Getting ready for school

August 31, 2008 at 10:20 pm 9 comments

School starts in three days. Since last week, I’ve been trying to get the kids ready for school. I mean not just ready in getting school supplies and new school clothes and shoes, but also getting their bodies accustomed to going to bed early and getting up early. I would let them stay up late until 11:00 p.m. and let them get up at whatever time they would get up, sometimes even as late as 11:00 a.m. But last week, I made them go to bed at 10:00 p.m. and I’d wake them up at 8:00 a.m., with a phone call from my work. That was their alarm clock. But starting next week, they have to go to bed at 9:00 p.m. and I will wake them up at 7:00 a.m. before I even leave for work.

Speaking of school supplies, here are just some of the things from my fifth grader’s list that I found interesting:

1 package faint-lined 1/4″ or .5 size squared graph paper

When I first went shopping for school supplies, I only found the kind that’s on the right. The lines are kind of dark for me. But you see, I’m the kind of person that sticks to the rules, and when the list says faint-lined, I want to find a faint-lined one for my child. It’s also because I know why the list suggests faint-lined. After all, I’ve been a math student myself. The reason is so that you can see your pencil or pen markings better on the paper and not be overshadowed by the dark lines of the paper.

1 30 cm ruler (without inches) (metal or hard plastic)

This is the first time I’ve seen a 30 cm ruler (without inches) on the list. It’s true that we use the metric system here in Canada, but we usually measure things in inches, even the kids, and we’d just convert to cm, if that’s what’s called for. Most rulers that are sold here have inches on one side and centimetres on the other side. But we found a ruler without the inches. And had we not, my son could have used a ruler with both inches and centimeters.

1 calculator with 4 basic functions (+, -, x, ./.)

My son chose this one from the many calculators displayed on the rack. His basis for choosing it is the basic keys on the calculator. But look, it’s a Canon recycled calculator. It’s made from recycled Canon copier. I sure hope it does the work as the regular calculator.

And this one baffled me since I saw it on the list:

1 package end of pencil erasers

This is also the first time I’ve ever seen it on the list. What does that mean? End of pencil eraser? Do you take out the end of an old pencil? And he needs a package of it? How many in a package?

Well, I finally asked my sister whose son was in fifth grade last year and if he ever had to get this school supply. So she showed me what they look like.

They are these:

I couldn’t find a package of end of pencil erasers, but I found this kit, which has only 4 of those things. So I guess that would do for now.

Deodorant (no body spray) for gym

My son doesn’t smell yet, but I guess there are kids in fifth grade who already stink.🙂

My son (we’re still talking about my fifth grader) was asking me a few weeks ago if I would be bringing him to school on the first day. You see, I have always walked with him to school on the first day of school since he started kindergarten. The students bring all their school supplies on the first day and their backpacks would be really heavy. Since he was still young and small, he needed help carrying his backpack. I was already working at home when he first started school and it was very convenient for me to start work late on those days. But I have gone back to work at the office and things are quite different now. At first I told him that I have to think about it and I might not be able to walk with him to school on the first day. I started a new position at work and I have a new supervisor now and I am not so sure how lenient she is. Besides, he would be walking with his cousins and my sister would be walking with them and she has this wagon where they could all put their heavy backpacks in. And my ever dramatic son said, “Oh, you don’t like your son anymore.” And I said, “Of course, I do like you.” I explained to him my situation. “Besides,” I continued, “I have always walked with you on the first day of school. This is the first time I won’t be there.” He said, “Huh, I thought it was only Tita Carol who comes with us.” I said, “What are you talking about, I have always been there.”

See, he doesn’t even remember that I have been there all those times. Well, anyway, I told him the other day that I can’t make it. He’s already a big boy and he will be with his cousins anyway.

Entry filed under: My guilt trip, Raising the 3Rs, Uncategorized, Working mom. Tags: .

A fun day of bowling A penny for your thoughts

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JO  |  August 31, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    My son have calculator on his list too and he is going to grade 6. I think children should not use calculators in school. I believe I started using calculator when I was in College.

    Reply
  • 2. pining  |  September 1, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    natawa ako sa deodorant🙂
    oh, he’ll miss you on his first day of school, but I’m sure he’ll understand
    nice to be reading your posts again after my long break… I hope you’re all well.

    Reply
  • 3. Kyels  |  September 1, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I’ve never seen such a list b/c usually our normal school supplies would be text books and more text books! Also blank exercise books – w/our school emblem imprinted on it.
    😉

    Interesting list there though. At least now I know what it’s like in other countries.

    Reply
  • 4. Major Tom  |  September 1, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    It’s one of the most exciting times for a parent, I remember too well—and of course for the student, it’s sort of a ritual, a rite. When I was a kid, I always noticed how I liked the smell of new school items on my school bag, like new crayolas, new pencils and notebooks.

    Reply
  • 5. julie  |  September 2, 2008 at 9:58 am

    School opening is one of the times in a year where expenses go up😀 But I love the smell of a newly opened box of crayons and when the children are excited, I am excited about it too🙂

    A package end of pencil erasers would probably be a puzzle to most moms😀

    Reply
  • 6. marc  |  September 3, 2008 at 5:50 am

    I wish I could go back to the days when a box of crayons were part of my school requirements😦 Now all I get are termpapers lol.

    BTW, I linked you up, I hope you don’t mind.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. bw  |  September 4, 2008 at 8:39 am

    MY daughter just needed a new bag, a new pair of shoes
    although both of them are not required – just to say she’s got something new for school🙂 In lower grades here you just basically equip them with pencils🙂 Not as stressful as Pinas where you have to buy them everything , including books.

    Reply
  • 8. annamanila  |  September 5, 2008 at 8:54 am

    It has been years since I have shopped for school supplies. Back at that time, it was a major task to shop for my six children, and a big production to cover and label all the notebooks and books. Oh, why oh why do I feel so nostalgic?

    Reply
  • 9. haze  |  September 9, 2008 at 9:04 am

    I had a long lists as well for my two kids (knidergarten) buti naman those stuffs last year could still be useful😀 ! It’s quite tiring to buy school supplies especially, it’s just so good I did it after our vacation kasi para konti ang mga tao sa store😀 !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


