Between you and me

May 8, 2009 at 10:10 pm 11 comments

Paula Abdul said to American Idol contestant MacIntyre, “Scott, you pleased Simon and I.”

I said to the TV, “Wrong.”

Even Simon Cowell disagreed. But not for the same reason that I had. Scott didn’t please him.πŸ™‚

I told my kids, “It should be Simon and me, not Simon and I. You use I if it’s the subject of your sentence.” Or if it completes a being verb. But I didn’t explain that part to them since it’s a little bit more complicated and they don’t want me talking too much when we’re watching TV.πŸ™‚

I’m glad that my kids believe me when I point out mistakes in grammar like this. Because after all, English is just my second language. And they sometimes correct me with my pronunciation and when I say he instead of she, or him instead of her. In my defense, he has the same translation in Pilipino as she. Same with him and her.πŸ™‚

We watch a lot of TV and it bugs me when I hear I being used instead of me.

Just like a few weeks ago, we were watching Survivor and JT told Joe (or was it Steven), “Between you and I, we have this alliance.” It should be between you and me, I told my boys.

Also, on Survivor last night, Debbie said, “This is the most emotional moment between my husband and I.” Come on, people. It’s always between you and me. (Or between you and him/her/them.) Me is the object of the preposition between so you use the objective form of the pronoun I.

Same case as with what Paula said, you pleased Simon and I. If we remove Simon in the sentence, you wouldn’t say, you pleased I. You would say, you pleased me. Me is the object of the verb pleased.

I’m worried that when kids always hear people saying “between you and I,” they’re going to think that it’s right. But it’s not.

Entry filed under: Quotable Quotes, Raising the 3Rs. Tags: , , , .

On Anoop Desai and Jamal Malik A Thousand Splendid Suns

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Belle  |  May 10, 2009 at 12:24 am

    You are correct! And I must admit, I make mistakes, too.

    Another common grammar error is : She is taller than me. (wrong)

    She is taller than I (am.) (correct)

    Reply
  • 2. Deo  |  May 12, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    hehehe… it’s up to the writer how she or he wants to use that sentence…

    please visit my blog also Deo’s Web Blog and review my writings

    Reply
  • 3. Major Tom  |  May 13, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Oh, I must admit I commit similar grammatical error every now and then, just as this. But this post would now always reminds me of the “I”/”Me” proper usage. I hope so.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. JO  |  May 14, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Hi! I haven’t been able to watch AI since Ruben won… I am so not in anymore.

    Reply
  • 5. bw  |  May 14, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Dang, Danny Gokey was eliminated. I thought he sang much better than Chris Allen who I think was voted in because of his good looks more than his singing duh.

    Reply
    • 6. niceheart  |  May 14, 2009 at 8:41 pm

      I thought that it would be Danny and Adam in the end. But I have been worried about Danny since a few weeks ago. Adam would sing songs that I haven’t heard before but he had wowed me a few times. I haven’t experienced that with Danny. He’s got that great voice but I think he has failed to wow us the same way Adam had.

      I can understand why Kris stayed. Minsan kinikilig ako kapag kumakanta sya. πŸ™‚ You have to be a girl to understand.πŸ™‚ Besides, I think his artistic creativity is another plus.

      Reply
  • 7. bing  |  May 17, 2009 at 2:52 am

    that’s a common mistake with the use of I and me. nice of you to be giving a lecture. Paula should read this, heh..

    i thought all along that it would be adam and danny. mas may talent si danny pero lately di siya nag-click. dark horse si Kris.πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 8. rhodora  |  May 19, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Hi, Irene! How’s life?

    Yes, many people commit that mistake. Sometimes I also hear…. “My son and me went to market”… hehehe.

    I also like Kris Allen… but I’m not as excited about AI Season 8 as I was with Season 7. Until now, I giggle with delight when I see David Cook and David Archuleta on TV. They had their first out of the U.S. concert in Manila last Saturday. Too bad I wasn’t able to watch. My daughter just got out of the hospital and she needed me around.

    Best regards and take care!

    Reply
  • 9. Leah  |  May 20, 2009 at 11:30 am

    You and I , you and me….it does get confusing sometimes. Thanks for the guidance. I’ll try to remember the verb and subject relationship.

    I would like Kris to win but I am thinking Adam is the favourite esp by the judges. And they do persuade the votinig…i think.

    Reply
  • 10. onlinepastrychef  |  June 4, 2009 at 9:17 am

    I am completely with you on that! I correct my husband–and everyone on television–every time I hear it! You and I in the subject; you and me in the predicate. And what really kills me is that you can just tell that, when folks say “you and I” in the wrong place, they actually sound superior and are all like, “I’m doin’ it right!” But, alas, they are mistaken. If you are a huge grammar nut like I am, pick up a copy of Eats Shoots and Leaves. You will laugh and laugh!

    Incidentally, I always wanted to “put the Go in Gokey” and am an Adam fan all the way! Go Adam! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 11. Wil  |  June 8, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    Thanks for the clarification. I was never sure on when to use “you and I” and “you and me”. hehe. Although, there’s a lot of grammar mistakes far worse than this out there. So much so that I’m left wondering what the heck were they trying to say in the first place. hehe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


