My youngest son turns 13

February 27, 2011 at 11:02 am 6 comments

After mass on Sundays, our new parish priest will ask us to sit down and he’ll ask if anybody has any good news to share. Such as a birthday, anniversary, somebody recovering from a sickness, etc. Today, when he turned his head to where my sons and I were sitting, I raised my hand and I stood up when he nodded to me. I said, “My youngest son turned 13 this weekend.” “Happy birthday,” he said to the embarrassed young man beside me. This young man, who I look up to (that is because he’s now a few inches taller than I am, he he he), said “Geez” a few times.๐Ÿ™‚ He says that a lot to me, but I knew he was flattered by the attention especially when a couple of parishioners said Happy birthday to him on their way out.

So yeah, he’s officially a teen-ager now. I said officially because it felt like he’s been a teen-ager already these past couple of years. We’ve had our ups and downs. I think the downs have been caused mostly by how hard it has been for me to let him go. He used to be my sweet little boy. Well, he’s still a sweet boy, not so little anymore. But he doesn’t want me to hug him or kiss him anymore. If I do, he either pushes me away or gives me that deadly look. Or both. Then I feel hurt and rejected. And then maybe I’ll get snappy at him. But most of the time we’re good. He still tells me about his day at school, not always, but most of the time. And I’ll take that. Kaya lang ayaw na nya kong bunutan ng puting buhok. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Those times had been great bonding times for us.

But you know what, I’m so proud of him. He has been through a lot this past year. We have all been through a lot. I know it has not been easy for him and his brothers, especially him being only 12 when all the big changes in our life happened. But he had been strong and he was able to stay grounded. He was able to keep focused on his studies. He received the Sacrament of Confirmation in the spring. He received the Overall Achievement Award when he graduated from Elementary School in June. He’s my inspiration and I look up to him. And that’s not just because he’s now taller than I am.๐Ÿ™‚

Note: This was originally written on February 13, 2011

Entry filed under: My life as a mom, My Sweet Ryland, Special Occasions. Tags: .

House hunting 101 Best of times, worst of times

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ping-i  |  February 28, 2011 at 12:49 am

    13 really? I always envisioned him as being 7 or so. Time flies, as they say.

    Reply
    • 2. niceheart  |  March 20, 2011 at 10:23 pm

      yep, they do grow up so fast.

      Reply
  • 3. zingtrial  |  March 17, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Hi! Been a while He!He!He! Hmmmmm Dad And his Boy Here for You me old friend
    Make every day count. Appreciate every moment and take from those moments everything that you possibly can for you may never be able to experience it again.
    Talk to people that you have never talked to before, and listen to what they have to say.
    Wishing You Well๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 4. niceheart  |  March 20, 2011 at 10:24 pm

      hey zingtrial. thanks for dropping by.๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  • 5. bw  |  March 19, 2011 at 6:57 am

    Happy Bday to your youngest and all the best to the family๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 6. niceheart  |  March 20, 2011 at 10:24 pm

      thanks bw.๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


