Berry unfair

January 10, 2010 at 5:11 pm 2 comments

I was looking at the newspaper after breakfast when my 11-year old son, Ryland said, “Oh, I know her.”

“That’s Storm from X-Men,” I said.

“Oh, no, wait. She looks different,” he said.

“She changes her hair a lot,” I said. “Sometimes it’s long, sometimes it’s short. I don’t like her white hair when she’s Storm.”

“She looks old?”

“Eh, it just doesn’t look good on her.”

I told him what the newspaper article I was reading is about. The title, “Cop feels Berry special, helps her jump queue.”

Me: Halle Berry was at a Canadian airport and she got ahead of a long line. She got special treatment just because she’s a celebrity. That’s not fair. Right?

Him: Where was she going?

Me: You see, she’s married to this French guy. He’s Canadian. Maybe they were visiting family. It says here they were at a Montreal Airport. She’s American, see. Maybe they’re going back to the U.S.

I continued reading the article.

Me: Oh, let’s see. It says here that it was an hour long line. If I was in that line I’d probably get mad if they got ahead of me.

Him: But that’s just one person.

Me: I know, but let’s say there’s about a hundred people in that line that has been waiting for an hour, and then here they come and they get to the front of the line. That’s not fair.

Him: Yeah, but that’s just one person you have to let in.

I was thinking, my son isn’t getting this? How am I going to explain this to him?

Me: You know how at Superstore when there’s a long line and I have to wait? Oh, remember that one time at Sears? I was waiting in line for a long time, and then there was this lady who tried to cut in front of me? Well, she didn’t know where the line started. But I felt that wasn’t fair. Well, I didn’t really get mad that time because she was an old lady. But you know what I mean?

Him: Wait, were they paying at the airport?

Me: No, but at the airport, they have to check your passports and your identification and your papers and all these stuff.

Him: Oh, now you tell me this. (Lightbulb moment, finally) Were they saying anything bad about them?

Me: Well, not exactly, it just says here that people saw them get ahead to the front of the line.

Him: Were the people waiting in line mad at them?

Me: Well, no. But if I was one of those people, I think I might be mad?

Him: If it was Michael Jackson, would you be mad?

I started to laugh out loud.

Me: Ha ha ha. That’s a good one, Ryland. You got me there. No, I don’t think I’d me mad. I’d probably be too excited to get mad. I might even take his pictures.

Him: But he’s dead now.

I’m shaking my head now.

Me: That’s a good one Ryland. No, I don’t think I’d be shouting unfair if I was there and if it was Michael Jackson or some other famous celebrity. You got a good point there Ryland.

How about that? He got me really good there.

Entry filed under: Kids say the darndest things, My Sweet Ryland, That's not even funny. Tags: , , , , , .

Running With Augusten Burroughs Sleep deprived

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bing  |  January 20, 2010 at 8:32 am

    ha ha how we can be so biased! but i would probably feel bad when somebody gets ahead of me from nowhere while in a queue kahit na sino pa yun.

    Reply
  • 2. tndcallphilippines  |  October 3, 2011 at 2:15 am

    i agree with bing. but, i guess kung super mega star yan… with risk of being attacked by fans and causing commotion – it would be better to have her out of the way. but, yes… unfair.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


