The Bed

November 7, 2007 at 11:09 pm 21 comments

It’s getting colder everyday here in Winnipeg.  And by cold, I mean temperatures of plus 3 C down to minus 10 C.

I was watching one of my taped shows the other night and I was so cold that I had myself wrapped up in a comforter in the TV room upstairs.  It was (way) past midnight when I got up to get ready for bed.  I wanted to look out through the window to see if there was already snow outside.  But there was condensation on the window by the hallway and also in the washroom and I really couldn’t see.  I thought the pavement looked white but I realized later on that it was just because it was so cold and dry.

window 

When I went in my bedroom, I noticed that the top half of the windows were still clear of condensation.  And so I thought I’d go stand up on the bed and take a peek.  But what was I thinking?  I’m under five feet and even if I stood up on the bed, I couldn’t look through that part of the window.  But as I’ve said, it was way past midnight.  I was tired and I wasn’t thinking right.  I did hop on the bed. 

 the bed

But you see, my 17-year old bed is no longer that firm and I was like a bouncing ball when I stood up on that bed.  When I tried to get down, my feet somehow got caught up in either my very long pajamas or the comforter and I was thrown off balance.  I tried to grab on something to hold on to but the closest I could grab was the comforter itself.  And of course it couldn’t hold my weight.  Beside the bed was a bookshelf which was now behind me.  I reached for the shelf with my right hand but what good would that do?  I was already falling. It felt like I was suspended in time at that moment, like I was in the middle of a slow motion of my own video clip.  All I could think of at that instant was “Oh please dear Lord, don’t make this be a bad fall.”  This is not the first time I had fallen off the bed, by the way. (That’s another post.)  I haven’t had a serious fall so far.  But I am now in my 40’s and I know that my bones are not that young anymore.

So I fell, butt first, in the narrow space on the floor between the bed and the bookshelf.  I couldn’t get up right away.  I tried to take a moment to feel if I broke anything.  It didn’t seem like I broke any bones but I felt pain in my right hand.  I must have scraped it when I tried to hold on the bookshelf as I fell.  My husband wasn’t home as he works at night.  And I thought, what if I had passed out?  Would he find me there when he gets home? I was too tired and too lazy to get up to turn the lights on and see the damage.  I did manage to get off the floor and get on the bed and under the covers.  I thought I’d just go to sleep and maybe the pain would be gone when I woke up.

When I got up the next morning, (I overslept, by the way, and I hurriedly woke up my oldest son hoping that he’d still make it to his carpool to school.  He did.)  I saw that my pinkie was covered in blood, which has already dried by then and I also had some on my shirt.  It was only after I had taken a shower and had my hands cleaned that I found out that I scraped my finger really bad.  The skin was peeling.  I could lift the skin and see the red flesh.  It was so gross that I couldn’t even look at it for that long.  I immediately covered it up with a Band-aid.

Darn mattress.  I have been telling my husband that we should really have it replaced.  Not only is it getting saggy but it creaks at night at our every move, not only when tossing and turning in our sleep, but also when we’re doing that other thing that we do in the bedroom.  And no, not that thing, as we don’t have a TV there.  I’m talking about the other thing.

But should I really be blaming the bed?  Or maybe I should be blaming the foolishness of this 40-something woman.

Entry filed under: Midlife. Tags: .

38 Questions The Bed, Episode 1

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rhodora  |  November 8, 2007 at 9:45 am

    That happened to me one time. I was cleaning the cupboard. I was standing on a high chair. when I went down, I missed a step and landed on my butt. Ang sakit! Thank God I didn’t break my spine.

    We should be careful as we grow older. I know some cases here who have bad falls on their butts and now can’t walk anymore.

    Glad you didn’t get hurt so much. Take care.🙂

    Reply
  • 2. rositta  |  November 8, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Time to stop climbing on stuff, although i admit I climbed on a rickety chair yesterday. I almost went over too and after reading your post, I will NOT every climb on anything again. Not worth it at our age, we don’t heal so good anymore, feel better…ciao

    Reply
  • 3. Wil  |  November 8, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    a 17 year old bed? wow, that’s really old. hehe. You definitely need to get a new one, preferably a bed from this century. jk. California has bed specialty stores like sleep train. winnipeg probably has something similar.

    Reply
  • 4. Rey  |  November 8, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    NAH! Blame the bed! It’s the bed!🙂

    Reply
  • 5. verns  |  November 9, 2007 at 12:34 am

    hey good thing it wasn’t serious…but I can only imagine the pain and the look of your pinkie..ouch! maybe I’ll freak out if i get up in the morning and see blood all over my pjs or something hehe

    Reply
  • 6. Kyels  |  November 9, 2007 at 1:46 am

    UH … The “other thing” …😛

    It can be annoying; creaking mattress so hopefully you’ll get it changed soon!

    (:

    Reply
  • 7. bw  |  November 9, 2007 at 4:32 am

    IF you fell twice standing on the same bed, it’s probably time to change the mattress🙂

    -10 deg in mid-Nov. is Jan or Feb temp here! We’re still in the positive single digits.

    Reply
  • 8. Daphne  |  November 9, 2007 at 6:20 am

    Blame the loopy mattress and the bed😀

    Btw I got the other thing but I didn’t get the other thing that involves having a tv in your room hmm

    Reply
  • 9. pining  |  November 9, 2007 at 7:55 am

    we get a lot of condensation here too, so annoying but it can’t be helped
    time to change the mattress alright, especially if there’s a lot of action goin’ on😉

    Reply
  • 10. dino & haze  |  November 9, 2007 at 8:19 am

    I LOVE YOUR BED and furnitures ! We have exactly the same color and style, ours is a Japanese Futon Bed🙂 ! Oh you should definitely change the mattress if it’s getting on your way to “your other thing” ! Keep warm.

    Reply
  • 11. TeacherJulie  |  November 9, 2007 at 9:24 am

    Niceheart, glad to know you were not really hurt too much. If its the pinkie, as the oldies used to say “malayo sa tiyan” whatever that means🙂

    Anyway, hope you are feeling a lot better now. And oh, I do have something for you here:

    http://teacherjulie.com/2007/11/09/i-love-your-blog/

    Reply
  • 12. Abaniko  |  November 9, 2007 at 9:55 am

    What other thing?

    But you can always transfer to the floor if you don’t want the creaking sound while doing the other thing.🙂

    Reply
  • 13. Belle  |  November 9, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    hahaha to abaniko. mas masarap ba sa floor to do the other thing?

    niceheart, time to get a new mattress- the one that doesn’t make creaking noise.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  November 9, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    Thanks for all the concern everyone. Pinkie’s getting better now, although some of the skin has not fully closed up yet.

    Rhodora and Rositta, oldies like me🙂, I know you could relate. I know we should be really careful at this our age. I know people who’d have falls and hurt themselves really bad.

    Wil, we also have bed specialty stores here. It’s just that we always have something more important to buy. Since we’ve bought that bed, we had to buy three other beds, one for each of the kids. And of course, there are always other expenses that have to be dealt with first. Hay!

    BW, I wasn’t standing on the bed when I fell the first time.🙂 Maybe I’ll write a post about it when I get the chance.

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  November 9, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    Although the bed is no longer that firm, it is not that loopy naman. We could still get a good night’s sleep.🙂 But I know, once we get the extra $, kelan kaya yun, we’ll go get a new one.

    Daphne, I was just referring to “watching” the TV. I know there are some people who have TV in the bedroom.

    Pining, oh no. I don’t want to give the impression that there’s a lot of action that goes on. I wish.🙂

    Haze, that picture is not our bedroom. I was looking through the internet and found that one. It is kind of my style.🙂

    Abaniko, not that the floor hasn’t been tried. 🙂

    Belle, you should try doing it on the floor.🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Gypsy  |  November 10, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    I was just going to ask also, “what other thing?” Hehe…anyway, I would blame the bed and you should have replaced and soon..not good for the back!!

    Reply
  • 17. ann  |  November 11, 2007 at 12:15 am

    Hello Irene! Be careful next time specially when hubby is not around.

    Reply
  • 18. eric aka senor enrique  |  November 11, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    Yup, it’s time to replace the mattress. I’ve always preferred a platform bed with just a futon on it. But be more careful. Falling can yield serious complications.

    Ten below already? Oh my. Keep very warm!

    Reply
  • 19. sesame  |  November 11, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    Hmmm…doesn’t look like the bed’s fault but maybe time to change since it’s 17 years old.

    Reply
  • 20. The Bed, Episode 1 « Journey to Honeyville  |  November 11, 2007 at 11:15 pm

    […] Before y’all think that there’s a lot of action that goes on (I wish!) in the creaky bed, let me share this incident that happened two years ago, hence the subtitle, Episode 1 (ala Star […]

    Reply
  • 21. annamanila  |  November 18, 2007 at 4:43 am

    A creaking bed/mattress is such a major turnoff for that other thing. So embarassing, right? especially if you know the children may be within ear shot. hahaha Change it na .. though it loooks quite nice pa.

    I am glad you managed with just a pinkie scrape. I have fallen off the bed before too. once or twice . I’d say i was none the worse for the falls. But who knows that there won’t be a third time and that my luck may run out. So maybe I order a bed with railings? hahaha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


