Do beauty queens eat ice cream?

September 12, 2007 at 10:58 pm 16 comments

Little Miss Sunshine

One of the movies I watched this summer is this charming Academy Award winning film called Little Miss Sunshine.  This is a story about a family who goes on a road trip from Albaquerque, New Mexico to California when they learn that seven-year old Olive made it to the Little Miss Sunshine beauty pageant. Their yellow VW bus breaks down and they have to push it before it would go and then they had to jump into the van.  Oh, it is so funny.

I like road trip movies like this.  It’s usually not just about the trip itself, but also about the transformation and life-changing experiences of the characters.  And the ones in this film are in a dysfunctional family.  We have the cocaine-snorting grandpa who has been coaching Olive with her dance moves for the talent portion of the pageant.  So you can just imagine what kind of dance moves he has been teaching her.  There’s the uncle who had just tried to commit suicide, the teenage son who hates everybody and has taken a vow of silence in preparation for taking a flight course, the dad who is a motivational speaker and talks about winners and losers but it looks like he actually belongs to the second group.  And there’s the over-stressed mom who can’t see eye to eye with the dad and fights with him a lot.  Oops.  Did I just describe myself?🙂

This is a hilarious movie but there are also moments that will make you cry.  It’s got great casting too.  Greg Kinnear and Steve Carrell are both lovable, Abigail Breslin as little Olive is so adorable.  Add to that Toni Collette and Alan Arkin, both good actors.  And Paul Dano as the teen-aged son is not bad either.

Little Miss Sunshine, being about a beauty pageant, tackles the weight issue.  And that’s what I want to discuss here.  Not just weight, but also body image in general.  You have probably seen how the contestants in these children’s beauty pageants look like.  As my nine-year old son said, “Ha ha ha.  They look like toys.”  And I thought that they look like miniature adults, with their faces heavily made up, hair teased, their wide-toothed and rehearsed smiles, and adult-like bathing suits and gowns.  But Olive is so unlike them.  She did her own make-up, applied very conservatively and her hair just simply straight.  Olive is a cute little girl.  She’s not skinny but I won’t even call her chubby.  She’s a healthy seven-year old girl with a smile that is so genuine and honest.

One scene that strikes me the most is when they were at the diner and Olive ordered ice cream.  Her dad made her think twice about that.  Did she really want to eat ice cream before the beauty pageant? He was insinuating that ice cream could make you fat.  But the mom has something to say about that. And I can relate to that difficult situation when she did not want to contradict what her husband said in front of the child and yet she did not want her to have that wrong impression about food and weight.  So when Olive asked her if beauty queens eat ice cream, she told her that she could ask Miss California herself when they get there.  And when they all start digging into that bowl of ice cream, Olive did too.

And yes, Olive did ask Miss California if she eats ice cream.  And her answer was, “Yes. My favorite is Chocolate Cherry Garcia… except technically I think it’s a frozen yogurt.” 

Britney Spears at the VMA Awards I also want to share the discussion the ladies at ABC’s The View had the other day.  It’s about Britney Spears’ appearance at the recent VMA awards.  I’m not even referring to her disastrous performance but how people have been calling her fat.  Come on.  I think she looks good.  Of course, she’s got a little bump in the middle, but that’s because she gave birth to two babies.  I think it was Elisabeth Hasselbeck (from The View) who said that it could probably be her choice of wardrobe (sequined pair of bikinis) that people didn’t approve of.  And Whoopi Goldberg said that it could have been our fellow women who were being hard on her.  Because have you heard any criticisms from the men?

I think I agree with Whoopi.  Us, women, can be really hard on ourselves.  Yes, we see these skinny models on TV and magazines, but it doesn’t really mean that we have to look like them.  We tend to put pressure on ourselves.

I admit that I have also been putting pressure on myself with regards to this weight issue.  I have been cutting back on portions at dinner and have tried daily walking in the hopes of losing weight (I am still unsuccessful).   And I didn’t realize how this is affecting my children, especially my nine-year old boy, until I had this conversation with him a few months ago.  This was around the time when I would still carry him downstairs to breakfast in the morning.  And I was complaining that he’s getting heavy.  But he still wanted to be a baby and be carried downstairs. 

Him:  I want to lose weight.
Me: (Surprised) No you don’t.  Why would you want to lose weight?
Him:  Because you said I’m heavy.
Me:  Oh, that’s because you’re growing taller.  You’re supposed to get heavy.
Him:  But you’re not growing, mommy.
Me:  Exactly.  That’s why I want to lose weight.  I’m not growing taller but I’m getting heavier.
Him:  You mean fat?
Me:  Yes, now do you get it?  You don’t need to lose weight.
Him:  (Chuckles) Yes.

And no, I don’t carry him anymore.  He’s gotten too big for me.  And he realizes that, too.

By the way, if you’re planning on watching Little Miss Sunshine with the family, I just want to warn you that this is Rated R in the U.S. and I think 14A here in Canada.  I forgot to check the rating before I let my nine-year old watch it with me.  It wasn’t even five minutes into the movie and there are already about ten F words that have been said.  And I had the caption on.  I had to pause and remove the caption and explain to him that, “you don’t say that word and you know that, right?”  Anyway, he knows that he’d get in trouble if he does.  I had to make him cover his eyes a few times too – drug and sex content.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, My guilt trip. Tags: .

My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 2 My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 3

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Do beauty queens eat ice cream? « My Movie Room  |  September 12, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    […] Read the rest of this entry. […]

    Reply
  • 2. Rey  |  September 12, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    Little Miss sunshine is a humour and family reality rolled into a road trip. And I loved it. Yes, children do need to be watched if they are there to watch this (though most of those under 14 would certainly call this boring– my 4 year old calling it “not nice” and proceeded to watch her cartoon strips instead).

    Reply
  • 3. Wil  |  September 13, 2007 at 12:20 am

    I remember when I was a kid watching the movie Terminator and there was a love-making scene. My sister put her hands across the TV to block it out….. as though her hands were big enough to cover the screen. hahaha. oh, well. she had to protect my innocence, i suppose. hehe

    Reply
  • 4. Kyels  |  September 13, 2007 at 1:37 am

    Being too skinny is not good as it will affect our health. Yes, everyone of us admire those models shown on television but honestly, I think we don’t have to be like them. If there’s a little bump in the middle, it’s fine; as long as one is on a healthy diet. Like you said, she gave birth to two kids, that could be the reason why.

    [:

    We ought to appreciate what have been given to us.

    Reply
  • 5. Toe  |  September 13, 2007 at 3:23 am

    Very intuitive post Niceheart! My golly… so there goes my dreams of becoming a beauty queen… I’m not ready to give up my ice cream. 🙂

    Yes, us women do tend to be a little hard on ourselves. I think it’s better to aim for good health rather than thinness.

    Reply
  • 6. pining  |  September 13, 2007 at 8:46 am

    This is one movie you want to see again and again… the characters have their own unique personality, and that girl is so refreshing, and yeah… family movie it isn’t!
    regarding the weight issue, as long as we’re happy and (feel healthy) with they way we look, that’s alright🙂

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  September 13, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    Rey, good for your 4-year old recognizing it as not nice. Actually, it was only my 9-year old who was interested in watching it. But then again, I guess he just wants to spend time with me. Lagi kasing nakabuntot sa kin yon.🙂

    Wil, when my boys were also a lot younger, I would tell them to cover their eyes when there are kissing scenes. Now, I don’t anymore. They are older now and I figure that if they are gonna watch something like that, better watch it here at home.🙂 But now, they look away when there is kissing on TV, even if I don’t tell them. 🙂

    Kyels, it is definitely the reason why she has that bump. You should see mine. And remember, I had three babies. 🙂

    Toe, I don’t want to give the wrong message here. Of course you can still be a beauty queen even if you eat ice cream. I should have added that conversation Olive had with Miss California. Actually, I will do that.🙂

    I agree with you Pining – as long as we’re happy with our body. Thing is, I am not quite happy with mine.😦 But don’t you worry, I am on that path of learning how to love my body the way it is.🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Belle  |  September 15, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    Irene, i watched this movie with my daughter in her laptop last summer. at the beginning, i predicted that she was going to win the beauty pageant but when she got on the stage showing her dance moves, oh my, that was horrible! ha ha ha, grandpa (bless his soul) ruined it for her.

    i thought that Brit looks fantastic in her bikini. she has to get her life back though.

    Reply
  • 9. bugsybee  |  September 15, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    I’m not what one would call a prude but I really, really hate hearing F words in movies – Stephen Seagal, for one . Nonetheless, if Little Miss Sunshine is that good, I’m willing to suffer. LOL

    Thanks for the tip, niceheart. And I love that conversation of yours with your little boy. I should let my sister read it – she tells her daughters not to put on weight because “it’s ugly” but I think it stunts their growth.

    Reply
  • 10. earthember  |  September 16, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    That little conversation about heavy with your son is so endearing. And yeah, I do get uncomfortable with the F word, esp when my kids are around. Ditto for drug and sex content…..I’ll remember to ask them to cover their eyes …:)

    Reply
  • 11. Gypsy  |  September 17, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    I wonder if little Miss Sunshine is shown in the Philippines–sayang I will have to miss it…mahal sine dito, but at least I can go back home and look it up in VCDs! Thanks for the review!

    Reply
  • 12. ann  |  September 17, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    I am catering sbd meals but i still eat rice kaya di rin pumapayat.

    Musta na?

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  September 18, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Belle, isn’t that scene hilarious. Horrible, but hilarious.🙂 I feel sorry for Britney, but yes, she has to get her life back on track, if just for his two little boys.

    Bugsybee, I’m also one who doesn’t like hearing the F words. But I notice that they do say a lot of this word in movies nowadays. And about the weight thing, it can get really tricky when it comes to kids and I don’t think it’s good to impose it on them.

    Ange, thanks. And I was glad that I had that little talk with my son. I didn’t want to confuse him.

    Gypsy, the movie was released last year pa. So it must be already in the DVDs or VCDs.🙂

    Hi Ann, musta na rin. Mahirap talagang iwasan ang kanin. I just try to cut my portions.

    Reply
  • 14. annamanila  |  September 21, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    You’re such a splendid movie reviewer, Niceheart. You are doing me a lot of service, as there are very few and selected movies I watch.

    But weight watching thats another story. The endless and often losing battle with the bulge. It’s not only the wanting to look good but to feel fit and light and lithe. People always wonder why I sometimes go on reducing sprees too as I still look petite for my age. But I got this spreading past middle age spread that doesn’t go well with my very narriow frame. And somehow, this reducing episodes make me eat healthier … go for the right types of food. So I say, it’s all to the good.

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  September 22, 2007 at 8:32 am

    Thanks for the compliments annamanila. Though I don’t really consider myself a movie reviewer. A good movie reviewer critiques and also reviews extensively the actors’ performances and the storyline. I just usually write about how I can relate to the characters and stories. But thanks for the kind words.

    I guess everybody can really relate to this weight issue, no matter what age you are. My mother is in her 60s and I noticed that she’s also spread a lot in the middle. She’s not bothered by it but her doctor wants her to exercise regularly, at least by walking for 30 minutes daily. I don’t think she does though. It’s not really about how you look but being healthy.

    Reply
  • 16. Do beauty queens eat ice cream? | After Today News  |  November 11, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    […] D&#959 beauty queens eat ice cream? Tags: dance moves, road trip, vw bus […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


