Ryan’s works

December 28, 2006 at 11:00 pm 15 comments

“I hate sewing!”  That was my middle son’s famous line during the first term of this school year. 

You see, the grade seven’s in his school are required to take all the five Tech. Ed. courses this year: Sewing, Wood, Metal, Cooking and Computer Graphics.  Next year in eighth grade, they can pick whatever they want.  The first course his class was assigned this year was Sewing.  Every time he’d come home saying that line, I would tell him that sewing is not that bad and that he’d learn a lot from it.  I would tell him how I learned to mend holes in socks when I was in sixth grade.  But he’d still come home saying how he hated it. 

So I was surprised when he brought home his first sewing project.  A zippered pencil case.  Sure, I learned how to sew buttons and make buttonholes when I was still in elementary school, but I never sewed my first zipper until I was already married with kids.  And just look at this piece of work.  Very neatly done.  Perfect!   

pencil case 

That’s why I was ready to complain to the teacher when he got a low mark in his report card for Tech. Ed.  It turned out that he didn’t complete his second project in time.  But look at this Tote bag.  It’s very neat and clean.

tote bag  

For the second term, they had Wood.  One afternoon, he came home with a cut on his finger.  He accidentally cut it while making his project.  I guess he wasn’t paying attention. “Did you cry?”“No.” 

“Were you the only one who hurt himself so far?” 

“No, a boy’s finger got stuck with a needle when we had Sewing.” 

“Ouch!  Well, be careful next time.”  

This was his first project in Wood.  A puzzle snowman.  I think it’s cute.

snowman 

On the last day of school before Christmas vacation, he brought home this reindeer.  When I saw him through the window carrying this, I met him at the door and the first thing he said was, “I don’t like it.”  I said, “Well, I happen to like it.  I think it’s very nice.”  Then he said, “There should be paper glued to it but it won’t stick so I took it out.”  It’s supposed to be a reindeer singing a Christmas carol.  I told him, “It doesn’t matter. I still like it.” reindeer

Entry filed under: Raising the 3Rs, Ryan in the middle. Tags: .

Dolores Claiborne Ten things I would never do

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sesame  |  December 29, 2006 at 1:49 am

    That’s a nice handmade pencil case! Hey, he sews better than me when I was his age for sure!

    And Niceheart, here’s wishing you and your family a happy and great 2007!

    Reply
  • 2. domesticrat  |  December 29, 2006 at 3:18 am

    I thought the reindeer looks really neat! Ask him to make one for me!🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Toe  |  December 29, 2006 at 4:52 am

    Oh, the reindeer is really cute. And I like the pencil case and the tote bag. I’m sure people would buy if he made more and sold those.

    Reply
  • 4. Lazarus  |  December 29, 2006 at 5:40 am

    You have very talented children Niceheart! Happy New Year to you and to your family!

    Reply
  • 5. eric  |  December 29, 2006 at 4:47 pm

    Please tell Ryan he may not appreciate it now, but he will when he grows up. My mom taught us how to sew as well.

    I think it’s a wonderful program which I wish the school system here would implement also.

    I think he did a great job with his projects!!!

    P.S.

    We are having serious online problems here due to an earthquake in Taiwan which damaged many undersea telecommunication cables. Access to Websites is indeed a long tedious crawl. To date, there are many sites I am unable to acces; at times I cannot even post a reply to comments posted on my blog site. Oh well…

    Reply
  • 6. niceheart  |  December 29, 2006 at 10:32 pm

    Sesame, I also think that he did a great job for his age. My oldest son also took up Sewing in grade 7 and his work wasn’t like Ryan’s.

    Happy new year to you, too.

    Thank you, DR. After he had that cut, I don’t know if he’ll ever touch a saw again.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  December 29, 2006 at 10:36 pm

    Thank you, Toe. I also think that his work is worthy of selling. But I’ve heard him say “I hate sewing” so many times. I don’t think he’d like to touch a needle and thread again.🙂 But we’ll see.

    Oh, thank you so much, Lazarus. Happy new year also to you and your family.

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  December 29, 2006 at 10:40 pm

    Thank you, Eric.

    Hmmn, maybe I should teach all of them how to sew, or at least darn their clothes.

    I’ve heard about that earthquake in Taiwan and how it’s affecting the on-line connection in neighbouring countries. Well, let’s hope it gets fixed soon.

    Reply
  • 9. Shoshana  |  December 30, 2006 at 1:50 am

    Those are really great! HOw old is he again?

    I remember when my brother learned to tat and knit in school, right along with building a little playhouse for us. He’s very handy that way.

    Reply
  • 10. ipanema  |  December 30, 2006 at 3:15 am

    I like the pencil case too! He’s good.

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 11. cruise  |  December 30, 2006 at 4:06 am

    ganda pala talaga dyan, mga bata pa rang natututo ng pratical arts, very useful yung mga porjects nila, yung tote bag bumibili pa ako nyan para sa mga damit ko kapag bumibiyahe ako, pero kaya palang gawin. sana dito rin sa pilipinas turuan ang mga bata tulad dyan.

    happy new year

    Reply
  • 12. ann  |  December 30, 2006 at 4:34 am

    I did tin’s first sewing project…hehehe. Natakot ako baka matusok sya ng needle.

    Baka mag enjoy si Ryan sa pagtatahi eh pigilan mo…hahaha!

    Happy New Year Irene! Wishing you and your family all the best!

    Reply
  • 13. iskoo  |  December 30, 2006 at 7:29 pm

    hate pa nya ang sewing sa lagay na yan… hehehe. galing nya ah. i never had sewing project when i was in elemetary or highschool. buti pa mga bagong generation ngayon marami na itinuturo sa kanila.

    happy new year niceheart!

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  December 30, 2006 at 11:23 pm

    Shoshana, he’s 12 years old. It must be nice to have a brother that can knit and build things, too.🙂

    Thanks, Ipanema. Happy new year too.

    Cruise, the tote bag is very simple to make. I think you would be able to make one too, if you try.🙂

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  December 30, 2006 at 11:25 pm

    Ann, they were not allowed to take home their projects. They only did it at school. Which I think is good na rin. At least it’s really their own work. Happy new year too.

    Iskoo, ay naku, hate pa nga iyan. Eh paano na kung love niya eh di mas maganda pa siguro’ng project ang nagawa. Happy new year din.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


