n i c e h e a r t

Good deals

I usually do my grocery shopping only at The Real Canadian Superstore. They mostly have everything that I need: food, household supplies, toiletries, clothes, electronics, etc. They also usually have the lowest prices, but not of late. And with the rising prices on almost anything, I have now resorted to comparison shopping. I usually buy the No Name brand on certain items because they are cheaper, but I do have preferred brands for certain items and they do cost more.

My girl friend and I compare notes and I find that really helpful. I thought that I’d also share my cheap purchases in this blog. It’d be nice to compare notes with other Winnipeg bloggers, as well.

Fruit Gushers six .9 oz pouches

$ 2.33 at The Bargain Shop compare at $3.27 at The Real Canadian Superstore (This is my 10-year old son’s favourite treat in his lunch bag.)

Dutch Crunch Potato Chips Kettle Cooked Jalapeno and Cheddar 175 g

$3.19 at The Bargain Shop compare at $3.39 at The Real Canadian Superstore (This is a family favourite. Not so good a deal, but I still saved 20 cents)

Jergens Naturals with Aloe & Lanolin 3 skin care bars 90 g each

$1.00 at The Bargain Shop compare at $2.29 at Shopper’s Drug Mart

Alberto European Humidity Resistant Gel Extra Hold 150 ml

$3.27 at The Bargain Shop compare at $5.49 at Shopper’s Drug Mart

Adidas hoodie, one of 14-year old son’s favourite clothing brand

$19.99 at Sears this week compare at $39.99 from last week

November 1, 2008 - Posted by | Roadblocks, Winnipeg | , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Real nice goodies here. it’s really a wonder how wide is the variety of goodies there in Canada( as it is in the States), so many brands to select upon.

    Comment by Major Tom | November 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. Nice goodies! I like the varieties you have there b/c we hardly get that many here.

    Comment by Kyels | November 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. I did a lot of comparison shopping when I was in the UK, but was a little difficult because I had a bad memory hehe…

    Comment by Gypsy | November 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. Since consumer confidence is low because of the impending recession, prices have certainly dropped – great time to buy !

    Comment by bw | November 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. do u have Wal-Mart in your area? they match the prices from the other retail stores, but they need the newspaper ads for proof. i have done that many times, and there was no problem whatsoever.

    also, i was hoping that the prices of commodities would go down because the gas prices are going down substantially, but i don’t see it happening. instead, it goes the opposite.

    Comment by Belle | November 2, 2008 | Reply

  6. Ei, that’s true belle. I read an article about how companies continue to slap higher prices on goods even though the prices of oil have gone down. It’s called “sticky” prices. Of course these companies want to reap higher profits.

    Yes, we do have Wal-Mart stores here in Winnipeg, but they’re out of our way. We have to drive quite a long way. Thanks for the tip. I’ll be on the lookout for newspaper ads the next time I go to Wal-Mart. :)

    Comment by niceheart | November 2, 2008 | Reply

  7. now, that’s what I call a real bargain :-)
    dito rin marami ang nagsi sale, ang problema walang bumibili, ngek…

    Comment by pining | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  8. Good bargains are really great. We have a nice supermarket near us that sell items cheaper than those being sold in bigger ones.

    Pero kapag me sale, sus, you wouldn’t think there is a credit crunch going on.

    Comment by julie | November 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

