Changes

January 31, 2008 at 9:46 pm 24 comments

It’s been ten weeks now since I went back to work.  Not that I haven’t been working at home for the last six years.  I meant going back to work at the office.

It seems that the ten weeks went by just like that but at the same time, a lot of changes have happened to me.  And there are times when I feel like it’s been years since I last worked at home.

Changes – I mean in and out.

As a start, I lost ten pounds and four inches, on the waist, where else do you think? 🙂 I should be happy about that eh?  In a way, I am.  Because I really wanted to lose the weight.  But I guess the circumstances that brought about the weight loss were not ideal.

“Cause you’re not eating,” Michelle said when I showed her how loose my pants were.  Of course I’m eating, but not as much as she does.  Just because I stay at my desk at lunch doesn’t mean that I’m not eating.  Well, I did stop eating junk food, which Michelle does at her desk.  :)  Peace, Michelle.  :)  Okay, maybe I’m not eating a full meal at lunch.  But I’m eating my fruits, a muffin or something else and I drink my juice.

“Cause you’re stressed,” Talits said.  I think that’s mainly the reason why.

Michelle and Talits are two of the friends who have been very supportive as I try to deal with a personal crisis that I have to go through.

And of course, another reason was my two jobs.  I was working seven days a week and my weekend job was physically demanding.  I was up on my feet and I did a lot of walking during my shifts.  The key word here is WAS.  I quit that job after two months.  Not only was the pay low, even with the Sunday premium, but it has been hard on my family especially my youngest son, who missed me so much.

As I said to Libs, “I think I only took that job to avoid the man on the weekends.”  To which she added, “You can’t run away from your problems.”  I knew that.

As I look back now, I think it was a very silly reason because not only did it not help the relationship, but it hurt the children as well since I wasn’t around that much.  And I think I really made a drastic change.  I was at home for six years and I started my second job almost at the same time that I went back to work at the office.  It was just too hard on the kids.

So, I finally had the Saturday night and Sunday off last weekend.  I went to buy me some new pants.  I was wearing a size 10 just last week and they looked really baggy on me.  Now I’m wearing a size 6!  And I thought that I only went down two sizes.  How about that huh?  And I was already feeling good about myself until I told Chat about it and I found out that she sometimes wears a size four.  I still love you Chat.  :)  But I’m happy with size 6.  That’s my normal size.

And yeah, that problem that I was trying to run away from, I’ve already faced and dealt with.  It wasn’t easy.  It took a lot out of me emotionally.  But I did.

So am I a changed person now?  I think I’m slowly changing.  And that’s partly because the man’s starting to change, too.

Entry filed under: Roadblocks, Working mom. Tags: .

Basketball clip – CP vs JP Going anonymous

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. noemi  |  February 1, 2008 at 9:18 am

    I remember my kids didn’t want me to work out of home. I recall an entry you had where you always wanted to lose weight. That’s the silver lining of working out of home. Hope you take care.

    Reply
  • 2. Gypsy  |  February 1, 2008 at 11:52 am

    Congrats on both losing weight and facing the problem–both are obviously not the easiest stuff in life!;)

    Reply
  • 3. orange  |  February 1, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    wow! 10 pounds is a lot! congrats

    Reply
  • 4. backpacking philippines  |  February 1, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    congrats on your achievement. it’s not easy for other people

    Reply
  • 5. foobarph  |  February 1, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    This is for our valentine blogging activity! Have fun posting your own date of date of birth, together with the name of your love one on the first string! See my whole post and comment for more information. Have fun! (year of birth not included! ^^)

    http://foobarph.wordpress.com/2008/02/02/days-of-love/

    Reply
  • 6. Daphne  |  February 2, 2008 at 1:33 am

    Congrats on losing weight and facing your problem head on.

    Good luck as I know there are still challenges ahead for you in terms of keeping the weight permanently off and your personal problems na rin.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Eva  |  February 2, 2008 at 2:52 am

    Hi! I like your blog. It is so neat and i enjoyed reading it. hanggang sa uulitin. Dalaw ako ulit dito.

    Reply
  • 8. Eva  |  February 2, 2008 at 2:54 am

    Hi! mali pala ang link na naibigay ko…sensya na. sa uulitin.

    Reply
  • 9. Kyels  |  February 2, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    10 pounds?!

    Wow, that is really good.

    I’m glad that you’ve managed to solve the personal crisis; it often feels good when you’ve managed to extract everything out from the closet and lay them on the table and try to omit them one by one.

    HUGS!

    (:

    Reply
  • 10. sesame  |  February 3, 2008 at 1:04 am

    I like the sound of the last para…a relationship needs both to work on it. Good that you’ve stopped running away and trying to work things out instead. And nice to learn that you’ve lost unwanted weight along the way.

    Reply
  • 11. SexyMom  |  February 3, 2008 at 8:53 am

    i understand you have been through so many things, and these are lessons learnt through the years. some positive things have come out of it, like the physical and emotional changes. God bless you always, my dear.

    Reply
  • 12. Wil  |  February 3, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Avoiding junk food will definitely help in weight loss. I can’t remember the last time I was in a McDonald’s. But stress can also lead to weight loss. although some people eat more when they’re stressed. I guess it depends on the person.

    I once had two jobs also: one selling sporting goods and one at a law office doing miscellaneous things. I also quit the sales job after a few months.

    Reply
  • 13. bw  |  February 4, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Good to hear that you’ve decided to give yourself a break. A balanced work and family life is always best so you don’t end up fully stressed.

    My wife also did the same thing, reduced her working hours so she can have more time with family. So far it works out great. I’m the breadwinner and I want her to look at work as something that eliminates her boredom and not to break her back to meet the family’s needs. Fortunately she isn’t one of those die hard career women although she’s pretty good with her job with promising career. Now she has to lose weight ….🙂

    Reply
  • 14. verns  |  February 4, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    I guess I’m one of those people who lose weight because of stress…too bad I’m not stressed right now..err…that sounded wrong.

    Seriously I’m glad things are doing better now Niceheart. I hope things will be consistent with the man…God bless.

    Reply
  • 15. haze  |  February 5, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Ups and downs are considered normal and healthy in a relationship. Challenges make us more a stronger couple. What matters most is after the rain there is sunshine😀 ! Bravo for losing weight, I needed that too, hay buhay ! Take care of yourself and do not skip lunch.

    Reply
  • 16. CM  |  February 6, 2008 at 5:28 am

    Well, it’s nice to hear that you’ve overcome your personal crisis!🙂 God bless ate!

    Reply
  • 17. ann  |  February 11, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Nice to hear about the relationship with your hubby.

    I also lost 10lbs noon sa pagod siguro, ngayon bumalik na rin kasi adjusted na ako.

    Reply
  • 18. Toe  |  February 11, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    I’ve been trying to lose 10 lbs. most of my life Niceheart. 🙂

    Don’t lose hope and pray a lot. Relationships are hard for us mere humans… we need God to help us make it work.

    Reply
  • 19. Bill, a winnipeg lawyer  |  February 15, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    You have a great website, look at mine if you want

    http://winnipeg-lawyer.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 20. Belle  |  February 15, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    buti ka pa you lost some pounds. me, i am still struggling.

    Reply
  • 21. bingskee  |  February 18, 2008 at 10:22 am

    i am happy for you, Irene. 🙂 God bless.

    Reply
  • 22. julie  |  February 24, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Losing weight because of a personal crisis is not a good way to lose weight. I wouldn’t mind losing weight although I have to admit, not the way you did yours. My apologies if this doesn’t sound nice to you.

    Regarding this: “So am I a changed person now? I think I’m slowly changing. And that’s partly because the man’s starting to change, too.”

    I heave a sigh of relief that you are hubby are coming to terms and I hope everything will be better from this. I wish you and your family well.

    Reply
  • 23. mac  |  March 5, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    losing weight and facing the problem together? good work and congrats..btw,your website is great

    Reply
  • 24. job  |  March 13, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    maintaining a best weight is quite difficult..so hopefully you can make it through..good luck🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


