Mall of America

August 17, 2009 at 11:08 pm 7 comments

One of the reasons I went with my mother to Minnesota is to visit the famous Mall of America. My mother has already been there a few years ago when my aunt and uncle still lived in Minneapolis. But they have now moved to the small town of McGregor. Auntie D and Uncle Sparkie were both gracious and generous hosts and they gladly drove us to Minneapolis the day after we arrived there. That’s two and half hours drive. “It’s your first time here in Minnesota, and probably the only time you’ll be here. I want you to have fun,” Uncle Sparkie said. He he he. Alrighty then.

Although Mama and I planned a four-day trip, we spent one full day of travelling to go there, and another full day travelling to go back. So we actually had only two days of visiting. They only allowed me one day to visit the Mall of America. “It’s your day today,” Uncle said. He had something else planned for the following day.

Well, the mall is huge and is four-storeys high. But according to Wikipedia, it’s not as huge as the West Edmonton Mall, which I visited two summers ago. I probably shouldn’t say this because I’m from Canada, but imho, the MOA looks more attractive than WEM. But I’ll stop there before I get any nasty comments. He he he. Anyway, I wasn’t able to take a look at the entire mall since we only went there for one day. I spent two days at WEM when we went there.

Here are some more trivia facts about MOA according to Wikipedia:

It is the second largest mall in the U.S. Its gross area is 4.2 million square feet (390,000 square miles). It receives 40 million visitors annually. It employs over 12,000 workers.

The mall is a nearly symmetrical building, with a roughly rectangular plan. Four anchor department stores are located at the corners. Bloomingdale’s, Macy’s, Sears and Nordstrom. When we got out of the car in the parking lot, I asked them to take my pictures infront of Bloomingdale’s and Macy’s. We don’t have these department stores in Canada.🙂

One of the main attractions of MOA is the Lego Imagination Center. They had giant Lego structures of dinosaurs, bionicles, motorcycles, etc. I thought that my boys might have enjoyed looking at the Lego structures so I took lots of pictures to show to them when I get back home.

Another main attraction that Uncle didn’t want us to miss is the Underwater Adventures Aquarium. So we went there first before doing any shopping. Entrance fee is $18.95 per person for adults. Uncle didn’t want us to pay so he paid for all four tickets.

Underwater Adventures Aquarium is the world’s largest underground aquarium. Guests travel under a 300-foot glass tunnel. That’s about the length of a football field. The aquarium contains 1.2 million gallons of water and features more than 4,500 aquatic creatures including sea turtles, octopuses, lobsters, sharks, stingrays, and seahorses. Sharky is the mascot and he was there to meet guests and we took a picture with him.

After your visit to the Aquarium, you’ll find Sharky’s Cove and you can buy all kinds of souvenir to remember your underwater adventures. I bought a cute seahorse plush toy here. A male seahorse with babies in its pouch. Did you know that it’s the male seahorse that gets pregnant? Interesting huh?

There is a restroom nearby which has a sign that says Mermen and Mermaids Restroom. I told Uncle that in Canada we call them Washrooms.🙂

As it was almost noon, and Mama and Auntie were already starving, we headed to the Food court. Again, Uncle treated us to lunch. I told you he was generous. He didn’t want me to pay because he said he wanted me to have fun. As if I won’t have fun if I paid for my own food.🙂

Then we continued our shopping. And Uncle wasn’t kidding when he said it was my day. I noticed right away that I was the only one doing any shopping. They just followed me around, the two grandmas (Mama and Auntie) trailing behind.🙂

At around 4:00 pm, I noticed that the two grandmas, Auntie especially, were already tired of walking, so I decided to call it a day. Uncle wanted me to see Nordstrom, as we haven’t been to that part of the Mall yet, but I said that it’s okay. I’ve already bought stuff for each of the boys, and something for myself, as well. I was getting worried about the two grandmas. They didn’t look like they were in shape to do that amount of walking. We have been at the mall for like 7 to 8 hours already. Besides, we still had two and a half hours of travelling to go back home. We stopped first at IKEA, though, and had supper at the restaurant there.

You can view my Mall of America Album here.

Next time: Duluth

Entry filed under: Minnesota, Vacation. Tags: , , , , , .

My Minnesota Trip – On The Road Duluth, Minnesota

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. My Minnesota Trip – On The Road « n i c e h e a r t  |  August 17, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    […] time: My visit to Mall of America Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Dear RyanWatching Spiderman 3 on Mother’s […]

    Reply
  • 2. JO  |  August 19, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    I’ve seen both malls and I have to agree with you.

    Great slide show.

    Reply
  • 3. bing  |  August 21, 2009 at 3:38 am

    it’s a nice slide show.. and a BIG mall!

    Reply
  • 4. Sidney  |  August 23, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Impressive mall !

    Reply
  • 5. Gypsy  |  August 25, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Naku overwhelming naman ang mall na to! But I had to keep reminding myself that by MOA you meant Mall of America not Mall of Asia..hehe.

    Reply
  • 6. bw  |  September 8, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    wow..very impressive. the mall of america is one of the largest in the world !

    Reply
  • 7. tyler  |  January 23, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    The aquarium is great and a must see when visiting here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


