Bahala ka

September 15, 2008 at 9:59 pm 8 comments

Although I have gone back to work at the office, I still prepare breakfast for my three boys. Even with my limited time in the morning, I try to have something warm for them to eat. They like rice and eggs and so they have that every other day, and in between, they either have pancakes, waffles, instant noodle soup or sometimes just cereal.

The other night, I was asking my 14-year-old son what he wanted for breakfast in the morning. I noticed that lately, he didn’t want rice and egg anymore. He also didn’t like the instant noodle soup that morning because it had been sitting for about 15 minutes when I called him down for breakfast. He wanted it just out of the stove, while it’s still piping hot and before the noodles had gotten fatter. But I was running late that morning and I wanted to finish what I had to do in the kitchen before I went upstairs to blow dry my hair and get dressed for work.

Me: So what do you want for breakfast then?

Him: Cereal. (In his usual irreverent tone.)

Me: Hmph. Bahala ka.

Him: Bahalaka. What does bahalaka mean? (He said it like it’s just one word.πŸ™‚ )

Me: You’re on your own. Whatever you want to eat.

Him: Why do Filipino words always have h, l, k? It’s hard to say. And there’s always ka. Boo-lak-lak. What does that mean?

Me: Oh, you mean my beautiful flowers?

Him: Why do you even buy flowers? They just die anyway. (Ouch)

Me: To make the house look beautiful.

Him: We don’t even see them here inside.

Me: Well, so the people outside can see them.

Yeah. It’s getting colder here in Winnipeg and my beautiful flowers (bulaklak) are starting to die. He does have a point though. I spend money on those flowers every summer. They’re only good for about three to four months and then they start to wither and die around this time of the year.

Entry filed under: Kids say the darndest things, My life as a mom, Ryan in the middle, Working mom. Tags: , .

Theo Tams – My Canadian Idol He’s so dramatic

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sexy Mom  |  September 17, 2008 at 2:06 am

    even if they die–these flowers have served their purpose, they have adorned the house, they have made you happy. too bad, it will be winter again,

    Reply
  • 2. Kyels  |  September 17, 2008 at 8:18 am

    The flowers were there for a purpose – to beautify your house and besides you like them so it does not hurt to just plant them over the summer.
    πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 3. bw  |  September 17, 2008 at 9:19 am

    In my opinion cereal is the healthiest breakfast young kids could have coz its loaded with vitamins and minerals. I have cereals for breakfast tooπŸ™‚ Add fruits and its even better.

    Same here, I wasted a lot of money on flowers, only to see them wilt a few months later😦 Time to brace for the cold !

    Reply
  • 4. pining  |  September 18, 2008 at 7:07 am

    that proverbial Filipino word “bahala ka”, always spoken in my household too, even my husband says it!
    that’s why sometimes it’s not a bad idea to have artificial flowers, it lasts a long time until they get trashed!

    Reply
  • 5. haze  |  September 18, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Hahaha I can see you do not have green thumbs like I do😦 ! I only have three kinds of plants but I don’t know if they will last. I hope so “wishful thinking” ! Husband would like to take the plant he offered to me on 2 years ago and was telling me that I don’t take care of it, naku eh dahon dahon lang naman at hindi naman sya namumulaklak, anong akala nya sa akin magician !

    Reply
  • 6. marc  |  September 20, 2008 at 11:50 am

    The question to ask is.. are you spending money on the flowers, or are you spending money on happiness?πŸ™‚

    If it’s the latter, then keep the flowers.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 7. Abaniko  |  September 20, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    LOL on the H, L and K. Your kid is a keen observer. Very smart, huh? And you haven’t even said that your bulaklak is mahalimuyak.

    Reply
  • 8. annamanila  |  September 28, 2008 at 6:55 am

    Yup, our language may really sound so weird to those not used to it. He could have also asked why we’re so fond of repeating syllables. Like kakaba-kaba ka ba? πŸ™‚ But tell him Pilipino is still beautiful and melodious, regardless ….

    Guilty also regarding flower and plant buying. But what the heck. It’s nice to come home to a house full of blossoms even for just a few months or weeks. Daughters might have understood that better. hehehe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


