NaNoWriMo

November 1, 2009 at 5:29 pm 4 comments

I just signed up on NaNoWriMo this morning of November 1, 2009. I have heard about this National Novel Writing Month before. I have never taken an interest in this thing where you have to write a novel within one month. Just thinking about what I think is a very daunting task turns me off. Like who has the time to do that?

Well, I know that there are many people who participate in this, but probably not a very busy working mom like me. But then again, I have always wanted to write a book. Well, probably not always, but about six years ago, I started fantasizing about writing a book, a memoir. And so I thought, if I take on this challenge now, I could finally realize that fantasy. I know, it sounds like an ambitious dream. But I did say fantasize, didn’t I?

I haven’t even been thinking about this NaNoWriMo. I received an email with a link, or did I come across something on a website? I can’t remember now. Just this morning of November 1, 2009. And today is the first day to start writing. So this is probably a sign from up there, or anywhere, I don’t know where exactly. At first, I thought that I’d just take on this challenge upon myself. I’ll write my memoir in a month. I won’t sign up, because NaNoWriMo wants fiction. And I’m not really into writing fiction.

But I thought I’d just check out the website. So I clicked on the About page. It says there that you have to write a novel of 50,000 words by midnight of November 30, 2009. The quality doesn’t matter. You can revise later. What matters now is the quantity. Okay, so I thought, maybe I can pull this off. I’d turn my story into a novel. I can write about myself in the third person. Or in the first person. I’ve read novels that are written in the first person. I’d just make a few things up, and also change my family members and friends and people I interact with into fictional characters, maybe combine two people in one character and I can make them do things the way I wanted them to. Ha ha. That would be fun. Then I’d actually be writing a novel, right?

Now that I’ve written about it here, maybe it will motivate me to stick with it. I’m already excited. I was telling my 11-year old son about it this morning. I asked him if he thinks I can do it, he said, “I don’t think so, mommy.” And I was like, “I’ll prove to you that I can.” And when I kept going on about it at lunch, he said, “You talk too much mommy.” I said, “So you see, if I just put into writing what I talk about, I think I could do it. After all, that’s only 1,667 words a day.” I think that’s how I should approach it. And maybe in a month’s time, I’d actually have written a draft of a novel. Or a draft of my memoir, which wouldn’t qualify as a novel, but that’s fine. That’s what I want to do in the first place, anyway. Or maybe this will just be one more thing that I started and didn’t finish. We’ll see.

Entry filed under: Detour. Tags: .

Confessions of a Shopaholic New Moon: My Movie Review

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toe  |  November 1, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    Hi Niceheart! I am very excited for you. Kayang-kaya mo yan. I did this also a few years back and I thought I’d do it again this year but I don’t have time. Maybe this year. Don’t think about anything but the quantity… doesn’t matter if all you write is gobbledygook! The experience is very fulfilling and I’m sure you’ll be able to revise later and make it really good! Good luck Niceheart!

    Reply
  • 2. niceheart  |  November 2, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Hello Toe. Yeah, I remember that you wrote about it in your blog when you when you did this. Thank you for the words of encouragement.

    Reply
  • 3. kcd75  |  November 13, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I think it’s great you are going to write a novel. Good luck!

    K.C.D
    http://thewritingsofkcd.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  • 4. NaNoWriMo Update « n i c e h e a r t  |  December 1, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    […] This is just a quick update to those who have been following me on this blog. No, I didn’t win NaNoWriMo 2009. I didn’t finish 50,000 words by midnight on November 30, 2009. Even on the first day, I doubted […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


