n i c e h e a r t

He’s so dramatic

This is how it usually goes when I tuck my 10-year old son into bed.

Me: Okay Ryland, I can only stay for five minutes. I still have things to do.

Him: Oh, but I have to tell you my story, remember?

Me: Okay, but I’ll leave after you tell me your story.

So after about half an hour, I’m already itching to go to finish cleaning up in the kitchen or put away the laundry so I can finally sit down and watch TV or read my book.

Me: Two more minutes and I really have to go now.

Him: What? And leave your son in this cold dark place?

:)

And of course I’ll end up staying a few more minutes.

So I wasn’t surprised when he came home from school one day and told me…

Him: Mommy, Mrs. Papa (not her real name) said I’m so dramatic. What does that mean?

:)

Me: Dramatic. It comes from the word drama. You know what actors do when they act? They express their emotions. Like when they’re happy, you can see from their face that they’re happy. Or when they’re sad, or angry, you know.

Him: Yeah, yeah, I get it now.

Me: How come? Why did Mrs. Papa say you’re so dramatic?

Him: Because in Math, we have problem solving and I mixed up the numbers. Then I asked her if I have to do it all over again and she said yes. And then I said, hhaahh (he let out a sigh). And then she said, you’re so dramatic.

:)

And he is. I can relate a few more instances, but I want to keep this post short. :) I told him that he should sign up for Drama Club. But he wouldn’t. He thinks that it’s lame. I told him that I’d watch him perform. But I couldn’t convince him. :)

September 21, 2008 - Posted by | My guilt trip, My Sweet Ryland, Raising the 3Rs | ,

11 Comments »

  1. My son is very emotional/sensitive naman… sometimes I think he is over emotional/sensitive for a boy.

    My daughter is the dramatic one.

    Comment by JO | September 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. Kids can get dramatic and I find them cute; not too sure if it’s a good or bad thing though.
    :P

    Comment by Kyels | September 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. I think it’s ok for him to be dramatic since he’s still a kid. When he becomes an adult and he’s still dramatic…. well, that’s another issue. hehe

    Comment by Wil | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  4. HAHAHAHAHA ! He’s not the only one my son is very very dramatic because he is very sensitive to the point of really crying for a film :( ! My daughter is the contrary she’s a clown ! Oh maybe Ryland can make it to the big screen who knows, drama class will be great then lol !

    Comment by haze | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  5. Ryland’s cute!! Haha! Dramatic people make life fun! :)

    Comment by Gypsy | September 24, 2008 | Reply

  6. My kids could be overly dramatic and all at the same time when they’re at home on weekends. Now that’s so magulo at home. But their noise makes the house alive and kicking and I am happy for that.

    Comment by Major Tom | September 26, 2008 | Reply

  7. Your son seems so sweet and affectionate. Bihira sa mga boys ang nakaka-emote. He will be good not just in drama or acting but also in relationships. He’s the bunso?

    Comment by annamanila | September 28, 2008 | Reply

  8. Yes, he’s the bunso. :)

    Comment by niceheart | September 28, 2008 | Reply

  9. He is sweet. Our only son is overly sensitive to the point of being pikon, hehehe…

    Ryland, continue to be sweet to your mom :)

    Comment by Julie | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  10. He reminds me of my L, the bunso. At 19, she always wants me to sleep with her at night since the NB episode. I think she feels safe around me.

    that is cute of Ryland to make you stay in bed with him for a while. i am sure it is his way of making lambing to you.

    Comment by Belle | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  11. ryland is sweet. reminds me of my daryl. my son never changes. still doing those sweet things he’s doing when he’s young. can you imagine he still kisses me goodnight? and he’s in first year college!

    Comment by bingskee | October 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

