Hand-me-up

October 28, 2007 at 11:54 am 15 comments

It’s getting chilly here in Winnipeg.  We’ve already been experiencing below zero C temperatures.  We’ve turned on the heater in the house and we’ve been wearing our thicker jackets.

I don’t really have a good fall weather jacket.  I have this black artificial leather jacket lined with purple taffeta.  I have to wear layers of clothing underneath to keep myself warm.  The other jacket I have is already my heavy winter jacket, which is still too warm for a minus 6 temperature.

My oldest son, Reggie, had this navy blue jacket with a detachable light blue fleece lining, which could also be worn on its own.  This is where the term hand-me-up comes.  I first saw this term in Earth Ember’s post when she wrote about how her second oldest daughter wears her younger brother’s shirts.  Instead of hand-me-downs, the sister is wearing her younger brother’s hand-me-ups.  I don’t even know if that term is already in existence or if Earth Ember just made it up. :)  She probably did.

Well, anyway, Reggie doesn’t wear that navy blue jacket anymore.  He has outgrown it.  He wore it when he was in sixth grade and, I think, until the seventh grade.  His younger brother, Ryan, doesn’t want to wear it because it is not his style.  He prefers the sporty kind of jackets.

It is I who wears Reggie’s navy blue jacket.  It’s usually the parents or older siblings who pass down their clothing to their children or younger siblings, but I am short and petite and I am sure that all my children will at some point out-grow me.  At least the two older ones already have.

Banff Alberta

Just look at these runners that we wear now.  I lined them up (nicely just for the sake of this picture)🙂 from biggest to smallest.  On one end are my husband’s and on the other end are mine.  My youngest son, Ryland, is still shorter than me and my feet are still bigger than his but his runners are just about as long as mine.

runners

Let’s go back to the navy blue jacket. I like wearing it because it is very appropriate for the fall weather and also early spring after the snow has melted.  I like the feel of the fleece (it’s not the itchy kind) on my skin.  And it keeps me warm.  I wear it when I go for my walks, when I go to the 7-11 store around the corner, when I do my groceries, or run my errands. But when I go to the mall, or to the office, or to church, I wear my black leather jacket.  I went downtown yesterday and it was quite nippy.  How I wished that I wore Reggie’s navy blue jacket.  When you live in a cold city like Winnipeg, you sometimes have to sacrifice looking stylish if you want to feel warm and comfortable.

I was wearing that jacket here in our front yard when I tried to finish raking the leaves which my sister started the previous day.  We are in the final days of autumn here.  Most of the leaves have already fallen on the ground.  Better rake them and clean the yard before the snow falls. 

raking

Raking is one of my least favourite chores.  It used to give me lower back pains.  My husband wouldn’t rake the leaves.  He’d rather do the dishes than do the leaves.  He mows the lawn and shovels the snow.  So I don’t fight him anymore in regards to raking.  I’ve pretty much learned how to choose which battles to fight with him.  The older kids wouldn’t do it either.  I think they don’t want to be embarrassed just in case any of their friends or classmates pass by in front of the house and see them raking the leaves.  There was a time when I could still make them do it, but now they always find an excuse like: I have to do my homework, or I have to practice my instrument, or I have sipon (runny nose) or  a headache, etc, etc.

It’s the younger kids who are eager to help.  So Wednesday night found me and five kids (Ryland and his young cousins) raking our front yard.  I don’t know if you can see them in the pictures.  It was already dark when we finished raking and bagging the leaves.  Actually, I asked them to finish it, as I had supper cooking on the stove.🙂

raking

raking

Entry filed under: Autumn, Raising the 3Rs. Tags: .

Johnson’s buds, what? 38 Questions

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyels  |  October 29, 2007 at 5:40 am

    Brrr … I cannot stand cold and I guess if I’m at Winnipeg now, I think I’ll be very ultra thick jackets!

    ;D

    Reply
  • 2. pining  |  October 29, 2007 at 8:57 am

    It’s getting a bit nippy here too, longer nights, shorter days… what fun…not!
    which reminds me, my front garden needs a bit of grooming too, but I’ll leave that to my husband😉

    Reply
  • 3. Gypsy  |  October 29, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    Nyak! Below zero na kayo?? And here I am complaining at 12 degrees! I still have to get use to the fact that I can’t just go out with tshirt and jeans but have to put so many layers…haaay, what a chore! Anyway, glad to see the younger ones still willing to help you with raking…and hope you wont get any low back pains anymore, been there myself and no plans of going back there…

    Reply
  • 4. tutubi  |  October 30, 2007 at 2:16 am

    i can stand the cold here much longer than my friends due to my working inside the datacenter for long hours

    but is still prefer the warm and cozy feel🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Toe  |  October 30, 2007 at 2:32 am

    Oh wow, your boys are really getting big! Well, lucky you… you get to inherit that cool blue jacket. 🙂 Well, you get good exercise raking those leaves. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. bw  |  October 30, 2007 at 10:08 am

    That’s good news – now you wear your children’s outgrown jacket hehe🙂

    I don’t take the leaves from my yard. It’s partly laziness and the belief that dried leaves are great fertilizer for the grass. I leave them and let snow fall on them. I look forward to healthy grass in spring🙂

    Reply
  • 7. ptvj  |  October 30, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    we don’t rake the leaves, we just mow the lawn…two birds in one stone😉

    Reply
  • 8. karen  |  October 30, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    oh, that’s me again, ptvj. sorry i keep on forgetting to logout from my other blog heheh.

    happy halloween pala!

    Reply
  • 9. Tin  |  October 31, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Ang sisipag naman ng mga bata.🙂 Once they get older, perhaps, they’ll refuse to do that chore too. Hehehe.

    Reply
  • 10. Major Tom  |  November 1, 2007 at 9:50 am

    Hand-me ups? Now that’s a word that need to be added to every dictionary.

    Years ago, my younger brother gets to have some of the garments I had then, as he fancies them.

    Now, I use to get some cool shirts that his wife sends from abroad.

    So it had became the other way around.

    By the way, the navy blue jacket looks very okay in you. It’s like it wasn’t Ryland’s jacket previously.

    Reply
  • 11. Rach (Heart of Rachel)  |  November 1, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    It’s getting cold here too but I cannot imagine how cold it can be there.

    I guess when you see how your children have grown, you feel a tug in your heart that tells you how much time has gone by.

    Reply
  • 12. Rey  |  November 2, 2007 at 4:46 am

    There’s no better sight than a nice happy family.

    Reply
  • 13. annamanila  |  November 2, 2007 at 8:32 am

    I like that word — hand- me-ups. I guess hand-me-ups are what I get when my daughters — prone to … uhmmmm … plumpness these days — would toss over to me a pair of jeans or slacks they have outgrown. Yes, I am now the smallest in the family. I guess I have expected to be ever since I can remember and it has happened.

    Raking sleeves .. that’s a big man’s chore di ba? But if the family close rakes, i mean close ranks … it can be fun too?

    Reply
  • 14. kathy  |  November 3, 2007 at 10:29 am

    It is getting chilly here, too, and the leaves have begun falling as well. But as long as the sun is out, we can still enjoy the fairly cool weather.🙂 But I think it will drastically change come December.

    I dread to think of winter!😦

    Reply
  • 15. Belle  |  November 3, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    Irene, most husbands don’t like raking leaves or weeding. my husband always promises that he will weed the yard but he never does it..hehe. it is because he couldn’t squat as good as I do.

    Where we live, it is still in the 60’s during the day and in the 40’s during the night–unusually warm at this time of year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


