Sending Christmas cards

December 11, 2007 at 8:44 pm 16 comments

 Christmas cards

I just finished mailing the last two of my Christmas cards today at lunch break – one to an uncle in Texas and another one to an aunt in Ontario.  I think they’ll still get it in time for Christmas.

I was late in mailing my Christmas cards this year.  I usually send them out during the last days of November or early days of December.  But I wasn’t feeling well at that time.  I’ve had this terrible headache two weekends ago.  And I only got the chance to sit down, write cards and insert pictures in the envelopes last week.  I sent them out to relatives and friends in the Philippines and one cousin in U.A.E. – a total of twelve envelopes.  I’m not sure if they’ll get them before Christmas but hey, it’s better late than never.

I know that people send e-cards and e-mails nowadays, but my aunts and uncles don’t have access to computers and the internet.  My friend, Empress, said that she doesn’t bother sending out cards anymore.  She’s much too busy and hasn’t got the time.  I’m also super busy especially of late, but I explained to her that it has become a ritual and I think sending out cards give that Christmas greeting a more personal touch.  Besides, my sister, who’s also here in Winnipeg, send cards to them.  Sure, she’s also busy with looking after the husband and seven kids but she could easily find time because she doesn’t work.  If I don’t send out these cards, I will end up looking like the bad niece, not remembering her aunts, uncles and cousins back home. He he he. 

But I’m not kidding.  I think it was two years ago when my aunt in Manila received my sister’s card before Christmas.  Mine was delayed.  And she was rambling on Christmas Day how I’d forgotten her but remembered my other aunt, her sister.  Of course, she received mine after Christmas.  It must have just been detained at the post office due to the Christmas rush.

What about you?  Do you still send cards by snail mail?

Entry filed under: Special Occasions. Tags: .

Cutting the umbilical cord Welcome to Winterpeg

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. verns  |  December 11, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    sheesh never, I’m a bad niece hehe kidding

    my aunts and uncles are mostly in the province and I go home every December so I get to see them and hand in my gifts.

    I’m pretty sure na kung may nagrereklamo man dahil hindi nakatanggap ng card or na delay, it’s just their way of making “lambing” =)

    Reply
  • 2. Daphne  |  December 12, 2007 at 1:23 am

    It depends on my mood. hehehe

    Last year I didn’t send any cards via the post office. Just e-cards. This year I already mailed them. Sinipag nang konti, konti lang huh! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Joy  |  December 12, 2007 at 6:29 am

    Oh yes I do! I’ve sent my 15 or so cards to the Philippines already(lots of family and friends still back home) but I’m seriously behind in sending my cards to family & friends here in North America. I’ve got about 40 to send! EEK!

    Reply
  • 4. Belle  |  December 12, 2007 at 7:32 am

    i know a friend who sends out cards after Christmas year after year.

    i delegated the sending out of Christmas cards to my hubby since he doesn’t work, his first ever to do it. i am extremely busy at work delivering letters and packages.

    merry Christmas to you and your family!

    Reply
  • 5. haze  |  December 12, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    Yes I do and I do personalized cards lalo na ngayon yung mga pictures ng kids ko ang front view hehehe! Of course, I send cards thru internet na rin kasi I don’t have all their home address and it’s fast pratical😀 !

    Reply
  • 6. JO  |  December 12, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    I just mailed a bunch of cards last week… I do hope they will reach its destination on or before Christmas.

    Reply
  • 7. bw  |  December 12, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    Absolutely ! I spent nearly 50 bucks for stamps sending a bundle of Xmas cards with pics of my family to friends and family all over the world !

    People treasure getting Xmas cards and displaying them around the Xmas tree. I think Xmas greeting cards will never die as long as Xmas is still around🙂

    Reply
  • 8. DR  |  December 13, 2007 at 12:03 am

    I still do it the old-fashion way but only for close family and friends.🙂 It makes the card more special and now I started to make my own cards so hopefully they will be appreciated by their receivers.

    Reply
  • 9. Leah  |  December 13, 2007 at 8:38 am

    I actually participated this year on a Christmas card exchange through blogging. I sent 16 cards to people I’ve never met before. It was fun. I’ve received almost half already.

    Yearly though I send the old fashioned cards with a recent photo of my daughter. Last year, I sent about 80 cards I think. This year, I am cutting back. I am only sending about 20 cards.
    The rest , I’ll do e-cards instead. I am very late actually but I still have time …its mostly US and Canada anyways.

    Reply
  • 10. Kyels  |  December 14, 2007 at 6:38 am

    I still send Christmas cards by snail mail. The old fashioned way is better and nostalgic, in a way. I’ve yet to send my cards and I better hurry!
    😛

    Reply
  • 11. Abaniko  |  December 14, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    I’ve never used the snail mail for years now. When I greet relatives, I just do it through text. It’s cheaper and messages are received instantly.

    Reply
  • 12. sesame  |  December 17, 2007 at 10:42 am

    I haven’t sent any cards for a long time. This reminds me of my uncle who sends us cards from China every year.

    Reply
  • 13. annamanila  |  December 18, 2007 at 5:23 am

    It has been a long time since I sent real (not virtual) cards of even letters by post. I receive a few though.

    Nonetheless, I wish christmas card giving would live on as a tradition. Now, I should do something about it real soon.

    Btw, i never send e-cards too.

    Reply
  • 14. SexyMom  |  December 20, 2007 at 3:45 am

    you know what? it still gives one a sense of feeling good to receive real christmas cards. yes, electronic cards are everywhere–we can send them with the click of a button, as what happens nowadays.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS and a PROSPEROUS AND BLESSED NEW YEAR!

    Reply
  • 15. tutubi  |  December 20, 2007 at 7:16 am

    no more thru snail mail but i still give some every now and then. a human touch is irreplaceable by email

    Reply
  • 16. pining  |  December 21, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    Hi Niceheart🙂
    I still send Christmas cards to my parents and my close friends, ecards are ok but nothing beats what you can physically grasp and display for everyone to see. It’s also a tradition here in Britain to exchange Christmas cards so we’ve got loads, including my 6 y/old who’s got about 20 or so from his classmates…

    Have a very merry Christmas to you and your family🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


