Ten things I would never do

December 31, 2006 at 12:02 am 18 comments

Ryland on new year’s eve 2000 

I’m not into making New Year’s Resolutions but Toe of kurokuroatbp tagged me to name the ten things I would never do.  I like her very much, so I gave in.  These are not exactly resolutions anyway, so here it goes: 

1.       Wear a bikini or bathing suit.  My mother used to dress me and my sister in bathing suits when we were kids.  But somehow as I grew older, and my body developed, I heard people point out my big behind, my flat chest, my short chubby legs and I also developed a low self-esteem and this body consciousness that I can’t let people see me in a bikini or bathing suit.

2.       Have a perm.  I have thick straight hair and I used to have perms all the time when I was younger that people thought I had naturally curly hair.  But then I had a disastrous perm just before I got married.  I felt aversion from my groom and I actually had second thoughts of going through with the wedding.  That was the last time I ever had a perm.

3.       Wear bangs.  (Yes, women have this thing with their hair.) The first time I had a boyfriend, I asked my aunt to cut my hair and give me bangs.  I wanted to hide the scar on my forehead and I thought I’d look cute with bangs.  It turned out that the boyfriend preferred long hair.  That relationship didn’t last long but I kept the bangs for about 20 years.  Three years ago, I let it grow and it was such a pain waiting for it to grow to the same length as the rest of my hair.

4.       Eat canned sardines.  I used to love Mackerel canned sardines.  But when I was pregnant with my oldest child, I had morning sickness and threw up a lot.  One morning I ate rice with sardines for breakfast and when I got to work, I threw it all up in the ladies room.  It wasn’t a pretty sight and I still remember the smell.

5.       Wear a size small.  I used to wear a size small and sometimes even XS (extra small).  But after three kids, I don’t think that’s gonna happen anymore.

6.       Smoke.  Bad for the health.  My father was a chain smoker.  And I think that contributed to his early death.

7.       Drink alcohol.  My father was an alcoholic and I have bad childhood memories because of it.  I once tried to taste beer just for the heck of it.  I didn’t like it.

8.       Complete a course.  I once took a tax preparation course with H&R Block.  This was when I was still working at a garment factory and I wanted to work part time with H&R Block to amend our income and also to practice my accounting background here.  But I was then pregnant with my second child and I just couldn’t keep up, so I quit.  Then I also enrolled for a correspondence course in Sewing.  I wanted to learn how to sew my own dress.  I didn’t finish it either.  Just three years ago, I registered yet for another correspondence course, Breaking into Print.  I wanted to get published in magazines and publications.  And perhaps, I thought, write a book.  Yeah, I got ambitious.  I was only three assignments away from completing the one-year course.  But the demands of motherhood and work made it tough for me to finish the assignments.  So I once again dropped it.

9.       Let Arlene clean my teeth.  She is the dental hygienist at my dentist’s clinic.  She just has these heavy hands and my teeth would hurt after my cleaning.  Once, she used newly sterilized instruments – as in just out of boiling water – to clean my teeth.  She didn’t realize how hot they were because she was wearing gloves and the instrument almost burned my mouth. Ouch!  It was just during my last cleaning appointment when I had the courage to tell the receptionist, “I don’t want to get anybody in trouble but will you please give me another hygienist other than Arlene.”  The receptionist politely accepted my request with no questions asked and she marked my file so that I won’t ever get Arlene again.

10.   Say never again.  But this is just for fun.  So if you ever catch me doing any of these things, please don’t hold it against me.

I’m tagging JO, Pining, Kathy, Karen, and Ann.

Happy New Year everybody!

Entry filed under: About Me.

Ryan’s works Our New Year’s Day 2007

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ann  |  December 31, 2006 at 12:33 am

    Opposite tayo sa #3. I always wear bangs, it’s a nesessity…hahaha!

    I’ll do this next year ….Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 2. Toe  |  December 31, 2006 at 2:31 am

    Oh, my baby (for a day) is so cute! 🙂 Thanks for doing this Niceheart. We’re the same with nos. 2 and 3 and 5, and as you said, 6 and 7. And okay, okay… no. 9 din… I also won’t let Arlene touch my teeth. 😉

    Happy New Year to you and the 3Rs!!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. tin  |  December 31, 2006 at 6:21 am

    i wear bangs too because to hide my big forehead! haha!

    happy new year! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. tin  |  December 31, 2006 at 6:23 am

    wahhh! correction:

    i wear bangs too, to hide my big forehead! haha!

    happy new year! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Sunshine  |  December 31, 2006 at 7:48 am

    Thank you. 🙂
    I hope you get to have a wonderful New Year with alot of food to eat, soda to drink and people who love and cherish around you.

    Happy New Year.

    Reply
  • 6. zeroimpact  |  December 31, 2006 at 8:32 am

    Happy new year!
    And never say never
    🙂

    Reply
  • 7. iskoo  |  December 31, 2006 at 12:21 pm

    haha, ang cute!

    Peace in your heart
    Warmth in your soul
    Contentment in your life
    Joy in your home
    May you always be blessed with these priceless treasures!
    Happy New Year to you and your family!

    Reply
  • 8. pining  |  December 31, 2006 at 1:46 pm

    hiya niceheart! happy new year to you and your family.. cute photo of your kid there, he he.. what can I say.. tagged for the first time, I’m honored! have to think about that now til I go back to my homebase.
    So for now, hope you had a good 2006 !

    Reply
  • 9. JO  |  December 31, 2006 at 2:36 pm

    happy new year!!!

    will do this tag as soon as i can… hehehe…

    Reply
  • 10. eric  |  December 31, 2006 at 5:09 pm

    What’s up with the dental hygienist, Arlene? Whoa! Hehehe.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU AND THE FAMILY!

    Reply
  • 11. Cai  |  December 31, 2006 at 6:14 pm

    Happy New Year!!!

    I still have to do this tag… Ipanema tagged me.

    Reply
  • 12. Karen  |  December 31, 2006 at 6:47 pm

    happy new year!
    i’ll do this after jan01. take care!

    Reply
  • 13. myepinoy  |  December 31, 2006 at 6:47 pm

    Happy New Year.

    Reply
  • 14. Daphne  |  January 1, 2007 at 6:46 am

    There are some shops where their size small fit me while in other shops their large items are still too small for me. Strange but true. hehe

    To you and your family I wish you all have a wonderful 2007 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  January 1, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Thanks for the greetings everyone! Hope you all had a nice New Year’s Day! 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Jayred  |  January 4, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    I wouldn’t let Arlene clean my teeth either. 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. niceheart  |  January 4, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    I bet you wouldn’t Jayred. I know you also have this thing with your teeth. 🙂

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  November 5, 2016 at 4:07 pm

    Ha ha ha! I’ve already done 4 things since I posted this. 🙂 #3, #5, #8, #9.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories