n i c e h e a r t

More Quotable Quotes – 2008 TV Season Premiere

Desperate Housewives

“Women only have five seconds to be young and beautiful and then it’s gone. And then before you know it, we’re old and fat, married and wondering where our beauty went.”

~ Former model Gabby to husband Carlos Solis, on facing their daughter’s weight problem.

“Well, maybe I don’t deserve to be happy.”

~ Susan to new lover, Jackson, on why she didn’t want to be in a relationship.

(OMG, I sometimes say that line to myself. But hearing it from Susan, it sounds pathetic. Of course, each one of us deserves to be happy.)

Brothers & Sisters

“Nobody can slide the knife between the ribs quite like the people who love us.”

~ Robert McCallister to Sarah Walker, on apologizing to her sister Kitty.

The Tudors

Sir Thomas More: If the lion knows his own strength, no man could control him.

(He was referring to King Henry VIII.)

~~~~~~~~~~

Anne Boleyn: It’s so hard when we’re to be married but she is still here. You can’t have three people in a marriage. Why can’t you see that?

King Henry VIII: And why can’t you understand that I have more things to think about than shirts.

(This is when Anne finds out that Queen Catherine is still making Henry’s shirts. Henry promised Anne that he and the queen aren’t intimate anymore since he wanted to annul his marriage to Catherine so he could marry Anne. Doesn’t this remind you of another famous Royal triangle? :) )

~~~~~~~~~~

Queen Catherine of Aragon: Henry, not for our daugther, nor for anyone, would I dream of leaving you. You know my rightful place is by your side.

(Now, doesn’t that sound more pathetic than Susan?)

~~~~~~~~~~

King Henry VIII: A happy marriage is devoutly something to be wished for.

(Then he turns to Charles Brandon to talk to Queen Catherine about leaving the palace. When Charles came back … )

Charles Brandon: She said that she’ll obey Your Majesty in everything save for her obedience to two higher powers.

King Henry VIII: Which two higher powers – the Pope and the Emperor?

Charles Brandon: No, God and her conscience.

(Now, that’s what I’m talking about Catherine. :) )

Pushing Daisies

“Somebody always loving somebody they shouldn’t be loving.”

~ Private Detective Emerson Cod, on workplace romance.

“Oh, whoa, hold that pregnant pause. I’m not with child, unless it’s immaculate conception, or I wore a strange man’s underwear.”

~ Olive Snook to Mother Superior when she thought that Olive was pregnant that’s why she’s hiding in the nunnery.

“Sometimes bad things just happen.”

~ Betty Bee to Chuck, aka Kitty Pimms, on how all her bees supposedly died.

“And so the piemaker had come to understand. Home did not mean four walls and a door you never walk out of. Home was a feeling of where you belong.

~Narrator at the end of the episode, on Ned (the piemaker) finally letting go of Chuck and accepting her desire to move out.

Ugly Betty

“Daniel, anything you truly want, has to be worth fighting for.”

~ Betty to boss Daniel Meade, on convincing him to go back to work at Mode Magazine.

(Okay, this is from the second episode. But that’s one reason I like Betty. She’s loyal to Daniel and she’s just so beautiful inside. Okay, that’s two reasons. :) )

October 5, 2008 - Posted by | Books, movies, music, TV, Inspiration, Quotable Quotes | , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. The quotes are on target.

    The one about the person who can “slide the knife” is bullseye. The one who we most love are the ones who can hurt as the most. The source of our most exquisite happiness is also the source of our most excruciating pain. The reverse is true — we can also hurt our dear ones. Fair enough.

    Comment by annamanila | October 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. interesting, i like The Tudors quotes. must keep myself updated on these.

    Comment by Dine Racoma | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  3. and how have you been keeping, Catherine?

    Comment by Dine Racoma | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  4. great quotes. I have a quote of the week on my blog. I can certainly use some of them :) I’m quite impressed with your memory :)

    Comment by bw | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  5. Not bad, Tita Dine. Thanks for asking. :)

    Comment by niceheart | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  6. Don’t be, BW. I mean don’t be quite impressed. :) I tape these shows and watch them at night when all the kids are in bed. I play them back when I hear a quote that I like. :)

    Comment by niceheart | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  7. Very, very interesting quotes.
    :D

    Comment by Kyels | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  8. Firstly I so agree with Annamanila :)

    Anyway I love Ugly Betty, Brothers and Sisters and DH. I didn’t get the chance to watch Pushing Daisies because I already left for Maldives but my sister told me it’s really nice. I wish I watched it.

    Speaking of quotes, I have like a notebook of quotes taken from Grey’s Anatomy hehe crazy :)

    Comment by verns | October 12, 2008 | Reply

  9. I know DH and Ugly Betty the rest we do not have it in France :( !

    “Women only have five seconds to be young and beautiful and then it’s gone. And then before you know it, we’re old and fat, married and wondering where our beauty went.”

    Well, I disagree on this one, physical is good but it’s not the most essential. I would still go for inner beauty because it will not fade D ! I like this post Niceheart thanks for sharing :D ! BTW? please change your link I have changed my URL to http://frenchtaglishaze.blogspot.com !

    Comment by haze | October 16, 2008 | Reply

  10. Goodness me, we watch the same program (except for brothers and sisters, that is) :-)
    I was laughing at Henry’s retort about the shirt, too! poor Anne got her head chopped off… we saw that coming, didn’t we?
    But I think DH will always be my favourite, the outrageousness of the stories are just unbelievable; escapism at it’s best!

    Comment by pining | October 17, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

