Watching the jazz man play

May 3, 2008 at 8:15 pm 1 comment

This was originally posted in my other blog on May 3, 2008.

Since the jazz man started university, I haven’t had the chance to watch him perfom. It’s not that he hasn’t been playing his flute. Because, he is, since he’s taking a Music course with a major in Jazz Performance. But it’s not like High School anymore where they have concerts at school and some other venue where the parents are invited. He performs at the university and there was this one Saturday night when they had an event and I told him that I might be able to watch him. But he said that there were tickets that were sold and that it’s like a kind of dance thingy.

Also most Monday nights, he hangs out with his friends at this little Italian restaurant and he plays jazz with his friends sometimes. There was also this one time when he performed at a cultural centre here in the city. I planned to go that Tuesday night even if I had to leave my two youngest sons at home alone, but that was a really busy day because my middle guy had a basketball game that day. And the jazz man didnโ€™t think that I should watch his performance because he said that his group was not that prepared and they were performing in this sort of night club thingy and that he had other upcoming performances that I could watch anyway.

And so when that other performance night came, I made sure that I made it there. It was also on a Tuesday night. They had this thing called Mardi Jazz. It was on the second floor of that cultural centre and it was indeed set up like a night club. The jazz man played with his group in the second part of the show. They played several Latin and Jazz pieces. There were five of them at the front playing the flute, trombone, trumphet and saxes and another four at the back on the guitars, drums and keyboard. They also had lady singers and it was just a fun night. I took a couple of pictures and I wish I had recorded at least one of the songs in my digicam. Either one of the familiar tunes or his duet with Danny on the sax. He’s gotten a lot better since high school and he played with such an emotion. But I was kind of shy because I didn’t see anybody else videotaping it. Half of the audience were senior people, probably grandparents of the performers. My mother also came that night to watch him. I was really surprised to see her there even though my son already told me that she was coming. Because if you know my mother, you’ll know that she doesn’t stay up that late. The show went on until almost 11:00 p.m. and it was almost midnight when we got home.

Last weekend, the jazz man also played at this restaurant called Rembrandts Bistro. It’s outside the perimeter and since we have to drive him out there, I told the husband that since he would be playing at 6:30 at night, let’s bring the two younger boys and let’s all have dinner there. The jazz man warned me that the food is expensive. He checked out the website. Oh, that’s okay, I said. It’s just this one time.

We drove out there last Saturday night for half an hour. It was a fancy restaurant. There were these two senior guys who the jazz man was playing with at the balcony. The jazz man’s university friend was supposed to sing that night but she couldn’t make it. So she asked the jazz man if he could play with them instead. He got paid, so that was good. But what I paid for the food was more than what he got.๐Ÿ™‚ But that’s okay. That’s his money anyway. And the kids didn’t care much for the food. Okay, they didn’t like it. They said that we should have just gone to McDonald’s.๐Ÿ™‚

Well, anyway, we also stayed at the balcony. We were the only ones there aside from the musicians. The owner was kind enough to let us stay there so we can watch our son. And our server was very nice and I now realize that it was more of a hassle for him going up the stairs from the kitchen to serve us up there. I only took one shot while they were playing. Now looking back, I feel bad that I didn’t record at least one of the songs they played. I really enjoyed “The Girl From Ipanema” with accompaniment of the flute. Well, maybe next time.

But you know what, I enjoyed watching him better without a video camera in my hand. Because in the past, I couldn’t concentrate on just watching him when I had the camcorder in my hand. I’d be minding where to sit to get a good angle and when to zoom in or out. And I’d be wondering how the video will appear on youtube and if I can post it in my blog.๐Ÿ™‚

Entry filed under: Reggie and his music. Tags: , .

Missing the little booger Queen Victoria, The Coward, and The Kite Runner

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. niceheart  |  June 4, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    These are the comments from the original posting:

    11 Comments

    ybmasdal wrote on May 4

    It’s nice to see that the Jazz Man has some gigs nowadays, and I hope there’d be many more in the coming weeks. Who knows, he might just hit it well with jazz music and enter it professionally. It could be just as fulfilling as any career path, or even more so. — Major Tom

    niceheart wrote on May 4

    Thanks, major tom. That’s actually his dream, to be a professional jazz flutist.๐Ÿ™‚

    tm6997 wrote on May 4

    I also feel uncomfortable if I’m the only one recording a performance. Just yesterday, I was at a cafe and I heard an interesting band play, but I didn’t record b/c I would be the only one doing so. I’m too self-conscious, I guess. hehe

    liwayway07 wrote on May 4

    buti ka pa napapanood mo ang performance ng anak mo sa college. me, i haven’t been to any of her college performances kasi i live quite a ways from the university. with his determination, passion, and excellence, without a doubt that he will do well in chosen field. next time, don’t mind about what people would think, just record it. unless it is forbidden.

    belle (simplybelle)

    sipining wrote on May 5

    wow, at least he makes good use of his talent, and earning a bit on the side. I think he’ll go far๐Ÿ™‚
    The very best of luck to the jazzman!
    and love this new home of yours btw๐Ÿ™‚
    xPiningx

    niceheart wrote on May 5

    Wil, when he was still in high school kasi, there would always be at least one other parent who would be videotaping their kid, so I felt comfortable doing it also.

    niceheart wrote on May 5

    Belle, I guess I have one more thing to be grateful for him staying to go to school here. Hayaan mo, next time, I won’t mind the other people. I’ll just record when I feel like it.๐Ÿ™‚

    niceheart wrote on May 5

    Thank you pining. This is not actually a new home. I think I will be switching between wordpress and here. I’m not comfortable posting their pictures anymore kasi at my wordpress blog.

    liwayway07 wrote on May 11

    happy mother’s day! hope you have a good one!

    bwzone wrote on May 14

    Impressive ! Looks like your boy is getting to be a serious musician ! Congrats๐Ÿ™‚

    niceheart wrote on May 14

    Thanks, bw. And yes, he is really serious about it.๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


