Work Ethics

October 12, 2008 at 3:39 pm 12 comments

This past week’s episode of The Office deals with Work Ethics.

When Holly, the HR at Scranton branch of Dundler Mifflin, holds a seminar on Work Ethics, the employees are encouraged to give examples of bad ethics. The shocker of them all is Meredith’s confession that she sleeps with one of the supplier’s rep so she could get a discount, and also steak coupons. And that she’s been sleeping with him for six years now. Holly thinks this could be a reason for Meredith’s termination. But Michael doesn’t like that. He tries to negotiate with Holly. And in the end, Corporate decides not to fire Meredith since she’s helping the company save money at a tough time. Now, only in a sitcom like The Office does that happen, am I right?🙂

One of the bad ethics that came up at the seminar is time theft – stealing company time. It’s really funny how Jim has been annoying Dwight, setting up his timer when Dwight lets out a long yawn or listens to his conversation with Andy, just trying to prove to Dwight that he does use company time for personal use. 🙂

Now, aren’t we all guilty of stealing company time? I can be all prude and say that I don’t blog or surf the internet at work. That’s true, but I have to admit that I’m guilty of stealing company time once in a while. Like chatting with my girl friend(s) or family members on the phone during work hours, or going to mentioned girl friend(s)’ desk(s) to chat while the supervisor isn’t looking.🙂 But in my defense, I don’t do that a lot. And I try to limit the visiting during break times, although sometimes it takes more than the alloted ten minutes. But in fairness also, if I feel that these distractions have affected my productivity for that day, I do stay an extra 10-15 minutes. So please don’t tell on me. 🙂

What about you, are you also guilty of stealing company time? What other bad work ethics are you guilty of?

TV Quotes of the Week:

(I apologize to the ladies, but I just can’t pass this one up.)

“Women are often variable. Only madmen believe them.”

~ King of France to King Henry VIII, on his wife and sister changing their minds on meeting Henry’s mistress, Lady Anne. THE TUDORS.

~~~~~~~~~~

Betty: Is it really naive to want to believe in people?

Dad Ignacio: That’s not being naive, mija. That’s faith.

UGLY BETTY. This is when Betty’s having second thoughts on boss Daniel’s innocence in pushing her pregnant friend, Christina on the stairs.

And the ending of that episode was also a shocker. Daniel’s not the father of Daniel Jr. It’s his sister, Alexis. She fathered the boy when she was still a man. But don’t you admire Daniel more now? He’s stepping up as a dad and fighting to keep DJ even if he’s not the real father. Aww!

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, Quotable Quotes, Working mom. Tags: , , .

More Quotable Quotes – 2008 TV Season Premiere Why I love Ugly Betty

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wil  |  October 12, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    I used to be able to blog and chat at work, but they’ve blocked access to those things. hehe. Although I did see our computer programmer still has YM installed. It pays to be in the IT department, I suppose. 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Kyels  |  October 14, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Ethics – everyone should have ethics instilled in them but it is always a matter of choice whether to steal the working time for personal pleasures such as blogging and whatnots. That is what I think though.
    😉

    Reply
  • 3. rhodora  |  October 15, 2008 at 6:27 am

    “Now, only in a sitcom like The Office does that happen, am I right?”

    Oh, I hope so, Irene.. I hope so.

    Hello my dear! I’m back to blogging mode. Nice visiting your site again.🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Microsoft Consulting  |  October 15, 2008 at 10:39 am

    This was great episode and I am glad that The Office isn’t resorting to crass jokes. I really enjoyed the small feud that Jim and Dwight had, especially when Jim was mixing all sorts of fantasy and sci-fi characters and stories. I understood where all of them came from, and so I could relate to Dwight. I jsut couldn’t stop laughing. What a great show.

    Reply
  • 5. Belle  |  October 15, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    nope, can’t blog or chat on company’s time because i am out on the street. they kind of know how long it will take me to finish my route. if i i know i will be finish early, i tend to slow down a bit, perform route maintenance, etc so can be back at the time they expect me to be back.

    i never just sit idle just so i can kill time because once i find guilty, no union can save my job.

    Reply
  • 6. Belle  |  October 15, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    once i am found guilty rather.

    Reply
  • 7. haze  |  October 16, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Even if want to I can’t be able to chat kasi company is blocking Yahoo, MSN & the likes (that was way back Pinas pa)! Only email address of the office was allowed. So I don’t think I stole their time but they stole mine. Working many hours but no overtime pay!

    If they will allow YM’s, MSN etc. I will spend it between lunch time na lang so hindi pa rin stealing di ba😀 ! And yes, ethics should come from both side not only from employees but from the Bosses too !

    Reply
  • 8. haze  |  October 16, 2008 at 3:33 am

    Even if want to I can’t be able to chat kasi company is blocking Yahoo, MSN & the likes (that was way back Pinas pa)! Only email address of the office was allowed. So I don’t think I stole their time but they stole mine. Working many hours but no overtime pay!

    If they will allow YM’s, MSN etc. I will spend it between lunch time na lang so hindi pa rin stealing di ba😀 ! And yes, ethics should come from both side not only from employees but from the Bosses too !

    Reply
  • 9. pining  |  October 17, 2008 at 4:04 am

    Oh yeah, aren’t we all guilty off it! where I used to work, although I worked with a computer , there wasn’t any internet connection…how shrewd are they? there were chit chats, but that didn’t stop us from being productive. Lucky I don’t smoke because some would really go out and have a puff whenever they want to!
    I admit to “misplacing” an odd ballpen in the bag though, don’t know how it got there…

    Reply
  • 10. Major Tom  |  October 18, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Oh, I like “The Office” a lot but do not have much time to catch up on it these days as i am still adjusting to work time, me being just new in the University, bout just a year now.

    About using company time, that’s really one major issue that’s bugging work environment these days as myself would sometimes could not discern the thin line between work and personal use when it comes to Internet at work; somehow I could feel that our office should allow me some teeny weeny time to check on my mails and then browse on the latest news.

    I don’t know, but maybe there should be a compromise on this. Too strict rules would be unrealistic somehow.

    Reply
  • 11. bugsybee  |  October 20, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    It’s pretty hard for a teacher to “steal company time” but, if talking about things other than our subject matter is considered “stealing company time”, then mea culpa, I am guilty.

    I sometimes have to shift to other topics when I find my students restless or no longer attentive. But I am sure the “other topics” deal with matters that I feel they need to know or I hope they would later apply or be useful to them when they start working.

    If “company time” includes preparing for my lessons when I am at home, then I am also guilty of cyberstealing (I think that’s how it is called? I forgot). But I have resolved to cut down on internet surfing and bloghopping while I am studying/preparing for the next day’s lessons.🙂

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  October 21, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Bugsybee, when you are working at home preparing your lessons, I don’t think you’re stealing any company time at all. Because as you know, most of us don’t bring home work at all.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


