Missing the little booger

April 24, 2008 at 11:34 pm 21 comments

It’s my middle guy’s turn to go away on a band trip. They’re going to Edmonton and staying there for four days.

On Monday morning, I let his dad drive him to school alone. That’s where they were to board their buses that would bring them to Alberta. I didn’t go because I still had to get ready for work. I didn’t shed a tear. Surprise, surprise. But I knew that I was going to miss him.

For those of you who have known me on-line for quite a while now, you probably know how I get emotional whenever my oldest son would go away on these trips. It must be true what blogger moms Belle and Noemi have told me that it gets easier each time. But this is the first time that this child has gone away. And I question myself, for just a second naman, why I didn’t cry. Is it because this is the one that always gives me a hard time? But even though, it doesn’t mean that I love him less. No, I don’t think so. And if I think about it, I always get concerned for this one and I make sure that he doesn’t feel neglected, him being the middle child. But this one wants to be left alone most of the time. And he seems happier being left alone, so I just let him be most of the time.

And also, looking back now, these last few years that my oldest son had to go on these trips, I would always go to see him off. But that’s because I was working at home and I had the time to spare. That’s also probably why I would get emotional, I had all the time at home to think about it. But now, I am working at the office and there are people around me and we’re busy at work and I don’t really have the time to think that much of it.

But even though I didn’t cry this time, I did miss the little booger. I know that his little brother also missed him. Somehow it seemed quieter in the house without him. I thought of him a lot while he was gone.

And speaking of boogers, I remember the time when I discovered the wall on his side of the bed got dotted with his boogers. It was so gross. I called it his wall of boogers. It was hard wiping off those dried boogers. And I told him that if he did that again, he’d have to clean it up himself. I also discovered that he’d wipe his boogers on the wall behind his chair in the kitchen. But I nipped it in the bud.

At around noon today, when I was at work, I called his dad to remind him that his son’s coming back at around 2:30 p.m. and please go to school to pick him up before that time. At around 2:00 p.m., I tried to call the school to confirm if they were arriving on time. Because it snowed this morning and I didn’t know what the highway condition was and I was worried that they might be delayed. But the line was busy. I thought that maybe the other parents were also trying to call. I kind of got frustrated when my call couldn’t get through and I started to get choked up. Delayed reaction? I was missing my kid and was anxious and excited to hear from him and I wanted to make sure that he gets home safely. I called home at 2:45 p.m. I talked to his dad. Yes, he is back home safely. The students arrived on time. Is he tired, I asked him. He is upstairs, he said. Okay then, I’ll talk to him when I get home.

He was sleeping when I got home at 5:30 p.m. I tried to wake him up at supper time. But he just changed position in bed. He must be really tired. They left Edmonton at 9:00 p.m. last night. He probably didn’t get any sleep in the bus at all.

It’s now 10:00 p.m. and he’s still in bed and hasn’t eaten yet. But that’s okay. My little booger’s back home.

Entry filed under: My life as a mom. Tags: .

One Fine Sunday Watching the jazz man play

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wil  |  April 25, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Well, at least he’s keeping his nose clean. hehe.

    Re your nickname for him, I thought you meant “bugger” instead of “booger” (e.g. I miss the little bugger). I’ve never heard of calling someone booger.

    Reply
  • 2. Kyels  |  April 26, 2008 at 4:06 am

    The nickname sounds really cute!

    (:

    All parents will miss their child even though the trip is only for a few days. Happens.

    Reply
  • 3. sesame  |  April 26, 2008 at 5:21 am

    Reminds me of a phase when my son was eating his booger! I’m glad he’s past that now…

    Reply
  • 4. kathy  |  April 27, 2008 at 6:22 am

    Hahah, so that’s why you called him your “little booger.”😀 I wonder how I’d feel should my little one go out on her own. Not anytime soon, but someday….🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Daphne  |  April 27, 2008 at 6:55 am

    hehehe funny nickname for your middle son.

    At first I misread and thought you wrote missing the little blogger😀

    Reply
  • 6. Belle  |  April 27, 2008 at 9:41 am

    hehehe, how does he react when you call him little booger? yup, same experience here with the second child. i didn’t cry either, and it was much easier to leave her off at the college dorm. and she likes to be left alone, too. she never showed me her homework, whereas the the older one did most of the time.

    Reply
  • 7. haze  |  April 27, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    LOL Booger ! Sit back and relax Niceheart😀 your son is sharing his music and talent to the whole world ! We parents miss our kids whenever they are out even for a short time, so I can imagine how you miss your little booger !

    I don’t know why my kids are eating their booger😦 ! I just hope it will end !!!

    Reply
  • 8. bw  |  April 28, 2008 at 9:27 am

    I’m sure you love the “little booger” like any of your sons🙂 Nothing serious with the name as long as you keep it within the family🙂

    Well, if you didn’t cry it doesn’t mean you love him less. Perhaps this time you’ve become a stronger mom and congrats hehe🙂

    Did it snow? It’s almost may. Are you serious ? Ouch🙂

    Reply
  • 9. kevin in bellingham  |  April 28, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I have to young ones so I can only imagine how its going to feel watching them leave hoping the will be just fine. the booger thing is awesome, were pretty open about our boogers as well.

    Reply
  • 10. bing  |  April 29, 2008 at 8:49 am

    it must be that the trust has developed. this lessens the worry. 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Major Tom  |  April 30, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    I am sure he is in for really grand time in this travel, just like his big brother. Way to go for him.

    Reply
  • 12. zeroimpact  |  May 9, 2008 at 11:17 am

    No matter what, parents love their child all the same
    I’m sure he knows it too.
    I think you have a very musical family there🙂

    Reply
  • 13. annamanila  |  May 9, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    In a sense my daughter who is a medical intern has left. It takes getting used to and in two years I guess I have. And it makes her every other weekend with us (sometimes fewer and more inbetween) so much the precious. Pero sa tutuo ang gulo gulo nya pag dating and I get hyper. No, she doesn’t erect a wall of boogers but a mountain of books, clothes clean or not so clean, notions and whatnots.

    These experiences are what precious motherhood is all about, ha, nice heart?

    Reply
  • 14. JO  |  May 10, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    Reply
  • 15. eric aka senor enrique  |  May 10, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Whoa! So the middle one’s in a band, too. Cool🙂

    Happy Mother’s Day, Irene!

    Reply
  • 16. Sexy Mom  |  May 10, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    no matter how many they are, it still gets emotional when they get away even for a few days.

    happy mother’ day!

    Reply
  • 17. pining  |  May 11, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Hi niceheart!
    Happy Mothers day🙂

    Reply
  • 18. Leah  |  May 11, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day ! I’m sure your little boogers gave you a nice day to remember.

    Reply
  • 19. annamanila  |  May 19, 2008 at 10:13 am

    You have not been updating? Busy. Hope you’re otherwise a-okay, NH!

    Reply
  • 20. bluep  |  May 28, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    hello nice heart.

    I read from TOE that you are from Quezon province din?

    baka gusto mo sumali sa min. we are organizing a group called KABATAQ or Kapisanan ng mga Blogistang taga Quezon). the registration link is here. we will be happy if you can join us as one of the pioneers.

    here is the link.

    http://bluepanjeet.net/pipol/kabataq-kapisanan-ng-mga-blagistang-taga-quezon/

    God Bless

    Reply
  • 21. Toe  |  August 13, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Aaah shucks, what a sweet post!🙂 Character talaga ‘yang Little Booger mo ha… imagine a wall of boogers… hahaha!🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


