To see or not two zee

September 5, 2009 at 5:54 pm 2 comments

eye chart

My 11-year old son and I went to see the optometrist together a few weeks ago. He was due for his annual exam and I haven’t had an exam in like four to five years. I have been accompanying my kids to these exams since my oldest one was eight, and he’s 19 now. So that has been a long time now. And I already know the drill. The doctor will ask them to read the letters on the eye chart. And then he or she will ask them to look through this instrument that has different sets of lenses to determine the prescription strength.

On this particular visit with my 11-year old son, I let him go first. When he was finished, Dr. Opto asked me to get on the chair. She asked me to read the letters on the wall. At first the letters were big and I had no trouble reading them. As she changed the slides, the letters got smaller and it took me longer to read them. Then she made me look through the different sets of lenses and when I told her which ones gave me the best vision, she wrote down my prescription.

As we were walking out of the room to follow Dr. Opto to the lobby, my son whispered to me, “Mommy, she said letter, not number.”

“I know. Why? What did I say?” I asked him.

“You said two. It was the letter Z.”

“Yeah, I realized that after I read it. Well, it looked like a two to me when I was reading it.”

“Oh, mommy,” he said shaking his head.

🙂

Entry filed under: Kids say the darndest things, Midlife, Raising the 3Rs, That's not even funny. Tags: , , .

Duluth, Minnesota Lake Superior and Gooseberry Falls

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bing  |  September 7, 2009 at 7:56 am

    daughter is both near sighted and far sighted. son’s eye grade is increasing.

    Reply
  • 2. bw  |  September 8, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    man, you can never cheat in this exam hehe🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


