n i c e h e a r t

Eclipse

eclipse

I have finished reading Eclipse, after eight days. I’m not sure if I broke my own record, but that’s pretty fast for a slow reader like me. I love the story and I couldn’t put the book down in whatever spare time that I had. Or maybe I just wanted to keep pace with my girl friend who’s also reading the books. She only started reading Twilight a couple of weeks ago but she’s a fast reader and has more spare time than I do. We discuss the books and I wouldn’t want her telling me what I haven’t read yet. I know she’s going to finish all four books before I do. But she knows I hate spoilers.

I love Eclipse! I already said that, didn’t I? It’s my favourite of the series so far.

I love the unique love triangle. I love the character developments. I love how the characters – friends, lovers, rivals, enemies, even father and child – can be so honest about their feelings towards each other. I love that Ms. Meyer injected humour in the right places in this story which has quite a heavy theme.

Some of my favourite funny parts: When Jacob asks Bella if she has already kissed Edward and what it feels like to have a vampire as a boyfriend. When Charlie had the sex talk with Bella. The part where Bella’s trying to seduce Edward. The parts where Jacob calls Edward a bloodsucker and Edward calls Jacob a dog, or pup. :)

Just one thing though. I couldn’t help but notice the typographical errors. My girl friend has noticed this, too. In Twilight and New Moon, I noticed only a couple of typos in each of the books, but in Eclipse, I noticed quite a few. Who edited these books? They didnt’ do a good job in proofreading, eh? It’s not a big deal though. What I noticed is they missed little words like “to,” or instead of “at,” they typed “as.” I can easily forgive the typos in Eclipse since I love the story so much. I just hope that they correct the typos when they publish the paperback.

Now, on to the SPOILERS. I know, for someone who hates spoilers, I like writing them. I just find it hard to talk about a book or movie that I like and not reveal what happened in the story. The spoilers are for those who have already read the book so we can discuss them, or if there’s anybody else who’s interested, they can join in.

“He’s like a drug for you, Bella.” His voice was still gentle, not at all critical. “I see that you can’t live without him now. It’s too late. But I would have been healthier for you. Not a drug; I would have been the air, the sun.”

The corner of my mouth turned up in a wistful half-smile. “I used to think of you that way, you know. Like the sun, my personal sun. You balanced out the clouds nicely for me.”

He sighed. “The clouds I can handle. But I can’t fight with an eclipse.”

(Pages 599-600)

That was Jacob Black talking to Bella about her love for Edward. They had this conversation while Jacob was healing after he got hurt from that “war” against the bad vampires. This took place a few chapters after I found out that Bella’s in love with Jacob, which I didn’t see coming. I was so convinced that Bella loved Jacob only as a friend. Well, that’s what she had been telling the readers. But I guess she was just in denial or she just didn’t know it yet.

I’m talking about the Chapter “Fire and Ice,” which is my most favourite part of Eclipse. Fire and Ice. Werewolf and vampire. Jacob and Edward. This is when Edward and Jacob discussed their feelings about Bella and when Jacob told Edward that she’s in love with him, too. “But she doesn’t know it,” Jacob said. I was impressed at how the two men handled their rivalry over the same girl with such tolerance and diplomacy. And how they were both willing to fight for her love.

At first Bella thought that Edward was self-sacrificing, but in the end, she realized that Jacob was, too. Both were willing to let her go, if she decided to choose one over the other. But we know who was the guy she couldn’t live without.

I’d like to read this book over again. I might go back to this post once I’ve re-read it and maybe add some more to this.

But that will have to wait until I finish reading Breaking Dawn, the final book in the series. I am so eager to find out what happens in the end.

I already have a couple of theories. And after reading the first part of Breaking Dawn, I think I might be right about them. :)

December 7, 2008 - Posted by | Books, movies, music, TV, The Twilight Saga | , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Hey thanks for the three installments of the Meyer series…I just saw Twilight and thought that was that–and that the other books might be stories of other vampires and not a continuation. Galing nga ng kilig factor…Hehe.

    Comment by Gypsy | December 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. Ahhhh…everybody seems to go ga-ga over Twilight. Even my sister asked the Twilight books for her birthday.

    It would be nice to have something good and different to read after Harry Potter but I am not sure if I will like the book. I read some opinions about the characters and about how it portrays love and I kinda have this impression that I might not like it.

    Oh well…when I go back home, I will still try and read and see for myself.

    Comment by verns | December 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. I cannot relate as I am not into reading hardbound books. I have moods when it come to reading romance novel. I read more of psychology stuffs, newspapers or magazines especially if there are interesting topics about life, travel, nature etc !

    Comment by haze | December 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. I’m not really a fan of romance novels but like I said, I might just check her books out since it’s creating a big euphoria everywhere. Hehe.

    Comment by Kyels | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hey, thanks guys for the honest comments. I’m also not into romance novels, but with all the commotion it’s getting, I thought I’d try out this series. And got hooked. :) What I’ve noticed is, unlike Harry Potter, there are two groups involved. Either you have read HP or not, and if you have read it, you’re mostly to like it. With the Twilight series, the feedback I’m getting is, if you have read it, you either love it or hate it. There is a lot of exploring feelings in the book and I guess that’s what turns some readers off. But somehow, it’s one of the reasons I like it. :)

    Comment by niceheart | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  6. Eclipse is my fave among the 4 books. And the tent scene is my uber favorite. =)

    Comment by witsandnuts | December 14, 2008 | Reply

  7. Eclipse is my favorite too, particularly that tent scene.

    Breaking dawn became too much for me though and I didn’t finish the book till now (I got this during the first day it was released here).

    I am now venturing into a different kind of reading materials now, I’m sort of experimenting. Used to be heavy stuff for me (Clancy, Crichton, Baldacci, Ludlum) but I have tried chick lit and so far? I love it :D

    Comment by julie | December 14, 2008 | Reply

  8. witsandnuts and julie, looks like we have the same favorite book and scene. I love the conversation that happened in that tent. :)

    I’ve also been thinking of trying chick lit. Maybe I will. :)

    Comment by niceheart | December 15, 2008 | Reply

  9. [...] even slipped off my hands while I was reading on the bus. Sorry, I fell asleep. But as I’ve mentioned before, I was so eager to find out what happens in the end, I had to continue [...]

    Pingback by Breaking Dawn « n i c e h e a r t | December 25, 2008 | Reply

  10. [...] to monitor what their young children are reading? After reading the third and fourth books, Eclipse and Breaking Dawn, I wonder how pre-teens are grasping the sex issues in the story. This is one of [...]

    Pingback by In Bella’s defense (and my thoughts on the Twilight series) « n i c e h e a r t | December 25, 2008 | Reply

  11. i still think that twilight series is too romantic. the love between edward and bella is an agape that a mere mortal – either a man or a woman would not be able to attain. it is a book that feeds on the fantasy of every teenager with its theme of perfect love between two star crossed lovers. im not saying that i dont like the twilight saga but the thing is we must not remove the perspective of reality when we are reading them. there are parts in the story that can happen in real life but the love between edward and bella is definitely not one of them. actually, bella is a perfect example of the saying that goes “love is blind”. this is so because she is so blind when it comes to edward’s flaws – like him being a vampire and a domineering one at that. just imagine if a real vampire exists and he would be at your window pane watching you sleep, this idea is very creepy to me. but anyway, rob pattinson is so good looking. i would be willing for him to take a bite at me…. not the hurtful bite though, a nibble would be perfect.

    Comment by cherry | January 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

