Welcome to Winterpeg

December 23, 2007 at 9:04 pm 25 comments

I don’t see a lot of daylight now since I went back to work downtown.  It’s still dark when I leave at 7:10 in the morning and since I’ve been working overtime everyday, I usually leave work at around 5:00 to 6:00 at night and it’s already dark.  The only time I see daylight is on the weekends.  When I work overtime on a Saturday, I leave the house at 7:40 a.m.  That’s around daybreak.  I took these pictures this past weekend.  The first two were taken at Portage Avenue at 8:10 on Saturday morning.  We had quite a snowfall the night before.

winter on portage avenue

winter on portage avenue

More pictures after the snowfall.

This one is on our street.  I love this fence that the owner built around their house.

winterpeg 2007

The kids (my youngest son and my nephews and nieces) built this fort and tunnel in our backyard.

winterpeg 2007

This one’s the side of our house.  That pile of snow is starting to get higher.

winterpeg 2007 

Winterpeg, by the way, is the nickname coined to the city of Winnipeg because of its very cold and long winters.  Winters that usually start on October 31 and last up to April.  Winters in which temperature of minus 30 C is normal. 

Entry filed under: Winnipeg, Winter, Winterpeg. Tags: .

Sending Christmas cards The Serenity Prayer

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. niceheart  |  December 23, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Merry Christmas everyone. I hope you all have a nice one. I haven’t really done any bloghopping. Been too busy working two jobs and overtime on top of that. I don’t know when I’ll ever have time to visit your blogs. But you guys are in my thoughts especially this special time of the year. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Daphne  |  December 23, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    Merry Christmas to you and your family, Niceheart!🙂

    Reply
  • 3. eric aka senor enrique  |  December 23, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    Let it snow … let it snow … let it snow!

    Merry Christmas to you and your whole family, Irene!

    Reply
  • 4. sesame  |  December 24, 2007 at 2:20 am

    Merry X’mas and A Happy 2008 to you and your family. Take care!

    Reply
  • 5. haze  |  December 24, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Merry Christmas Niceheart & to the rest of the family! Don’t worry about bloghopping, there are many things that are important than blogging😀 ! You have to prioritize things in life ! If ever I will be working again in the future I would probably do the same.

    Reply
  • 6. ipanema  |  December 24, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    I love your new look!

    Oh, beautiful photos! Very cooolld!🙂

    A blessed , merry Christmas to you and your loved ones, niceheart!🙂

    Reply
  • 7. JO  |  December 25, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

    We didn’t have a white Christmas…

    Reply
  • 8. Belle  |  December 25, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Niceheart, I hope you found a way to have fun with your family on Christmas day despite your busy schedule.

    Nice photos, by the way.

    Reply
  • 9. Rach  |  December 26, 2007 at 5:55 am

    Lovely photos! I love the imagination of the kids.

    Hope you had a beautiful and memorable Christmas with your family. Wishing you a promising New Year.

    Reply
  • 10. manilenya  |  December 26, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    I don’t know if I can bear a -30 degrees and my aunty told me it’s with plus windshield that makes it close to -50? brrrrrr Ms Irene that is too cold for me.

    I can’t even go on window shopping, yun lang ang pinakalife ko rito😦

    merry christmas sayo!

    Reply
  • 11. bw  |  December 27, 2007 at 12:52 am

    Merry Christmas to you and your family🙂

    We didn’t have a White Christmas for the 2nd year in a row😎 Grrr… -30 deg !

    Reply
  • 12. Toe  |  December 27, 2007 at 4:33 am

    Winterpeg is a perfect name for that place. 🙂 But your kids are lucky.. when I was little, I used to dream to be able to play in the snow. 🙂 Ang ganda ng Portage Avenue.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family Niceheart! 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. watson  |  December 28, 2007 at 5:14 am

    Merry Christmas, Niceheart!

    Reply
  • 14. noemi  |  December 28, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    nice photos. We plan to have a white Christmas next year but it was so bad at my brother’s state that they moved to Florida. Snow turned into ice . But these photos are beautiful. Hope you have a Happy New Year🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Kyels  |  December 29, 2007 at 4:12 am

    Wow!

    I’ve love to experience winter one day. It sounds fun but the chill can bite.

    Anyway, how was your Christmas celebration?

    Reply
  • 16. Randilin  |  December 29, 2007 at 9:32 am

    Just tag surfing through the word Winnipeg, as a fellow Winnipeger I wanted to comment on how great the pictures you took look.

    Reply
  • 17. Belle  |  December 30, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    brrrrrrr!!! looks cold, niceheart. am not good at taking cold weather. but you took nice pictures!

    Happy New Year to you and your family.

    Reply
  • 18. CM  |  December 31, 2007 at 1:59 am

    it sure is cold there! merry christmas and happy new year ate!🙂

    Reply
  • 19. lazarus  |  January 1, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 20. Rey  |  January 1, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Wah! -30 degrees for more than five months! That’s too much snow for me.

    Merry Christmas, niceheart!

    Reply
  • 21. Rey  |  January 1, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Opps… What on earth was I thinking?

    I meant to say— HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

    …there.

    Reply
  • 22. Abaniko  |  January 2, 2008 at 9:09 am

    I think I’m going to die in your place after living there for a week. I can hardly stand extremely cold weather. But the snow looks lovely, huh? Happy New Year to you and your family, Niceheart!

    Reply
  • 23. rhodora  |  January 5, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Happy New Year to you and your family, Irene! Wishing you the best of 2008!🙂

    Reply
  • 24. chase  |  January 6, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Ooohh i love those pictures especially that I am a winter person.. I love the cold heheheh but now I just have to bear the heat in the tropics until I am back home!!! Happy New Year to you!

    Reply
  • 25. annamanila  |  January 11, 2008 at 4:40 am

    minus 30 degree .. ohmygoodness. I have experienced 10 degrees C in london … i thought i would die. I thank God for giving me a birthhome in the tropics.

    But the pictures are beautiful, Niceheart .. especially the first two.

    Hope you had a blast of a white christmas and may the new year bring you more love, happiness, and all your hearts’ desire.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


