Breaking Dawn

December 25, 2008 at 9:54 am 4 comments

breaking dawn

I finally finished reading Breaking Dawn. I don’t know if it was because I was always tired and exhausted the full two weeks that I was reading it (lots of overtime and Christmas shopping around that time), but I found some of the parts dragging, and there were times I couldn’t keep my eyes open and would fall asleep reading the book. It even slipped off my hands while I was reading on the bus. Sorry, I fell asleep. But as I’ve mentioned before, I was so eager to find out what happens in the end, I had to continue reading.

Spoilers Alert

I said I had a couple of theories before I started reading the book. Of course it was already a given that Bella would become a vampire. Oh, come on. She wanted to be one since Twilight, the first book in the series. And the theme of “Forever” – that should have been a give-away. My first theory was that she would be “changed” (that’s what Edward and Bella refer to becoming a vampire in the books) just before the final book ends, maybe in the final chapter/s. And my second theory was actually a second-hand one from a spoiler that I accidentally read before even reading Eclipse, the third book. I’ve read somewhere that Bella had a baby by C-Section. So I knew she was going to be pregnant, at least. My theory was that she was going to get pregnant before she became a vampire. Because I noticed that the pairs or couples in these vampire covens didn’t have any children of their own, so I figured that once you become a vampire, you can’t get pregnant. I was right in only one of my theories. But enough of my second-hand guesses.

The fourth and final book in the Twilight series is titled Breaking Dawn. It refers to the beginning of Bella’s life as a vampire. So you know now which one of my theories was wrong. The book describes how exciting and exhilarating Bella’s new life was. It was like she was seeing the world for the first time.

He took my face between his hands and leaned his face to mine–slow enough to remind me to be careful. He kissed me, soft as a whisper at first, and then suddenly stronger, fiercer. I tried to remember to be gentle with him, but it was hard work to remember anything in the onslaught of sensation, hard to hold on to any coherent thoughts.

It was like he’d never kissed me–like this was our first kiss. And, in truth, he’d never kissed me this way before.

“You’ve been holding out on me,” I accused in my singing voice, my eyes narrowing a bit.

He laughed, radiant with relief that it was all over–the fear, the pain, the uncertainties, the waiting, all of it behind us now. “It was sort of necessary at the time,” he reminded me. “Now it’s your turn to not break me.” He laughed again.

(Pages 394-395)

But let’s go back to the beginning first. In the final chapters of Eclipse, Bella has finally agreed to marry Edward. You see, at first, Bella wasn’t too keen on getting married that young. She was only 18. Her mother married her dad, Charlie, right out of high school and she was so unhappy and it didn’t work out and she finally left him. Bella was worried that it would be the same for her. But Edward also didn’t want to “change” her at first. He didn’t want her to give up her human life. But because they loved each other so much and they wanted to be with each other forever, they had to compromise to get what they both wanted. Bella wanted to experience sex before giving up her human life. But Edward would only give it to her if she’d marry him first. And then he’d “change” her. Okay, this may sound off to some, and I guess it’s one of the reasons why some are put off by Bella’s character. But I’ve read somewhere (sorry, I lose track of the links to the websites) that what Stephenie Meyer, the author, is trying to point out here is that Edward wanted to do the moral thing here. Marry her first before having sex. I’ll talk more about Bella’s character later.

Back to Breaking Dawn. I didn’t have any expectations on what the plot was gonna be all about. I had an idea about the getting pregnant thing and the becoming a vampire thing, but I didn’t think about the consequences of Bella getting pregnant and having a baby. Of course, now that I look back, that would have a big impact on the Quileute wolves and the Volturi, the royal family of the vampire world and who also consider themselves the vampire law-makers and they punish the vampires who break the law. Now having said that and having finished reading the book, the final one in the Twilight saga, I felt that there was something lacking. The “showdown” between the two groups: the Cullens (Edward and Bella’s family) and their witnesses, and the Volturi and their own witnesses. There was all that preparation but there wasn’t really that much action. I know Edward explained that the Volturi were cowards, that they never fought a fair fight and when they realized that they were at a disadvantage, they ran away with their tails between their legs. But I wish that there was some more physical fighting that went on. In the end, Bella became the protector, but I was hoping that she would have like a one-on-one battle with Jane, where she could protect Edward with a shield to block Jane’s pain-causing powers against him. But maybe Ms. Meyer really just intended this to be a romance series. I don’t know about you. I haven’t really read any romance novels before this (unless you categorize Wuthering Heights as a romance), but I enjoyed it, especially the kilig moments or the romantic scenes. This is so embarrassing to admit, but I did get “excited” while reading some of those romantic scenes.πŸ™‚

The story was very long – 756 pages. It was divided in three parts. Books One and Three were told in Bella’s point of view. And Book Two, in Jacob’s point of view. At first, I found Book Two quite dragging. But after the first half, I found it okay. Only because Jake’s character is really funny and he tells it like it is. Straight to the point. I also enjoyed the blonde jokes and the bickerings between Rose and Jake.

Let me just mention that I was turned off by Edward’s moment of weakness in Book Two, when he was so worried about Bella’s delicate condition that he was willing to do anything to keep her alive, even let her have Jacob’s puppies, if she wanted a baby so badly. See, even non-humans can be crazy, too.πŸ™‚ I still like Edward, though. He got over that crazy phase.

If you’re wondering what the cover of the book means, (because I also didn’t get it at first), here’s what wikipedia, says: It’s a metaphor for Bella’s progression in the Twilight series. She started out as the weakest player, the pawn, but ended up the strongest player, the Queen. Yeah, she ended up with special gifts after she was “changed.”

To be continued . . .

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, The Twilight Saga. Tags: , , .

Merry Christmas In Bella’s defense (and my thoughts on the Twilight series)

4 Comments Add your own

  • […] what their young children are reading? After reading the third and fourth books, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn, I wonder how pre-teens are grasping the sex issues in the story. This is one of the times when […]

    Reply
  • 2. Kyels  |  December 27, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    I’m planning to read this book so I skipped the spoiler that you wrote. Hehe.

    (:

    Reply
  • 3. niceheart  |  December 28, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Have you started reading the series yet kyels, I mean have you read Twilight?

    Reply
  • 4. pinch  |  January 4, 2009 at 7:39 am

    I read all 4 books but kinda wished I stopped at Eclipse. I know even if someone warned me about Breaking Dawn that I would still be curious to know what happened to them. But, to be honest, I’d rather remember the characters when they ended at Eclipse. There was some questions and mystery but it left a lot of room for me to imagine my happy ending for Edward and Bella.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


