My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 2

September 8, 2007 at 10:24 pm 19 comments

Here’s another list of the movies I watched this summer. And as I’ve written in my comment in my previous post, I didn’t consider my entry as movie reviews. They were just summaries. But since I know you guys will still call these reviews, I have added a little bit more critique and opinions this time.🙂

A Good Woman A Good Woman – Every saint has a past.  Every sinner has a future.

This is a charming movie set in the 1930s in an island in Italy.  Mrs. Erlynne (Helen Hunt) has the reputation of being, what we call now, a gold-digger.  She has been the subject of gossips when she was often seen with a wealthy American married man, Robert Windermere (Robert Umbers).  Meanwhile, Lord Darlington (Stephen Campbell Moore), a notorious playboy, is flirting with his young and beautiful wife.  And when Mrs. Windermere (Scarlett Johanssen) suspected that her husband is being unfaithful, she thought of running away with Lord Darlington, but Mrs. Erlynne saved her from making the biggest mistake of her life.  A secret and a wonderful surprise is revealed in the end.

I like Scarlet Johanssen.  I think she is one of the fine actresses of our time.  Helen Hunt is good, too.

The Number 23 The Number 23 – Be sure your sin will find you out ~ Numbers 32:23

This is a psychological thriller about Walter Sparrow(Jim Carrey) , a dog-catcher, who receives a second-hand book from his wife called the Number 23.  As he reads the book, he becomes obsessed with the number 23.  He sees people wearing shirts with 2 and 3 on them.  He sees the number 23 on the clock.  He adds up the numbers in dates and they add up to 23.  Etc.  He also notices that the novel mirrors certain events in his past and that it could very well be about him.  But the thing is, the people close to the main character in the novel ends up dead and Walter believes that he might also end up doing the same crime.

Jim Carrey is more famous for being funny but he can also act in dramatic roles.  This film was just okay for me.  I like his other film, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, a lot better than this one. 

A Good YearA Good YearA Good YearA Good YearA Good Year 

A Good Year

It’s nice to see Russell Crowe in a lighter role in this romantic comedy.  He plays Max Skinner, A British investment broker, who learns that he has just inherited his Uncle Henry’s vineyard in Provence, France, where he spent part of his childhood.  He goes back to Provence with the intention of selling the property.  But memories of his childhood and meeting a beautiful woman gave him a change of heart. 

It’s always a delight to see Freddie Highmore (although I’ve only seen a couple of his films) who plays the young Max.  It’s also nice to see the beautiful scenery of the countryside in France.  Russell was very charming in this movie.

Memorable quote:

You’ll come to see that a man learns nothing from winning. The act of losing, however, can elicit great wisdom.

Breaking and Entering Breaking and Entering

Will Francis (Jude Law) is an architect who has just relocated his office with his partner to King’s Cross where they had a couple of break-ins.  One night he followed the teen-ager who stole his computer and he met his Bosnian refugee mother, Amira (Juliette Binoche).  You see, Will’s marriage is already in trouble and he enters into a relationship with this woman.  And when Amira learns that Will might have pursued her only because her son stole from him, she thought of blackmailing him so he won’t tell the cops.  And yes, I was surprised to see Juliette Binoche take off her clothes.  They do a lot of that in movies now, eh?  But in the end, the characters pretty much redeemed themselves. 

Jude Law is great.  It reminds me of his performance in Closer.  Juliette Binoche is very convincing as a Bosnian refugee, with the accent and all.

Babel Babel

Tagline – If You Want to be Understood…Listen

This is a very compelling movie about four different stories that happened in four different countries.  There’s Richard and Susan (Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett) who are vacationing in Morocco and trying to work out their marriage.  Then there’s the Moroccan father who bought a gun for his two teen-aged sons so that they could keep the jackals away from his herd.  One of the boys aimed the gun at a tour bus and accidentally shot Susan.  And the media people speculated that this was a terrorrist attack. Meanwhile, back in the U.S., Richard and Susan’s children are left with the Mexican nanny, who brought the two children to Mexico when she attended her son’s wedding.  She and her nephew were questioned at the border on their trip back and the nephew, being intoxicated, panicked and drove away from the officers leaving the nanny and the kids in the desert.  Also, in Japan, the original owner of the gun was tracked down to this man who has a deaf daughter who is dealing with the death of her mother. 

The plot is very intense and so are the performances.  I just can’t help but notice the lines around Brad’s eyes.  I’m not sure if those are real or just make up.  Well, anyway, it’s not about his looks now, but rather his acting, right?

Hamlet Hamlet

The first time I watched a Hamlet movie was a few years ago when Lisa, a girl I shared a cubicle with at work, lent me her tape.  It was the one where Mel Gibson played the main character.  But I slept through the movie.  I guess I was tired and I watched it late at night.  So when I saw this Ethan Hawke starrer at the video store and read at the back cover that it was a modernized version, I thought I’d give it a try.  After all, I enjoyed watching Ethan deliver his witty lines in Before Sunrise and Before Sunset. But guess what?  I also slept through this Hamlet.  I guess I was also tired and it was late at night when I watched it.  I have nothing against Shakespeare.  I actually read some of his works and I happen to like Romeo and Juliet (Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes) and A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Michelle Pfeiffer and Rupert Everett).  And I didn’t sleep through The Merchant of Venice (Al Pacino and Jeremy Irons).  I guess the thing is, I didn’t watch these movies late at night.  I have a tape of another Hamlet movie (Campbell Scott) that is still sealed in plastic and I haven’t seen yet.  Note to self:  Don’t watch Hamlet late at night.

Famous quote: To be or not to be – which Ethan recited in a Blockbuster video store.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV. Tags: .

A Doll Story Do beauty queens eat ice cream?

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. A Good Woman « My Movie Room  |  September 8, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    […] This is simultaneously posted at My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 2. […]

    Reply
  • 2. Breaking and Entering « My Movie Room  |  September 8, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    […] This is simultaneously posted at My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 2. […]

    Reply
  • 3. Babel « My Movie Room  |  September 8, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    […] This is simultaneously posted at My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 2. […]

    Reply
  • 4. bingskee  |  September 9, 2007 at 5:58 am

    and scarlet is very pretty, too! she’s nominated as one of the sexiest hollywood stars.

    babel is a good movie but a deep one. quite disturbing, too. as one blogger said, it is the dirturbing part that made it beautiful. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Tin  |  September 9, 2007 at 8:40 am

    my friend recommended that movie, Number 23 to me but Its quite hard to find a pirated copy here in the Philippines with good resolution. But I think its available now, must check that out.🙂

    Reply
  • 6. verns  |  September 9, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    I watched Babel but did not finish the whole thing…it was dragging, disturbing and kinda boring but there are a lot of good reviews about it. I guess “deep” movies are not for me lang talaga🙂

    I’ll check out the other flicks🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Kyels  |  September 9, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    I loved “A Good Year” and “Babel” … Good movies!

    [:

    Reply
  • 8. Daphne  |  September 10, 2007 at 5:34 am

    Yes who would have thought that Russel Crowe can play a romantic lead in a light hearted romcom. It was a refreshing change.

    Babel was ok the publicity hype though was a bit overkill if you ask me.

    Reply
  • 9. pining  |  September 10, 2007 at 7:11 am

    Know what… I haven’t seen any of these films😦
    I’m likely to see Babel though as I love Cate Blanchett🙂
    Eternal Sunshine is one of my favourite Jim Carrey film too, but I loved him even more in the Truman Show

    Reply
  • 10. Wil  |  September 10, 2007 at 9:48 am

    I also heard good reviews about BAbel so i would like to see it one day. who knows when? 😀 and you’re right. It’s about the acting, not looks….. the fact that nearly all the leading actors/actresses are good-looking is just a coincidence. hehe

    I saw the mel gibson version of hamlet. it wasn’t bad. there’s a kenneth branagh version that is, i believe, 4 hours long. haven’t seen that one. i liked the book more than the movie though.

    Reply
  • 11. bw  |  September 11, 2007 at 12:34 am

    I watched Babel – a great movie it is .. I have the bootleg DVD for 23 – turned it on and watched about 5 minutes of it…. then the phone rang and I got interrupted and turned the TV off. That was in June and i haven’t gone back to continue the movie yet🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Major Tom  |  September 11, 2007 at 2:42 am

    Pretty good films here. I’ve seen Babel too and I was surprisingly entertained by it since the general feel of it was so tamed down, but the plot, towards the end especially, was so awesome and so original.

    Reply
  • 13. Toe  |  September 11, 2007 at 3:51 am

    Oh, I haven’t watched any movies at all Niceheart. I don’t know which are the good ones kc e. Now, you got me interested at 23 and A Good Woman.

    Reply
  • 14. Haze  |  September 11, 2007 at 7:29 am

    Likewise, haven’t watched any of them ! Late kasi lagi dito, they need to dub the film OV (Original version) is rare😦 ! So I still need to wait for ages waahhh !!!

    Reply
  • 15. Rey  |  September 11, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    Argh! you slept thru Hamlet? And twice??? And to think it was my Favourite Shakespeare masterpiece. hehehe.

    Babel was good too. Loved the look of the film too.

    Reply
  • 16. Sidney  |  September 11, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Shame on me! I should go more often to the movies! I only saw Babel!

    Reply
  • 17. Rach (Heart of Rachel)  |  September 16, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    I enjoy watching movies but in this list I’ve only seen Babel.

    A Good Year is an interesting movie that I hope to watch.

    Reply
  • 18. Rach (Heart of Rachel)  |  September 25, 2007 at 5:45 am

    Hi! Guess what? I went out to buy DVD of A Good Year and I really enjoyed the movie. It’s really my kind of story. I like watching feel good movies. Thanks for recommending it.

    Reply
  • […] My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 2 There?s Richard and Susan (Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett) who are vacationing in Morocco and trying to work out their marriage. Then there?s the Moroccan father who bought a gun for his two teen-aged sons so that they could keep the … […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


