Feeling the pinch

May 25, 2008 at 8:49 pm 22 comments

I don’t think that the price of gas is going down. I’ve been hearing people complaining not just about the price of gas but also the price of almost everything.

Ma-ann from work said that her usual $20.00 a week of gas is not enough anymore.

Libay was also complaining to me on Friday. She and her husband went grocery shopping on Thursday night at Superstore. She spent $75.00 and they only had three bags of groceries. And they didn’t even buy any meats.

I told her that I’ve also been noticing that my grocery bills are going up by the week.

And I was in total shock when I reached the Oriental aisle of Superstore on Saturday to check out the price of rice. Because it went up a few weeks ago.

We consume one bag of this eight-kilo bag of Rooster brand rice per week. About five years ago, a bag of this rice cost about $6.98 and it used to be a ten-kilo bag. Later on, the price went up to $7.98. It stayed there for quite a while. But after some time, the ten kilos became eight kilos, at the same price. It stayed at eight kilos but the price went up to $8.98. It’s been like that for I guess over a year now. And then a few weeks ago, I was surprised that it went up to $10.98. But what can I do? We eat rice everyday. Gotta buy it. And my jaw dropped yesterday when I saw the new price. It shot up to $15.98. Que horror! I checked out the other brands just to compare. The prices are the same. I had no intention of switching brands anyway. We like this brand. It just cooks right.

What about you? Are you also feeling the pinch?

Entry filed under: Food, Roadblocks. Tags: .

Queen Victoria, The Coward, and The Kite Runner Watching Indiana Jones

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyels  |  May 25, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Yes, albeit I don’t do heavy shopping, I can also feel the pinch. I can’t cook in my pad b/c of certain reasons ( irresponsible housemates ) so I eat out almost every day. Food prices went up especially rice and bread. It’s hitting on us slowly. I do hope that they will try and do something about this food crisis b/c it has killed those living in poverty.

    Reply
  • 2. Wil  |  May 26, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Gas is about $4/gallon here but my car gets good mileage kaya ok lang. I’m just by myself so grocery bills aren’t so bad. I prefer Jasmine rice, btw.

    Reply
  • 3. Abaniko  |  May 26, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Rice these days are getting more expensive. I guess I have to lessen my rice consumption to avoid overspending. Diet na lang muna. Hehe.

    Reply
  • 4. Shoshana  |  May 26, 2008 at 10:33 am

    The gas price is annoying because it doesn’t not translate to higher wages. Everything is up except wages.

    Reply
  • 5. JO  |  May 26, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    oh yes, i am feeling the high price! one full tank of gas for my civic is approx $60+ already.

    and 18kg sack of rice that used to be $15 when on sale, is now at $22!

    Reply
  • 6. Belle  |  May 26, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    with two kids i am sending to college, yes, i am very much feeling the pinch. not just with gas and rice, but with bills, gas bill especially. what is the world coming into nowadays?

    Reply
  • 7. haze  |  May 27, 2008 at 3:03 am

    I think it’s all over the world. To fight against this I do my groceries to a store that’s more cheaper with the same quality. Normally I go to Auchan which is becoming really expensive. I then compared prices and changed my habits. Now I go to ED (European discounts) and I can see the BIG difference, cheaper with almost the same quality.

    Reply
  • 8. lou tuazon siddique  |  May 27, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    yes, its all over the the world. here in dubai the cost of rice went up also by 100 percent. before 5 kilos of jasmine rice from thailand cost 17.50 dirhams now went up to 35 dirhams. Thats why i need to change the brand from jasmine rice to egyptian rice.

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  May 27, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Actually Haze, Superstore has the cheapest prices here. And still they can’t help but raise the price of rice.

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  May 27, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Hi ‘Insan. So it’s happening there pala. But what’s with the sudden increase in the price of rice???? Considering that it’s one of the staples for most people.

    Reply
  • 11. ryan_b  |  May 27, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    15.95 is que horror indeed😦 When the price of oil goes up, every darn thing goes up ! Price of gas is ludicrously high and I heard on radio that it is expensive to ship goods from China nowadays and they will be cheaper if manufactured in Canada ! A bit of good news – if you’re looking for one😦

    Reply
  • 12. bugsybee  |  May 28, 2008 at 10:51 am

    I take the taxi everywhere – to school, groceries, mall, etc. And although they have not yet increased the flag-down rate (30 pesos), I know that it’s getting harder and harder for taxi drivers to make ends meet so I voluntarily add ten pesos per trip and … ouch! I wonder why nobody is actively campaigning for us to start riding bicycles again. No gas needed, more exercise, no pollution!

    Reply
  • 13. Jayred  |  May 29, 2008 at 6:45 am

    Hi, Niceheart.

    Well, I’ve been feeling the pinch since I came here in Switzerland (LOL). The prices here are outrageous. Last month, I received the dental bill (dental fillings — one major filling and two minor ones). We had tp pay almost USD1,200.00!

    My brother, who came here for a visit last April, was shocked when he had to pay around USD75.00 for fastfood meals for three people at a self-service restaurant.

    Talking about rice, I remember buying a small sack of rice (10 kilos) here for USD35.00 per sack. Presyong kaibigan na raw yun since I bought it from a co-member of our church.

    So, I guess I can say nasanay na ako sa taas ng presyo in most things.🙂

    Meanwhile, my sister said life is getting harder in the Philippines. Prices of everything are soaring, yet salaries remain the same.😦

    Reply
  • 14. bingskee  |  May 29, 2008 at 9:54 am

    who’s not feeling the pinch??

    the first time i bought the car, P700 lang full tank na!

    inom dami, kain konti, busog, goes a Chines adage ha ha

    Reply
  • 15. bw  |  May 29, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Prices tend to go up when price of oil goes up. It is good that here inflation is kept low and steady and things and it’s not that bad across the board
    ( yet) but people think about long driving on weekends because of the silly gas prices.

    Reply
  • 16. annamanila  |  May 31, 2008 at 12:03 am

    We in Pinas are feeling the pinch — and how. I sometimes just walk around the store — letting myself go numb. If I let myself think, I won’t be able to buy anything anymore.

    Anyway, what I usually do is instead of buying, for example, my usual kilo of beef (grabe P300 + na), I would buy 800 grams na lang instead. And just put a lot of patatas and carrots. But then price of veggies also keep going up.

    What to do do?

    Reply
  • 17. Leah  |  May 31, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    All prices going up except our salaries? It cant keep up with all these price hikes. It costs me $50 to fill up my car and , and it was only $40 a year ago. I can only imagine when it will rise to $2 per liter of gas. Aww! and yes, my grocery shopping bills have increased to.

    Reply
  • 18. pining  |  June 1, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    ay naku, lahat nagtaasan na talaga. And we only have one source of income coming in, so we really have to keep a tight rein on our budget

    Reply
  • 19. Joy  |  June 2, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Feeling the pinch here in Cali too! Ugh! I was just at the grocery store earlier and bought my usual week’s supplies of produce and meats. What used to cost me around $20-$30 is now $40+! Yikes!

    Reply
  • 20. ann  |  June 2, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Hello Irene! Just came back from pinas. Hindi ko napansin yung ibang prices sa atin pero nanibago lang kami sa gasoline dahil dito eh $.12/ltr compared sa pinas na Php50/liter na.

    Reply
  • 21. Sexy Mom  |  June 3, 2008 at 6:39 am

    yes, in fact, we are holding an emergency family meeting–since our household is so big, with 6 children in school. see this: http://dine.racoma.com.ph/musings/emergency-family-meeting-agenda-price-increase-what-to-do/

    Reply
  • 22. jia  |  July 6, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Thanks for the great post. It is always helpful to hear what others have to say on the matter. I would like ot invite you to read my blog of a live journal of my personal story and hope it brings as much as your story brought to me. Thanks again.
    http://pdxneverneverland.today.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


