Pick Up The Pieces

October 20, 2007 at 10:07 pm 18 comments

It was a late Thursday afternoon in May when my kids and I were getting ready to go see Reggie‘s Spring Jazz Concert at River East Collegiate.  The concert didn’t have to start until 7:00 p.m., but as usual, the performers were asked to be there by 6:15 p.m. for warm-up and tuning procedures.  I already pre-ordered the tickets but I also wanted to be there early so that I could get good seats.

Reggie left at around 6:00 p.m. and since I wasn’t quite ready yet, I told him to go on ahead and that his brothers and I would just follow later.  The two younger boys and I left at around 6:30 p.m.  It was just a ten-minute walk to school.  We were already at the school yard when it occurred to me to check if I had the tickets in my purse.  I knew it!  They weren’t there.  I changed bags the previous day and I must have forgotten to transfer the tickets in the purse that I used that day.  I told the boys that we would go inside the school and I’d leave them there while I go back home to get the tickets.  Ryan said that he’d go back instead because he could walk faster.  I told him that he didn’t know where I’d put the tickets. 

When we got inside the school, there were just a handful of parents lined up in front of the theatre doors which were still closed.  At first I thought that I’d make the boys fall in line, but then I realized that they couldn’t go in anyway because they didn’t have tickets.  Then I thought I’d ask Rachel, who I saw by the front doors, a favour.  I went up to her and asked her where I could find Reggie.  He’s upstairs warming up, she said.  Now, I always get lost finding the rooms when I go on the second floor and since it was getting close to 7:00 p.m., I explained to her my situation.  Could you please save us three seats once the doors open?  I asked her.  Sure, whereabouts do you want to sit?  She asked.  Somewhere in the centre, but not too close nor too far from the stage.  I told the boys to give her their jackets and she would put them on the seats that she would save for us.

So I hurriedly went back home, half walking, half running.  I couldn’t really run because I was wearing my two-inch platform sandals. This wasn’t the first time I had to leave the kids someplace and hurry back home because I forgot something.   Sign of getting old or just too pre-occupied?  I was still a block away from home and I was already panting and out of breath.  When I got inside the house, I immediately look for the tickets in my other purse and yes they were there.  I had to change my blouse for I worked up a sweat and I also changed into my runners so I could walk faster.  I got back to school with still a couple of minutes before the concert started.  And my boys were seated at the best seats in the house and an empty seat was reserved for me in the middle.  Thanks to Rachel.  She was an angel.

When the Intermediate Jazz Band started coming up the stage and I saw Rachel beside Reggie, that answered the burning question I had since a few months before.  How did he get close to this girl two years his junior?  Of course, they were sitting next to each other everyday in Jazz Band.  Well, not that I have a problem with that.  She’s a very nice girl.🙂

This is one of the music they played that night.  It’s called Pick Up The Pieces.  Some of you may be familiar with this piece.

The phrase “pick up the pieces” means “to try to return to a satisfactory situation.”  That’s what I’ve been trying to do now in my personal life and that’s why I thought I’d share this video clip with you.

Reggie plays the tenor saxophone here and also (a solo on) the flute.

Entry filed under: My life as a mom, Reggie and his music. Tags: .

Seeing Red Johnson’s buds, what?

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. niceheart  |  October 20, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    I don’t know why my video clips skip at certain parts when I transfer them to my computer. I uploaded this video four times and this is the best that I got, considering that it still skipped a few times. Anybody has any ideas or suggestions?

    Reply
  • 2. Toe  |  October 21, 2007 at 2:56 am

    Reggie’s band is really good! I noticed that Reggie was looking admiringly at Rachel while she was doing her solo. And Reggie got a very strong applause ha! Congratulations to him. Good job! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. rhodora  |  October 21, 2007 at 3:53 am

    What a wonderful performance, Irene! And Reggie on flute – ang galing!

    Incidentally, a ticket incident happened to us also some years ago. We drove all the way from Dagupan to Manila (3 and a half hours) just to watch Lea Salonga in Miss Saigon at the CCP. When we got there, I couldn’t find the tickets in my wallet where I knew I kept them. I was going frantic already when Gem, suddenly asked: “Ma, ano’ng hinahanap mo?” “Yung tickets, wala dito!” I said in panic. And then very calmly, she opened her backpack – “E, nandito e, kinuha ko sa wallet mo tapos tinago ko.” Hay naku! Muntik na akong himatayin. hehehe.

    As for picking up the pieces – you’ll be surprised that you will discover more things about yourself as you go through the process.🙂

    All the best, Irene!🙂

    Reply
  • 4. pining  |  October 21, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    as they say, all’s well that end’s well🙂
    nice piece of music!

    Reply
  • 5. Midas  |  October 21, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    It’s very disconcerting to find out that as I grow older, I forget more things. I forget details. I used to have all my appointments right in my head…and now, I actually have to use my calendar or regret it.

    Reply
  • 6. verns  |  October 21, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    hahaha pareho kami ng tinitingnan ni Toe. Reggie was looking at Rachel while she was performing, he was smiling ….kinikilig ako hahaha

    Anyway yeah…by the sound of it, Reggie got lots of fans ha and he was like the only one who was moving his body to the beat when performing solo. The others were just standing…well except for another guy who was swaying a little🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Kyels  |  October 22, 2007 at 1:24 am

    Congratulations to Reggie! He’s definitely a talented lad!

    (:

    You must be so proud of him Tita!

    Reply
  • 8. eric aka senor enrique  |  October 22, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    Wow! So Reggie is now performing quite regularly. I think that’s wonderful! More power to him🙂

    Reply
  • 9. kathy  |  October 23, 2007 at 6:25 am

    Wow, those kids are really good! I couldn’t help nodding to the beat…it was soo cool. And kudos to Reggie for such a nice solo. Sya lang ba ang Filipino ron?

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  October 23, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Thanks for the comments guys. Yes, I am very proud of him. 🙂

    Verns, unlike the Senior Jazz Band, the performers in this Intermediate Jazz Band are not just senior students, but also those from grades 10 and 11. I think the younger students are still shy to move their bodies. The older kids are more experienced and more comforable in doing so. The other guy you’re referring to, if I’m not mistaken (the chubby one at the front?) is Reggie’s best friend Iian.

    Kathy, he was the only Filipino in the his grade level and in the jazz band. I know of only one other Filipina girl in the same school, but she’s in a lower grade.

    Reply
  • 11. ann  |  October 24, 2007 at 12:15 am

    Feel na feel ni Reggie yung piece nya.

    Ako naman pag nagpalit ng bag naiiwan lagi yung mga cards sa rides ng mga bata kaya naiinis sila.

    Reply
  • 12. Wil  |  October 24, 2007 at 1:09 am

    Nice performance. They sound great! 😀

    Reply
  • 13. dino & haze  |  October 24, 2007 at 4:00 am

    Need I say more ! That was just fantastic, so love Jazz music and dance🙂 ! Kudos to the band !!!

    Reply
  • 14. bw  |  October 24, 2007 at 6:47 am

    Very nice piece played impressively by such young people🙂

    Reply
  • 15. annamanila  |  October 25, 2007 at 5:00 am

    Aww the video doesn’t load for me. I will try it again at home. I see how our buddies seemed to have enjoyed adn admired the performance with sidelights pa about meaningful looks between reggie and rachel. aha!

    Forgetting tickets, wallets, cell phones, keys. That is the bane of my existence too. Used to fall into pieces when i forget things. But know have learned to cool it. Okay lang. if i have to go back so be it. i don’t sweat small stuff or seldom do nowadays. Ay i can still learn new tricks. haha

    Reply
  • 16. Tin  |  October 25, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Wow! It’s so nice to see your Reggie in solo. He’s really good.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Belle  |  October 26, 2007 at 12:52 am

    Reggie is awesome! The best! And Rachel did well, too. oh, they would make a good pair, don’t they?

    i enjoyed listening to the band, in fact, i listened to it once, twice, err, thrice.

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  October 27, 2007 at 9:07 am

    Thanks guys. I’m glad you liked their performance.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


