Six Weird Things About Me

July 26, 2006 at 10:25 pm 25 comments

I’ve been tagged by Señor Enrique to name six weird habits or things about myself. 

Here are the rules:

The writer will create a blog with “6 weird things/habits about yourself.”

People who get tagged will have to post a blog of their own telling 6 weird things/habits about themselves.

At the end of your 6 weird/things/habits, you need to choose 6 people that you would like to be tagged and list their names.

Don’t forget to leave a comment that says “You are Tagged!” in their comments and tell them to read yours for instructions on how to proceed!

Here are my six habits or things that you may find weird: 

1.       I go to bed at 1:00 a.m.  Even when I am exhausted, I’d stay up watching TV or reading a book, sometimes falling asleep on the couch, and then I’d get up at around 1:00 a.m. to get ready for bed.

2.       I would put my right leg up on the chair and tuck it under my left leg, not only when I’m being comfortable on the couch.  I also do this when I’m at the dinner table and at my workstation.  And it’s always the right leg under the left leg.  But I only do this at home.  And since I work at home, it’s getting to be a bad habit.  Sometimes I’d also put my left leg up on the chair.  I tend to get into a cramp position while working.  Not very good for my back.

3.       I don’t know how to ride a bike.  And I don’t drive either.  I did try to learn driving once but I always got nervous on the road.

4.       I grind my teeth at night.  I didn’t know this until my dentist told me earlier this year.  And then I noticed that I do clench my teeth whenever I’m angry or stressed.  Now, I have to wear a night guard to protect my slowly deteriorating teeth.

5.       I keep my grocery receipts for up to a year and at the end of the year, I make a summary of our expenses.  Even though I know that it gives me chest pains to compare our income and expenses.  Our expenses tend to be always greater than our income.  I’m always on the lookout on how to cut back on some of our expenses.

6.       I have a collection of movies on VHS tapes, mostly ones that I have taped from TV.  Some are five to ten years old and I haven’t watched yet.  I just can’t seem to find enough time.  And while most people are replacing their movie collection with DVDs, I still buy mine on VHS tapes.  They’re just too cheap now.  Sometimes they cost only a couple of bucks.  (Read more here.) 

I’m tagging these six wonderful people.

1.       Jayred

2.       Toe

3.       Noemi

4.       Ann

5.       Mmy-lei

6.       Jairam

Entry filed under: About Me.

Can men and women be just friends? Super Size Me

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. watson  |  July 26, 2006 at 11:44 pm

    Buti ka pa nagawa mo na ang tag na ito. Ako hindi pa (tagged by balikbayan box). Interesting topic though. May collection rin ako ng VHS movies and recorded episodes. Nalaman ko na lang na sobrang dami nya when I moved apartment last month. Grabe, isang malaking box sya. Yung iba, mahy molds na. Sayang. May mga tape cartridges pa ako!

    Reply
  • 2. earthember  |  July 27, 2006 at 12:32 am

    Haha, I like to tuck my right leg under my left too. Oh yes, it’s a terrible habit, but I’m so conditioned to do it, that I can’t just undo it in a matter of days or months.

    Reply
  • 3. Jayred  |  July 27, 2006 at 2:08 am

    Hi, Irene. I want to say two things here.

    First, I’m surprised we both do numbers 2,4, and 5. Amazing, eh? Second, I’m sorry to say this, but I don’t do this tag thing in my blog. This is the fourth time I’ve been tagged by a co-blogger, and in the spirit of cooperation, I’ve always put my answers in their comments box as a compromise. Hope you don’t mind this setup. (By the way, thanks for tagging me and for saying I’m “wonderful” — hehe.)

    Anyway, without further ado, here are six weird things about me:

    1. I talk to myself.
    2. I check my receding hairline regularly and pluck out “patay na buhok.”
    3. I don’t eat breakfast and don’t drink hot beverages. But I can eat champorado at night.
    4. I imitate how foreigners speak (e.g. the Swiss, Brits, Americans, Thais, the Chinese, the French, Germans, Russians, Ukrainians, etc.) purely for fun. In general, I impersonate other people on a whim.
    5. I dance in front of a mirror when I’m alone.
    6. I talk to dogs in their mother tongue (Tagalog to my now dead pet dog Chacha and German to my Swiss neigbor’s dog Monk, now also dead.)

    The list goes on. But the instruction was just to give six weird things/habits about me.

    Now you know why I blog anonymously. 🙂

    Have a nice day, Irene!

    Reply
  • 4. domestic rat  |  July 27, 2006 at 6:24 am

    Hey! I tuck my right leg under the left leg too. It just happen naturally but only at home cos previously I was always wearing skirts to work which prohibited me to open my legs wide apart anyway!

    But the keeping of receipts… that is new to me! That’s why I prefer using credit which is a quicker way for me to know if I have overspent.

    Reply
  • 5. Eric  |  July 27, 2006 at 8:09 am

    VHS tapes may not last long, but then again some of my music CDs which I have recorded had gone awry.

    #5 seems like an arduous thing to do, no?

    Reply
  • 6. Hsin  |  July 27, 2006 at 11:45 am

    I’m a night grinder too. Discovered back in university. I used to bite my tongue when thinking and only realized after I had solved something that I was biting down really hard. I used to have jaw aches from all that clenching. Obviously, staying at home suits me – I no longer have any of these troubles….

    Re receipts. I keep them too, with the intention to tally them up, but I never do. I’ve taken to just looking at bank statements and adding the outgoing expenses up….

    Reply
  • 7. Toe  |  July 27, 2006 at 8:06 pm

    Ooooo thanks for tagging me Niceheart. I couldn’t think of what to post in my blog lately. 🙂 Like the other commenters, I also put my right leg under the my left on the couch and on the dinner table (no one can see on the dinner table – hehe). I also see some people do that on the Jay Leno Show.

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  July 27, 2006 at 8:33 pm

    Hi Watson, sayang nga. I’ve learned my lesson in storing items in carton boxes. Inaamag talaga. My tapes are stored in cabinets and on shelves. As for other items around the house, I keep them in Rubbermaid containers or plastic garbage bags. And yeah, I also have tape cartridges. I even bought a boom box which includes a tape player a few years ago just so I could continue listening to my old tapes. 🙂

    That’s true, Eric, that VHS tapes may not last long. But what does? Do we know the life span of DVDs?  Yeah, #5 is arduous.  I don’t know why I subject myself to that and knowing that it just gives me a headache.

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  July 27, 2006 at 8:40 pm

    Thank you Jayred, for being such a good sport. I did notice that you don’t do tags in your blog. I just thought I’d try and thank you for sharing your weird things. I’ve only met you online, but I have the feeling that you’re just as wonderful in person. 🙂

    So we have 3 things in common here. Maybe I am not weird after all. Or we just have the same weirdness. 🙂 Wait, make that 4. I also talk to myself. Or let me paraphrase that. I think aloud. Sometimes it’s embarrassing when I catch myself doing that in public. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  July 27, 2006 at 9:02 pm

    Ange, you do that too? It must be hard now that you have a huge belly. 🙂 All that weight on your leg.

    You too, DR? At least when you’re at work, you don’t do it. Since I’m also home when working, I always catch myself doing that and sometimes slouching. Not good for the posture.

    And you also bit your tongue, Hsin? That must have hurt. The past year had been particularly stressful for me and I think that’s when I started grinding my teeth at night. I noticed that sometimes my teeth hurt and can be sensitive. Must be from the pressure of grinding.

    And about the receipts and expenses. Yeah, they never seem to tally up. I don’t know why I even bother.

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  July 27, 2006 at 9:06 pm

    You’re welcome, Toe. I also see celebrities do that on talk shows. I guess it’s not a weird thing after all. 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. ann  |  July 28, 2006 at 8:06 am

    We’re the same in 1,3 and 6. And since I’m here in KSA wherein driving is not allowed for women, I didn’t even try to learn how to drive.

    I’ll do this tag in my next post. Thanks I’m wonderful..hehehe.

    Reply
  • 13. jane  |  July 28, 2006 at 2:24 pm

    hello Ate Irene, thanks for tagging me. I’m still thinking on what to put on my list 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Abaniko  |  July 29, 2006 at 1:31 am

    How come many women are afraid to drive? I have several female cousins who have the same fear. Hmm.

    Reply
  • […] I have been tagged by Niceheart to list down six weird things about myself. Yet another meme […]

    Reply
  • 16. bingskee  |  July 30, 2006 at 4:14 am

    we are the same sa #3! takot ako, e!

    Reply
  • 17. mmy-lei  |  July 30, 2006 at 7:34 am

    we’re the same at #5 but not only in grocery but also for my clothes. I just keep them for emergency or incase to return the item but not to check on my expenses. hehehe, gastadora ho ako!

    on the other hand, i’ve done this tag long time ago, but thanks again for thinking of me! hehehe.

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  July 30, 2006 at 9:02 am

    But, Ann, do you think you would drive if allowed? And of course, I also think you’re just as wonderful in person. 🙂

    OK, Jane. Thanks.

    I don’t think it’s a woman issue, though, Abaniko. You just happen to know a bunch of women who are afraid to drive. I know a lot of women, especially here, who drive, and who think I’m weird for not wanting to learn. 🙂

    By any chance, are your cousins mothers who have young children? I think my fear stemmed from being afraid of getting into a car accident and leaving my kids behind. Or it could be that I have not been really a risk taker.  What do you think, Bing?

    Ah yeah, Mmy-lei, keeping receipts are very handy if you want to return something.

    Reply
  • 19. jane  |  July 30, 2006 at 3:12 pm

    hello Ate Irene, I’m done with my list. please check it out 🙂

    Reply
  • 20. bugsybee  |  September 1, 2006 at 11:08 pm

    Hi! Your accounting training shows … my goodness! When it comes to doing my own accounting, bagsak ako! I can hardly keep track of my expenses (always overshooting my budget) and I have a hard time doing my own bank reconciliation. … Be careful with your back. I have cervical spondylosis and I often have to wear neck braces. There are days when I am immobile. My doc said it’s because I have very poor posture and I used to work long hours on the computer.

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  September 2, 2006 at 10:29 pm

    Bugsybee, accounting kuno lang ako. I can never also tally our income against our expenses. Humahanap lang ako ng sakit ng ulo. 🙂

    Thanks for the concern. I do sometimes catch myself when I start to slouch while working. I should really work on the posture.

    Reply
  • 22. Gypsy  |  September 26, 2006 at 1:46 am

    Hi, just bloghopping. I had been thinking of coming up with a list of weird things about me, so this is interesting! I saw your item no.2, which I almost always do myself, even in nice restaurants. 🙂

    Reply
  • 23. niceheart  |  September 27, 2006 at 8:35 pm

    Thanks for the visit Gypsy. Looks like number 2 is not weird after all. 🙂

    Reply
  • 24. rhodora  |  December 28, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    well, you have company – i also sleep at 1:00, sometimes 2:00 a.m. and i can’t ride a bike either…. .. 🙂

    Reply
  • 25. niceheart  |  December 28, 2006 at 9:36 pm

    Well, nice to have some company rhodora. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories