Doubt, Revolutionary Road, and Rachel Getting Married

August 3, 2009 at 12:59 pm 4 comments

Doubt

Doubt

“Doubt can be a bond as powerful and sustaining as certainty. When you are lost, you are not alone,” says Father Flynn in his sermon.

That night, Sister Aloysius asks the other nuns at supper “Is Father Flynn in doubt? Is he concerned that someone else is in doubt?”

Have you ever doubted someone so much that you would go the extra length to try to prove that they’re guilty? Have you tried to convince people that someone did something inappropriate? But what if you’re wrong? How can you take back the gossip that you have spread? I like the way Father Flynn explained how gossips work in one of his sermons. It involves feathers from a pillow flying in the air and how one can’t gather up every last feather that flew up into the wind. That’s gossip, he says.

I like the story and what powerful acting from the cast. I especially enjoyed the confrontations between Father Flynn, played by Philip Seymour Hoffman and Sister Aloysius, played by Meryl Streep.

Revolutionary Road

Revolutionary Road

Here’s another movie in which I have a problem with the characters. But that just goes to show you how good the actors are because they were very convincing in playing their parts. (Is it just a coincidence that it also starts Kate Winslet? See my review of The Reader here.)

Leonardo di Caprio and Kate Winslet played a 1950s couple, Frank and April Wheeler. They bought a house in the suburban after they got married. Later on, Frank got bored with his job and April was also bored being a stay-at-home mom and wife. She resented giving up her acting career. They were both unhappy not just with their own personal lives but also with their relationship. Then this big idea hit April. What if they move to Paris and she gets a secretarial job and Frank stays home until he finally realizes what his passion is? Like their friends, I think it was a very immature plan. And then something came up that made the plan more impractical. And I didn’t like the way one of the characters handled the situation. I wouldn’t have handled it the same way. And the ending – It was kind of disturbing for me.

I watched the deleted scenes in the Special Features of the Menu and I was just wondering why the director didn’t include the part where Leo was curled up in a fetal position on the sofa crying. I think that was a very powerful scene. That was my favourite part, and it didn’t make it to the final cut.

Memorable quotes:

April Wheeler: It takes backbone to lead the life you want, Frank.
—-
Frank Wheeler: Well I support you, don’t I? I work ten hours a day at a job I can’t stand!
April Wheeler: You don’t have to!
Frank Wheeler: But I have the backbone not to run away from my responsibilities!

rachel getting married

Rachel Getting Married

Anne Hathaway is great in this movie where she played Kym, a recovering drug addict. Kym went home that weekend to attend her sister Rachel’s wedding. Conflict and family tension followed. Did you know that recovering addicts usually want to be away from family right after getting out of rehab? So you can imagine the drama that went along with it. Rosemarie DeWitt, who played Rachel, is also great in it. So is Ms. Debra Winger, who played a small part as their distant mother.

I like the way they played the wedding march, very untraditional, played with drums and the electric guitar. I probably wouldn’t use it for my own wedding, but I like it. It’s different.

Memorable quote:

Kym: I am Shiva the destroyer, your harbinger of doom this evening.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV. Tags: , , .

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince My Minnesota Trip – On The Road

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Daphne  |  August 4, 2009 at 5:44 am

    “Doubt” was intriguing. Especially the last scene where Meryl Streep was questioning herself if she did the right thing in having Father Flynn transferred. The movie doesn’t really clearly give us the correct answer on whether Father Flynn was indeed guilty of those indiscretions or not.

    I started watching “Revolutionary Road” but stopped midway because I felt bored. Hopefully some day I have enough patience to finish it. Your review piqued my curiosity. hehe

    I loved “Rachel Getting Married”. The wedding was very different and had an ethereal vibe. Anne Hathaway was convincing and proved to be quite good in a mature role.

    Reply
    • 2. niceheart  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:51 pm

      I’ve read that the play on which Doubt was based on also didn’t reveal if Father Flynn was guilty or not.

      I can understand why you got bored with Revolutionary Road.🙂 I rent these movies and I have o return them the following day. So I would stick to watching them whether I find them interesting or not, to get my money’s worth, you know.🙂

      Reply
  • 3. bw  |  August 4, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    I watched this movie Doubt but didn’t get a sense of the conclusion if the priest was guilty or not. At the end, the viewer will have the benefit of the doubt on the priest’s guilt🙂

    Reply
    • 4. niceheart  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:56 pm

      That’s true. It’s up to the viewers to decide whether he’s guilty or not. Sometimes I like movies that end like that. Gives me something to think about.🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


