Real Women Have Curves

February 8, 2009 at 3:45 pm 13 comments

real-women-have-curves

I have been looking for this movie since America Ferrera became well-known because of Ugly Betty. I’ve heard good things about the movie and since I love America and Betty, I’ve wanted to watch Real Women Have Curves.

So I was at Kildonan Place yesterday browsing books and DVDs at Coles, HMV and Zellers. They had some items that are on sale. I was actually surprised to see some titles that are already in the bargain bins, like A Paper Life: Tatum O’Neal and She’s Not There: A Life in Two Genders by Jennifer Finney Boylan. It doesn’t seem so long ago when these two women were guests on Oprah promoting their books. I guess the books are not doing well, sales wise, anymore. Well anyway, I found a copy of Real Women Have Curves in one of the bargain bins at Zellers. $2.99 only. I guess as much as the movie has been critically acclaimed, it didn’t do well in sales either. Well, I wanted to watch it so I took it home. After paying for it, of course.🙂

I enjoy watching America in any of her movies without the Ugly Betty getup. I mean without the frizzy hair and bangs, the bushy eyebrows, the red-rimmed eyeglasses and the blue orthodontic braces. I love looking at America’s face without all that stuff. I think she’s pretty and I love watching her face as she expresses the feelings that her character needs to emote.

In Real Women Have Curves, she plays Ana, an 18-year old Mexican-American, who just finished high school. She wants to go to college and her English teacher, Mr. Guzman (George Lopez) encourages her to apply for a scholarship at Columbia University. But her mother (Lupe Ontiveros) wants her to stay at home and help out at her sister’s sewing factory. Ana is always clashing with her old-fashioned mother who always criticizes her for being fat. But she likes the way she looks and as a young woman, she already realizes that “real women take chances, have flaws, and embrace life...”

In one of the scenes, Ana said to her mother, “Mama, I do want to lose weight but part of me doesn’t, because my weight says to everybody, ‘Fuck you!’ How dare anyone tell me what I should look like or how I should be, when there’s so much more to me than just my weight?” Very well said. Women shouldn’t be defined by the way they look, by their size, culture or race. We should be defined by what we can do and contribute to society.

I know that I may sound like I’m contradicting myself when I have just written a post on how I lost weight. But I did lose the weight on my own accord and not because somebody told me to do so. I lost weight because I wanted to become healthier and feel better about myself.

Here’s a clip of my favourite part in the movie.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV. Tags: , , , .

The Tales of Beedle the Bard A Mother of A Problem

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyels  |  February 13, 2009 at 1:29 am

    I have to check this movie out and I agree with you; it does not matter how much we weigh but it is the attitude towards life and others that a woman has for others. No one should judge a person by the cover – especially looks and weight because the important thing is the beauty inside that person. Looks matter to a certain extent but the heart is the most vital part when it comes to any relationship.
    😀

    Reply
  • 2. haze  |  February 13, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    I hope this will come out in France theaters . I am really sad because I have missed looottsss of English film hirap kasi dito they need to dub pa😦 ! Original version is rare. I hope someone will upload this on youtube so I can watch the staggered movie😀 !

    I agree Niceheart, losing weight is tough, but being at a healthy weight is important physically and psychologically😀 !

    Reply
  • 3. bingskee  |  February 14, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    one’s goal in losing weight is not to be aesthetically beautiful but to be healthy. the concept of the movie is interesting but i am afraid i still have to find time to be able to watch it.

    happy heart’s day to you, irene!

    Reply
  • 4. Wil  |  February 15, 2009 at 10:23 am

    I agree with Ferrera’s character that she shouldn’t have to lose weight in order to conform to society’s standards of beauty. I agree with her that there’s more to a person than just how they look. But she has to realize that its not healthy to have all that weight either.

    Reply
  • 5. pining  |  February 17, 2009 at 8:17 am

    you know what, I have been exercising to my bones but I haven’t lost a single pound since I lost about 2 lbs 3 weeks ago (maybe because I love to eat? beats me); but I don’t care, I’ll keep on doing the exercise for health reasons and because I fell a hundredfold better after a session.
    in the meantime, I don’t mind being a bit lumpy.

    Reply
  • 6. Major Tom  |  February 18, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    This seems to be a very good movie and very socially-relevant.

    Reply
  • 7. Belle  |  February 22, 2009 at 10:38 am

    wow, kudos to you for your huge accomplishment. i struggle at maintaining my weight unless i cut down my calories intake. i think the culprit for me are the sweets at work that people keep bringing. you look great!

    i watched the video, it was hilarious! ha ha ha.

    Reply
  • 8. Jayred  |  February 26, 2009 at 6:52 am

    What a funny scene. The mom character sounds just like my own mom.

    Now this post makes me want to search for a DVD copy of that film here in Switzerland. But I bet it’s not as cheap as the one you’ve found there in Canada.🙂

    I’ve never had to chance to see “Ugly Betty” — due to geographical reasons.

    I’d like to lose weight for health reasons. But with all the exposure to quality chocolates — and I’m a chocoholic — parang far-fetched na.🙂

    Reply
  • 9. mixednuts  |  February 28, 2009 at 7:23 am

    I love America too. I’ll try to look for that movie here–I don’t think it will be easy though.

    Reply
  • 10. Mike  |  March 1, 2009 at 2:58 am

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

    Reply
  • 11. Bath Salts  |  March 3, 2009 at 9:57 am

    Whoa!!!!!
    I never knew that America starred in a movie.
    I only saw here in Ugly Betty.
    I am a huge fan of Ugly Betty I watched all the episodes and never missed one.
    by the way. Women that are fat are sexy. I call them “chubbylicious”.
    keep safe everyone. great post by the way.

    Reply
  • 12. annamanila  |  March 4, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Oh I love the clip. and I love the premise of the movie. Women are more than their weight or how ever else they look. Skin deep is what matters most.

    But I did try to reduce my middle during our high school reunion. And tried mightily to look as youngish as I could be.

    alas i pit myself against the standards of the world.

    But I am going to see that movie.

    Reply
  • 13. annamanila  |  March 4, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    I meant beyond skin deep is what matters most. hehe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


