Working girl

November 22, 2007 at 11:04 pm 20 comments

 working mom

“You work full time?  Then why do you want another job?”  That was Stacey, who interviewed me for the job I applied for at our local grocery store.

“Well, you see, I have three children.  They are growing and our expenses are also growing.  Our income is not enough anymore,” I explained to her.

“How old are your kids?”

“Nine, thirteen and seventeen.  The oldest one’s in university.”

“Oh, I see.”

Then she asked why is it me?  Why is it not the husband who’s looking for another job?  Well, it’s not like I haven’t asked him like a hundred times to go look for another job.  But I digress.  I kind of mentioned in my previous post that I’ll stop b*tching about the man.

Yup, that’s true.  Our two sources of income are no longer enough.  Our credit card bills which I’ve managed to keep at four digits since I’ve worked at home is now starting to climb up again.  It’s been at five digits for about a year now.  And I know that something has to be done.  I can’t rely on winning the lotto, since I don’t buy tickets anyway. 🙂

So there I was, at 40-something years old, and I found myself looking for a part-time job.  I had my eye on a department store position downtown, but I didn’t expect competition to be that tough.  I think I was the oldest one at the group interview we had and I was the only one who didn’t have experience in sales.   Some of the applicants could have been my children, I mean in terms of age, of course.

But I’m glad that I got hired for this weekend shift only at this store where I do my grocery shopping.  It’s close to home and how lucky for me that their weekend lady in the apparel department gave up that shift.  I initially thought of working at nights.  That’s what I did when I also worked two jobs at the same time almost eleven years ago.  It’s not that we badly needed the money back then. I was already working at the insurance company where I still work now when the Taxation Centre called me and I just couldn’t pass it up.  I only had two kids then, 7 and 2 years old.  And I only took the night job because my father-in-law was vacationing here at that time.  I didn’t have to bring the kids to daycare.  He looked after them.  Now, that I look back, that’s probably the reason why he didn’t finish his supposed-to-be six-months stay here. He he he.  Besides, my husband worked during the day then and he was home with the kids at night.  But now that he works at night, I don’t want to leave the kids by themselves at night.  Even though the two older ones can look after their younger brother. I want to be there at nights with them.  I want to be there to help my youngest one with his homework, cook and eat supper with them.  They’re pretty much doing their own things in the weekends anyway, so I don’t think they’ll miss me that much on those two days.

I got trained for my new job last weekend.  The lady who trained me is the same age as me.  She was just recently widowed and then her mom had a stroke.  She wants to look after her mom on the weekends.

And by the way, Stacey’s also my supervisor.  And she’s only 22 years old.

So now you know what keeps me really, really busy nowadays.  I know I could always squeeze in writing posts even in my hectic schedule because I just have to write.  But I hardly find time to bloghop, and please do excuse me.  But thank you to those who still drop by even though I haven’t visited your blogs lately.  I really appreciate it.  I’ll try to pay you a visit whenever I can.

Entry filed under: Midlife, Roadblocks, Working mom. Tags: .

All good things come to an end, Part 2 Cutting the umbilical cord

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Belle  |  November 23, 2007 at 12:18 am

    niceheart, life is tough, isn’t it? sometimes, i thought of taking a second job, too, because not only do i take care of my own family, i also help my brothers back home. so, i opt to work overtime at work instead and sometimes, volunteer to work on my day off.

    also, my two daughters help by holding part-time jobs so i don’t have to send them their personal allowance.

    i hope that your husband will get the message and

    Reply
  • 2. Daphne  |  November 23, 2007 at 3:35 am

    Don’t worry about bloghopping, Niceheart🙂 Family always comes first and for that I salute thee for taking on two jobs.

    Reply
  • 3. Kyels  |  November 23, 2007 at 9:13 am

    Life’s tough but we all do what we can for the best of our families, diba?

    (:

    Reply
  • 4. sesame  |  November 23, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    Hey, take care. Don’t overwork yourself. Have sufficient rest and eat well.

    Btw, I noticed my comment did not show up in your last entry. Eaten up as spam. 😦

    Reply
  • 5. lazarus  |  November 23, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    I wish you all the best niceheart. I hope you can balance it well.

    Reply
  • 6. eric aka senor enrique  |  November 24, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Hello Irene!

    Hope you’re enjoying your part time job. I had to do that, too, on a couple of occasions back in NYC; those times when I needed to make extra money to make a purchase or something. I did enjoy the meeting new people aspect of it, though, as well as the hours spent working instead of just being home watching the same predictable TV shows.

    Trust all is well with the family.

    Reply
  • 7. bingskee  |  November 25, 2007 at 10:10 am

    hi, irene. that’s understandable. we all experience difficulties at some points in our life. i know you can deal with it. you are a strong woman. 🙂

    blogging is just one those diversions. family is always a priority.

    Reply
  • 8. bw  |  November 25, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    Congrats on your new part time job. But hey, take it easy – don’t work too hard. Have your hubby drive you to work and back. Don’t forget to drink Milo to shield yourself from the cold🙂

    I hope your hubby finds a job soon. Best of luck🙂

    Reply
  • 9. rhodora  |  November 26, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Temporary lang yan, Irene. Things will brighten up soon, you’ll see.🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Gypsy  |  November 26, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    Hope you will enjoy this new job–joy does make working less tiring, right?🙂 Take care!!

    Reply
  • 11. Rey  |  November 26, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    There are many women who are in the same situation as you, leah. You must be a superwoman handling all these things as a mother, wife, family accountant, chef and now two jobs! You have my best respect.

    Reply
  • 12. haze  |  November 27, 2007 at 7:33 am

    I myself is looking forward of working soon. But with everything to oversee at home I think, I just need to look for a part-time job. It’s just a matter of having an activity everyday, interaction with people outside (from home & constant friends) and to learn working in the “French Business way” !

    Enjoy your new workplace and job Niceheart !

    Reply
  • 13. annamanila  |  November 27, 2007 at 7:47 am

    Yes, I have heard, double jobs is quite common in the US. So you’re not having a picnic there, though we here in the Philippines have the notion you never had it so good. Awww, nice heart. You’re in that stage when you really have to make great sacrifices for the family. I have been there, done that. And guess what — you can say the same thing too after a few years. Cheers.

    Kaya yan, my friend. Will be cheering here for you.

    Reply
  • 14. Ms Fair Face  |  November 27, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    now that the kids have grown up, I think it is a good decision to work too. I’m sure you can balance it though we know it is never easy!

    Reply
  • 15. verns  |  November 27, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Hi Niceheart! I’m hoping for the best for you and your family. I know it’s work but I hope you’ll also have fun doing it🙂

    Reply
  • 16. TeacherJulie  |  November 28, 2007 at 12:21 am

    Niceheart, I wish you and your family the best. You have to focus on what needs to be done and you are definitely on the right track. Your children would definitely understand why you have to do these things. But then, you have to be careful too, to not spread yourself too thin.

    Take care!

    Reply
  • 17. Abaniko  |  November 28, 2007 at 10:46 am

    You know your priorities well. Just take things easy. And don’t pressure yourself to bloghop much. A few read blogs is okay as long as you do the bloghopping alphabetically. *wink*

    Reply
  • 18. iskoo  |  December 2, 2007 at 8:10 am

    you are still fortunate kasi dyan magtiyaga ka meron pa rin mag hihire at your age, dito sa pinas 35 lang karamihan ang limit ng mga tinatanggap na bagong empleyado

    Reply
  • 19. JO  |  December 3, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    Hi Irene,

    I wish you could find a way to pay off your credit card bills… pamatay talaga ang interest nila.

    I know budgeting is not easy… try to pay cash as much as you can… get rid of your cards. it can help with the budget.

    Reply
  • 20. Sending Christmas cards « Journey to Honeyville  |  December 11, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    […] bother sending out cards anymore.  She’s much too busy and hasn’t got the time.  I’m also super busy especially of late, but I explained to her that it has become a ritual and I think sending out […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


