One Fine Sunday

April 12, 2008 at 3:02 pm 19 comments

One fine Sunday after lunch, we were all still at the table eating our fruits and watching basketball on the small TV in the kitchen.  Yes, we do have a TV in the kitchen and we usually watch TV while having our meal.  I know some parents will smirk at that but it works for us.  It’s sort of multi-tasking in these very busy lives of ours.  We get to watch our favourite shows while having our meal.  Besides, the shows can be a great source of topics for us parents and these kids who won’t usually open up anymore when you ask them how’s school or what did you do at school today. 

Okay, so back to the game. The Houston Rockets were playing against the San Antonio Spurs.  This guy Finley made a long shot from the side. 

“That’s only two points? ” I asked my middle son, who’s the basketball fanatic. 

“Yeah,” he said. 

“I thought that would be a three-pointer. ”

“No, because you see that arc?  He’s still inside it.” 

“Oh, okay.  Now I get it.”

Then this other guy came on.  “Manu Ginobili,” I read from the TV. 

“That’s not how you say his name, mommy.  It’s Gi-no-bli.”

“It sounds like Italian.  But I don’t think it’s Spanish.  What country is he from? “

“I’m not telling. “

“Well, I’m gonna google it.”

And then the husband chimed in, “Argentina,” he said. 

“Yes, finally,” said my middle guy.

And then I saw Tony Parker.  I said, “I know that guy.  He’s married to Eva Longoria, one of the Desperate Housewives.” 

“I know mommy, you already told me that. ”  That’s my middle son again.

“And did you know that he speaks French? “

“Yes, because he’s from France.  Oh my gosh!”

“Oh, yeah, ) now I remember him saying that in an interview.”

And then he threw his head at the back of the chair, as if in frustration.  And my eyes grew wide at what I discovered.

“Oh Ryan, you already have an Adam’s apple.  I saw a bump there on your neck.  Let me see it again.”

“No.  . . . .  So that’s what it’s called?”

“Yes, men get to have it.  Kuya Reggie has one too.”

“He does?” 

And he flashed this smile that looks like he was proud to be a man now.  And I think I felt a sense of relief there.  He must have been wondering why he got that bump on his neck.

“I can’t remember now when I first noticed your kuya’s Adam’s apple,” I continued.  “But I still remember when his voice changed.  I thought he had a cold.  When I asked him, he answered me in this big deep voice.”

“How old was he?”

“I think he was 13 or 14.”

And he flashed another smile.  He’s at that age now.  

Now my youngest son joined in the conversation:

“You know that team we were watching last night, mommy, was it Xavier (Sa-vier)? ” 

We were watching the college basketball the previous night.

“Yeah. “

“I know a boy at school with that name.”

“You know, in the Philippines we would say that name as Javier (Ha-vier).  That’s also how you would say it in Spanish.” 

“Mommy, why are there a lot of Spanish names in the Philippines?”

“Because Spain colonized the Philippines for many years.”

“What does that mean?”

“That means Spanish people lived in the Philippines and they even ruled the country. ”

And then my 13-year old interrupted. 

“They’re called Spaniards, mommy, not Spanish.”

“Well, I know that.  But I’m trying to explain it to your brother and I want to use words that he can understand.”

And then my youngest son said, “I know they’re called Spaniards mommy. He he he. ”

So there you go. 

And then the youngest one asked me who discovered the Philippines. 

“His name was Ferdinand Magellan.  I think he was a Spaniard and he was sent by the king of Spain.”
 
“So who discovered Canada?
 ” I asked him back.  “Tell me.  Because I didn’t learn about Canada when I was still in school.”

And the two boys interrupted each other in telling me.

“Oh, I know,” started the 10-year old. “We learned that in Social Studies.  I can’t remember his name.  But I think he was named after a river.”

“A river was named after him,” corrected the 13-year old

“He was trying to find spices in China,” continued the 10-year old.

“They discovered that the world is round,” interrupted the 13-year old.

“But then he wanted to do a shortcut.”  That’s the youngest one.

“And instead of going east, he went west.”  That’s my middle guy.

“And then he discovered Canada,”  finished the youngest one. 

“Oh, now I think that Magellan was also looking for spices.”  That’s me. 

So now you see how a game of basketball started this conversation.  And before any of you history buffs give me a hard time, I googled Magellan the next day and found out that he was Portuguese and I told the kids of my mistake. 

And it doesn’t end there.  Here’s more.  When it was just the two of us at the table that fine afternoon, I caught my 10-year old son touching his neck.  I couldn’t help but smile.

“Mommy, do I have an Adam’s apple?”

“Not yet, Ryland.  When you get a little older.”

“When I’m a teen-ager?”

“Yes.”

“When I am at puberty?”

I was surprised that he already knows that word.  “Yes,” I said.  )

Entry filed under: My life as a mom, Raising the 3Rs.

Spring melt down Missing the little booger

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyels  |  April 12, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Kids learn a lot really fast and it’s fun to see them growing up!

    🙂

    Reply
  • 2. JO  |  April 12, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    naku… it seems that ryland wants to be an adult na… baka naman may GF na?

    Reply
  • 3. Abaniko  |  April 12, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    From basketball to Adam’s Apple to Spain and back to Adam’s apple and all those stuff. Dami nyong napapagkwentuhan ah. Nakakapanood pa ba kayo properly ng TV nya? Hehe.

    Reply
  • 4. Gypsy  |  April 13, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I felt like I was eavesdropping in a family conversation. Hehe. Sounds like my family when I was growing up, a TV right in front of the dining table and conversation around it. Fun memories!

    Reply
  • 5. Daphne  |  April 14, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Great conversation with your sons 🙂 It’s good too you corrected them after you googled about Magellan hehe

    Reply
  • 6. bugsybee  |  April 15, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Hi Niceheart! Sorry I’ve not been here for the longest time. School kept me busy but it sure is nice to drop by and be able to “listen” on a family conversation.

    That Magellan is a Spaniard is a common mistake but I’m glad you were able to make the correction. I also like Manu but I’ve not been able to watch him play lately.

    When my dad was still around and we were still in school, he frowned on watching TV during meals so we were all compelled to listen to HIS music – classical and Spanish music (this actually helped improve my Spanish because I’d ask him the meaning of the lyrics to some songs). It is only today, when my dad’s been 7 years gone and my siblings already have families of their own, when we have voiced out our appreciation of the compulsory classical music played during mealtime. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Toe  |  April 15, 2008 at 10:33 am

    What a fine Sunday indeed! I really like this post Niceheart. We also watch TV during meals and my husband would often teach me about sports… then we’d go on to other topics.

    Your children are very intelligent. And it’s really nice that you all get to talk as a family. Cute talaga si Ryland.. feeling his Adam’s apple. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. rhodora  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:11 am

    I think I will place a tv in our dining room too. Scenario kasi sa amin, pag kakain na, they will get food then bring their plates in the living room to watch tv while eating. Hay, naku, they started doing this only when they grew up na. When they were kids, well behaved pa, masunurin pa sa magulang., so all of us would eat together on the dining table, with each child taking turns to say the grace before meals. … 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. julie  |  April 17, 2008 at 11:53 am

    I guess watching TV during mealtime bridges that conversation gap since you all have a common topic. Your boys are smart, Niceheart 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. bw  |  April 17, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Entertaining conversations at the dinner table 🙂 Your sons are growing up and becoming adults. In due time they would be moving out… ahh life.. and how time flies 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Belle  |  April 19, 2008 at 1:10 am

    when i am around my kids, i like to goof with them. sometimes, i would deliberately mispronounce the name/word and they both would laugh hard and correct me.

    i bet, Ryland was thrilled to know that he is binata na. and they are fun to converse with.

    Reply
  • 12. SexyMom  |  April 19, 2008 at 6:49 am

    a fine sunday, indeed, to be able to talk, agree, disagree, simply to be together.

    just dropping by to say hello, i have been out of circulation for a while, as i have been busy. hope all’s well with you and family.

    Reply
  • 13. tutubi  |  April 20, 2008 at 8:22 am

    how about me? i have a highly noticeable “tutubi” apple 😛

    Reply
  • 14. eric aka senor enrique  |  April 21, 2008 at 2:47 am

    The new generation, you’d be surprised to know, no longer have the usual Spanish names. They’re mostly westernized names and with unusual ways of spelling to boot.

    Your boys are surely growing up fast 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. pining  |  April 22, 2008 at 11:20 am

    believe me niceheart, if I have a big kitchen I’ll put a tv in there too 🙂
    interesting conversation with your kids, my eldest is only 6 and my heart swells when he tells me stories 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Toe  |  April 26, 2008 at 3:18 am

    Oh, this is such a sweet post. My goodness… he sounds just like my brother… decorating his wall with boogers. 🙂 My brother is a booger too… but I always always miss him whenever we’re apart. I think people like that really have such personalities that affect us so.

    Reply
  • 17. Toe  |  April 26, 2008 at 3:20 am

    Oops, sorry… the last comment was for the booger post and not for this one. 🙂

    But this post… this is really great and interesting family bonding! I think it doesn’t matter if the TV is on or not.. what is important is that you all dine together and engage in such wonderful memorable lively discussions.

    Reply
  • 18. annamanila  |  May 9, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    I enjoyed “eavesdropping” on your breakfast conversation. Kids get their liberal education that way. Ang moms too. 🙂
    My own trouble, as far as my kids who are no longer kids see, is how I never know how to pronounce “new” words and restaurants and stuff right. It took me a long time to unsay pichapie. hehehe Now how do you know how to pronounce Smints or Sbarro or smore and the like.

    Reply
  • 19. Pavliga  |  August 15, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Yay! Interesting.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories