding!

    Reply
  • […] A fun day of bowling By niceheart There were only five pins and those balls were smaller than the regular ten-pin balls. They were not that heavy and they fit in my palm. They don’t have any finger holes. We worked up a sweat. After about an hour and four games, … niceheart – https://niceheart.wordpress.com […]

    Reply
  • 3. Kyels  |  August 28, 2008 at 5:11 am

    I have not been playing bowling for a long time but it’s good that you guys had fun!

    πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 4. Abaniko  |  August 28, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Hey, you played duckpin bowling which is more difficult than tenpin. It’s hard to get a spare and a strike with those small balls. Either your mentor was a good instructor or you just have the innate skill at the sport. I’d like to believe it’s the latter.

    Incidentally, bowling is my original favorite sport. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. verns  |  August 30, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Ryland is really sweet huh πŸ™‚ I’m glad you had fun. I remember when I was little, my father would bring me to the school’s oval field and teach me how to bike. It was one of those many quality times we spent together…parang tulad din ng sa inyo πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. Sexy Mom  |  August 30, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    you really had a grand time with your bolwing, when i was very young, i used to go bowling. also in beijing where i stayed for 6 months it was the only sport i could do with the filipinos who have become my friends.

    and after your bowling, i love your banana split! refreshing even the way you showed it in your photo.

    Reply
  • 7. JO  |  August 31, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    I prefer the 10-pin rather than the 5-pin. And the most common here are 5-pins. Argh!

    I used to bowl almost every week in Manila… and I miss doing that.

    Reply
  • 8. Belle  |  September 4, 2008 at 1:14 am

    it is good to bond with the children whenever possible because they grow up so fast, pretty soon, they are out of the house living in the dorm or apartment and you hardly see them like my children..hu hu hu. though, i had a chance to bond with them for 3 days in the apartment where my bunso lives. i am feeling the empty nest syndrome na.

    Ryland reminds me of my girls….so sweet!

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  September 4, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Ah, Belle. I dread that empty nest syndrome. 😦

    Reply
  • 10. annamanila  |  September 5, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Oh, but I was impressed, Niceheart. A spare and a strike the first time you bowled! Te first time I did, I almost rolled with the ball. So lampa I was, am.

    Reply
  • 11. haze  |  September 9, 2008 at 9:06 am

    I like the banana split ! Haven’t tried bowling is it difficult Niceheart? Have tried Jolens though LOL ! The shoes aren’t that ugly, I find them cute.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories