Look at me and look at you

July 28, 2008 at 9:27 pm 11 comments

It was Friday afternoon and I was at the hallway of the sixth floor waiting for the elevator. A lady who was twice my size (and I’m not trying to be mean here) came out of the door of one of the rooms. She was also on her way home. We waited there together and she started telling me how she had this bad phone call.

Her: I always get the bad ones at the end of the day. It just makes my day.

Me: But would you rather get the bad calls at the start of the day? Wouldn’t that ruin your day more?

Her: No, because then I’ll get nice ones after that. And I’d forget about the bad one.

Me: Oh, okay, I see.

The elevator opened and then we went down to the lower level.

We came to this part where we have to either go up the stairs or the escalator to get to the street level. She went to take the escalator. I walked past her and headed for the stairs.

Me: I’m taking the stairs. I always do.

Her: Well, you’re a good girl. And you’re going even faster than I am.

For me, it’s not about even getting there faster. I sit all day at work and at the end of the day I just need to get some movement, get going, you know.

Me: I just like taking the stairs.

Her: Well, good for you. Look at me and look at you.

Those were her words, alright. She said that. And did I mention that she was twice my size? Strike that. I think she was more than twice my size.

Entry filed under: Detour. Tags: .

Four good reads A fun day of bowling

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyels  |  July 29, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    I prefer taking the stairs too and usually I walk everywhere!
    ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  • 2. haze  |  July 29, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Walking is one of the best exercise ! I not only take stairs, I trek ๐Ÿ˜€ ! You’re doing great Niceheart๐Ÿ˜‰ !

    Reply
  • 3. dineabite  |  July 30, 2008 at 7:09 am

    it’s self explanatory! she must have taken cue from that. i, too, like walking.

    Reply
  • 4. julie  |  July 31, 2008 at 7:40 am

    Walking is good๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. ths59ers  |  August 4, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Banter is part of the day, not much choice about that. It can be good, di ba?

    And walking or taking the escalator/elevator is a matter of choice.

    Haaay, I find myself taking the elevator more and more. Bad me.

    Reply
  • 6. bw  |  August 5, 2008 at 10:59 am

    It just boggles my mind when I see fat people who can’t even stand yet continue to pig out on food until they bloat and explode. This is one horrible form of addiction in my opinion๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply
  • 7. Leah  |  August 5, 2008 at 11:21 am

    That’s why the fat gets fatter and fit gets fitter. I am all for the stairs. Keeps your heart going.

    Reply
  • 8. Abaniko  |  August 11, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Sometimes I wish there’s a conveyor from my bed to my office cubicle. I’m that lazy…. sometimes.๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  • 9. mixednuts  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Good for you! Continue to take care of yourself. This is the only body we will ever get.

    Reply
  • 10. Toe  |  August 13, 2008 at 6:50 am

    And it’s not just the elevator… diba kahit going around the malls, they refuse to walk and get on these motorized elevators.๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 11. marc  |  August 17, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    well, i always use the escalators haha but interesting entry! ๐Ÿ™‚ exchange links, if you don’t mind?๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


