Our New Year’s Day 2007

January 1, 2007 at 10:44 pm 17 comments

lusis 

Every year, I always get prepared ahead of time and I buy sparklers (lusis) weeks before New Year’s Eve.  But I’ve been too busy with overtime these past weeks and I forgot to buy them in advance.  When I did my grocery shopping at Superstore last Saturday, they were out of stock of sparklers.  My kids were disappointed when I told them that we might have to skip lighting sparklers on New Year’s Eve.  I didn’t want to bum them out so before we went to church on Saturday night, we went to a nearby mall hoping we could find some sparklers.  Luckily Zellers has some. 

Unlike in the Philippines where there are noise-making and firecrackers everywhere, we just had a quiet one on New Year’s Eve.  On Sunday night, I got busy in the kitchen preparing food for our media noche (midnight meal).  I made peach tarts, not from scratch, but from this ready-to-bake tart shells and I added canned peach pie fillings.  I was going to cook pancit (fried noodles) but the kids asked for chicken macaroni salad.  I also made our traditional sotanghon (bean thread/rice vermiccelli)soup. 

Speaking of tradition, my post New Year’s Eve traditions, which I wrote last year, has been getting a lot of hits this past week or so. 

13 fruits 

As I’ve mentioned in my post of January 1, 2005 and January 1, 2006, I follow this tradition of collecting 13 fruits on New Year’s Eve.  It is said to bring good luck.

In the picture are: (clockwise from the top left) watermelon, cantaloupe, pink grapefruit, red anjou pears, granny smith apple, tomato, avocado, lemon, red globe grapes, pineapple, kiwi, strawberry, mandarin orange).

snowfall   

And yeah, we’ve had a 30 cm (about a foot) of snowfall on the night of December 30 and we woke up to this on New Year’s Eve.

snow 

 More pictures of the snowfall next time   

Entry filed under: Food, Special Occasions, Winterpeg. Tags: .

Ten things I would never do After the snowfall

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lani  |  January 2, 2007 at 1:52 am

    Irene, how I wish nariyan ako kapag New Year’s Eve. Dito sa atin sa Pinas, sobrang mausok at maingay. Kakatakot pa na matamaan ka ng ligaw na bala. At kung may hika ka, malas mo talaga dahil siguradong susumpungin ka na. Oo nga masaya daw sabi nila pero ang dami rin talagang nadidisgrasya. Hay naku talaga.

    Well, happy new year to you and your family.

    Reply
  • 2. Kyels  |  January 2, 2007 at 2:48 am

    I love the first picture of your son holding the sparklers.

    (:

    Manigong Bagong Taon niceheart! And may this year be blessed for you and all the best for everyone and also familia.

    Reply
  • 3. bugsybee  |  January 2, 2007 at 3:37 am

    I love quiet New Year’s Eve but I’m afraid that’s next to impossible here in the Philippines, especially where I now live which is like the Chinatown of our city. Our place sounds like a war zone and the ensuing smoke was awful.

    But look at that snowfall in your place on New Year’s Eve! At least that ensures that nobody would venture out to light exploding pyrotechnics in the streets like they do here in the Philippines.

    Reply
  • 4. zeroimpact  |  January 2, 2007 at 4:24 am

    Ah, pancit🙂
    Happy new year to you and glad you got the sparklers
    They can be real fun
    May the year brings you many good returns

    Reply
  • 5. Karen  |  January 2, 2007 at 5:51 am

    si mother nature talaga mapanukso, ibinaon na naman tayo sa snow. i think i’ll also post snow pics later.
    happy new year!

    Reply
  • 6. kathy  |  January 2, 2007 at 6:19 am

    happy new year!
    we seldom have snow in tsukuba – we get snowfalls once or twice a year. thrice if we get lucky.😛 people actually “celebrate” here when it snows.
    great picture of the fruit platter. but why 13?

    Reply
  • 7. manilenya  |  January 2, 2007 at 7:16 am

    HIndi na kami nakakapag ipon ng labing tatlong ibat ibant klase ng prutas hindi katulad noong maliit kami as in sobrang dami talaga …..pero sa hirap ng buhay di na makabili si nanay ngmarami🙂 mga tatlo na lang lol

    happy new year po pala🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Shoshana  |  January 2, 2007 at 9:19 am

    That’s a lovely pictures with the sparklers…and I still do the 13 fruits. My family always does that.

    Wow! I’ve never seen so much snow all my life!

    We had 33F here yesterday, but the sun was so bright, we went skating in the park. It was wonderful, though chilly by the end of it.

    Reply
  • 9. Major Tom  |  January 2, 2007 at 10:06 am

    Oh, my kids also loved the luces although we were not able to buy them this year. We just lighted some fountains and tromplillos.

    Me and my wife had to scour the whole city just to complete the 13 fruits just hours before new year. Luckily, na-completo rin.

    Reply
  • 10. Michelle  |  January 2, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    Oh I miss lusis, pangalawang new year ko na din na walang naririnig na paputok… dito nga pala sa toronto walang snow pa unlike last year.

    Happy new year to you and your family!🙂

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  January 2, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    Thanks for all the comments guys. And Happy New Year, too!

    Kathy, 13 round fruits as in lucky 13 and the round shape, as in the shape of money.🙂

    Major Tom, that’s why I like shopping at Superstore. They almost have everything there.🙂

    Reply
  • 12. ipanema  |  January 3, 2007 at 4:58 am

    A Happy and Prosperous New Year to you and your loved ones, niceheart!!!

    Di ako tatagal sa ganyan.🙂

    Reply
  • 13. bw  |  January 3, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Happy New Year to you and your family. May you have a bountiful and prosperous 2007!

    Reply
  • 14. eric  |  January 3, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Happy New Year, Irene!

    I like that still life photo of the 13 fruits, as well as the sprinkler shot! Very nice.

    Reply
  • 15. Toe  |  January 3, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    I like the picture of the fruits. I didn’t know about that tradition. We had a quiet New Year celebration too. Happy New Year Niceheart!🙂

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  January 3, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Happy new year also to the late commenters. Thanks.

    Ipanema, sanayan na lang yan. 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Avocado and Pineapple « Journey to Honeyville  |  January 18, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    […] 18th, 2007 Do you remember my fruit platter from New Year’s Eve?  We had 13 different kinds of fruits and it took us over a week to eat all of them.  Of course […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


