n i c e h e a r t

A penny for your thoughts

Who says pennies are useless? I’ve read reports of pennies being abolished.

At home, we keep our pennies in this tin container. This is where my youngest son takes his pennies to put in his Penny Power bag. His catechism class has a Penny Power Project that encourages the students to bring pennies in a Ziploc bag every Saturday. The pennies collected from the school are then sent to the village of Loma Linda in El Salvador and help with the children’s schooling there.

Once in a while, I’d also dig in this container when money is tight. Like now. After spending a lot on tuition fees, school supplies and new clothes for the kids, I’m broke. It’s true what they say. After Christmas, school opening is the next most expensive season.

After rolling all those pennies, nickels and dimes, I counted $9.00. I’m bringing these to the bank tomorrow. That’s gonna make my purse heavy.

Would you just throw $9.00 away? That can buy us a gallon of milk and a loaf of bread.

That loose change will stay in the container until we can collect enough to roll them, or when I find myself broke again. :(

September 7, 2008 - Posted by | Roadblocks

9 Comments »

  1. I like that Penny Power Project Niceheart. It teaches children charity. You are right. I also keep all my change in a jar. Madami din yan after a few months.

    Comment by Toe | September 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. oh yes, keeping small change in a jar or a bottle is a good idea, like a piggy bank. when the bottle is full, i am kinda surprised–pera din pala

    Comment by Sexy Mom | September 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. do your bank charge you for changing coins? i was charged before. kainis!

    Comment by JO | September 8, 2008 | Reply

  4. No, the bank didn’t charge me at all. It’s probably because I am a client.

    Comment by niceheart | September 8, 2008 | Reply

  5. I keep my pennies too they’re useful. I buy bread, stamps and when I am out & need to photo copy something it helps a lot and practical because the machine needs .10 cents only :D !

    Comment by haze | September 9, 2008 | Reply

  6. that looks familiar :) we do that too, Niceheart.

    Comment by julie | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. we put ours in a tin as well, then when it’s full, we take it to the supermaket where they have a machine to change it into notes (coinstar), for a minimal charge.
    sweet of your yougest to give some to charity :-)

    Comment by pining | September 12, 2008 | Reply

  8. I keep my coins too – even the 1 cents which are hardly used b/c of its value. I have so many of them and at the end of day, those cents will go into the donation box b/c it will definitely make a difference for the ones in need.

    ;D

    Comment by Kyels | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  9. The tiny coins look so nice in the pictures. I wonder if they could be turned into bangles or buttons or whatever. I got a lot of five and 10 centavo coins at home and in the office which I don’t know what to do with. I hope some school launches a project like the one you described.

    Comment by annamanila | September 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

