My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 1

August 26, 2007 at 11:42 pm 30 comments

I seldom go to the theatres.  It’s just so darn expensive.  So during the summer when my schedule is more lax, I rent DVDs and try to catch up with the movies that catch my fancy.

I used to write lengthy posts about the movies that I have seen, how they move me and how I can relate to the characters.  But now, I don’t have the time to do that.

But I still want to share with you some of the movies that I have seen.  Here are just a few of them.  I’ve listed the first thing/s that caught my attention to each movie.  I’ve also written a very short summary, and/or some of the memorable quotes.

Little Children

Little Children – Kate Winslet.  As I’ve told my 9-year old son, the title is Little Children but it is not good for small children.  The movie is rated R.  Yes, this is one of the movies where she gets naked.

This is a story about married couples in a small suburban town.  Sarah (Kate Winslet) is a stay-at-home mom. She meets Brad (Patrick Wilson), a stay-at-home dad, at the playground and they had an affair.  The plot also includes a story about Ronnie (Jackie Earle Haley), a phedophile who just got out of prison.  Larry (Noah Emmerich), an ex-cop, is intent on making Ronnie’s life miserable.  But here’s the thing.  Ronnie may have exposed himself to a child years ago, but Larry has shot and killed a teen-ager.  The twist at the end, of what happened to Ronnie and Larry, is unexpected and a little disturbing.  But it is all good.

My favourite quotes:

This is during one of the book club meetings about Madame Bovary.  Sarah thinks that the main character is a feminist.

Mary Ann:  Oh that’s nice.  So now cheating on your husband makes you a feminist?

Sarah:  No no no.  It’s not the cheating.  It’s the hunger – the hunger for an alternative and refusal to accept a life of unhappiness.

Narrator at the end of the movie:
He knew that Ronnie had done some bad things in the past, but so had Larry.  You couldn’t change the past.  But the future could be a different story.  And it had to start somewhere.

Thank You For Smoking

Thank You For Smoking – I only rented this one because it stars Katie Holmes.  I mostly read bad reviews about Katie’s acting but I think she’s alright, not great, but alright.  I’ve been a fan of her since her Dawson’s Creek days.  And I happen to think that she has this classic beauty.  Well, anyway, the movie is about Nick Naylor (Aaron Eckhart), who is the chief spokesman for Big Tobacco and his job is to defend smokers and cigarette makers.  And he’s very good at his job.  But how can he continue to do his job and still be a role model to his 12-year old son?  The son, by the way, I immediately recognized as the same actor who played the boy in the movie Birth, Cameron Bright.

The Lake House

The Lake House – A feel good movie.  Kate (Sandra Bullock) and Alex (Keanu Reeves) are exchanging letters through this mail box in a lake house, a house that they both occupied, him, two years ago, and her, just recently moved out of.  They’re exchanging letters at the present, but his present is 2004 and hers is 2006.  It is sort of a time travel but not really.  I have a thing with this though.  I think it’s not good to change anything that happened in the past.  The past is done.  Don’t try to change it.  Although this movie makes you feel good about it.  

The Last Kiss

The Last Kiss – “Well it’s very simple… do whatever it takes.”  This is what Stephen (Tom Wilkinson) told Michael (Zach Braff) when the latter said that he’d do anything to get the former’s daughter, Jenna, back.

When Michael learns that Jenna (Jacinda Barrett), his girlfriend of three years is pregnant, he worries that his life is over and he sleeps with a younger girl.  But he realizes his mistake and does everything it takes to get Jenna back.  And you’d think that a 30-something man has already matured and he does something stupid like that.  Will you be able to forgive this guy and take him back?

Notes on a Scandal

Notes on a Scandal – “We are bound by the secrets we share.”

Barbara (Judi Dench), a schoolteacher who is close to retirement writes in her diary about Sheba (Cate Blanchett), a younger and attractive woman, also a teacher who has recently joined the faculty.  Barbara befriends Sheba, the former reaching out to her and the latter confiding in her. But when Barbara saw Sheba having sex with one of her 15-year old students, she saw an opportunity to blackmail her and Sheba later finds out that Barbara has a sexual interest in her.

I think the combination of the two actors is a real treat.  Great performances.

The Zodiac

The Zodiac – Jake Gyllenhaal. I like him.🙂

Unforgettable quote:

Not many people have basements in California.

A newspaper cartoonist becomes obsessed with a killer who named himself Zodiac and ends up writing a book about him.  The tagline ~ There’s more than one way to lose your life to a killer.  This movie shows us how the obsession with this killer has affected the lives of his leading investigators.

Daphne of My Little Moments wrote a very good review of this film.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV. Tags: .

Garage Sale A Doll Story

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wil  |  August 27, 2007 at 12:52 am

    I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews for Thank You For Smoking, so that’s on my list of movies to watch. I’ve also heard about The Lake House and how the two characters are in two different times. Sounds interesting. Hope it’s not too mushy though. 😀

    Reply
  • 2. noemi  |  August 27, 2007 at 8:08 am

    Oh wow I love your choices! I am going to bookmark this now, Based on your list, I have only watched Lake House

    Reply
  • 3. Kyels  |  August 27, 2007 at 8:51 am

    I love your choices of movies. I will check them out soon. Too bad there has been a raid and I was unable to find any DVDs around. There is no such thing as rental over here though pero during the years of the VCR technology, we were still able to rent movies. Now, it’s only the Chinese teledramas that can be rented. Haay!

    Anyway, I will check out those movies. Thanks for sharing po!
    😉

    Reply
  • 4. verns  |  August 28, 2007 at 12:24 am

    I watched Little Children and was a little bit shocked with that love making scene…didn’t expect that one hehe but it was a good movie and you know what? your fave quote is also the striking line for me in the movie…

    Reply
  • 5. pining  |  August 28, 2007 at 7:41 am

    Nice one Niceheart as I love film reviews🙂
    What do you know Kate Winslet taking her kit off again ; I’d like to see this he he
    Zodiac, is in my must-see list and I almost forgot… thanks for reminding me🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Daphne  |  August 29, 2007 at 3:07 am

    “Little Children” was interesting, a far cry from the mainstream Hollywood fare. “The Lake House” based on a Korean film could have been better imho. Not that I saw the Korean film to begin with but I guess Keanu Reeves ruined it for me hehe “The Last Kiss” is also based on another movie, this time from Italy. This film irritated me to death because of the ending. But I do acknowledge the fact that Zach Braff is better in serious roles than acting like a clown on Scrubs. “Notes on the Scandal” was creepy and thrilling at the same time. I haven’t seen “Thank you for Smoking”, probably check if it is already available at mu suki video store.

    Thanks for the shoutout re my Zodiac review.🙂
    Sorry this comment is way too long😀

    Reply
  • 7. Gypsy  |  August 29, 2007 at 3:09 am

    For a movie buff like me, am surprised I’ve only seen Lake House from your list! Parang depressing yong “Little Children” ah…I dont know if the others will get to be shown here, since they are not really very “commercial”…but I would love to watch any movie with Cate B. and Judi D., what a casting coupe!

    Reply
  • 8. Rey  |  August 30, 2007 at 3:13 am

    I watched both ‘Little Children’ and ‘Lakehouse’. I like Little children’s story though I was moved more by Lakehouse. Why not? It has hopeless romantiscm and architecture in it.🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Rach (Heart of Rachel)  |  August 30, 2007 at 9:30 am

    I like reading film reviews. I like the movie Lake House. I watched it at the theatre and bought the DVD. I heard the original version is worth watching but don’t know where I could get a copy.

    Reply
  • 10. ladybug  |  August 30, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    Mahilig ka rin palang manood. I got intrigued by “The Lake House.” Thanks for this niceheart.😀

    Reply
  • 11. bw  |  August 30, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    I like Kate Winslet so I’ll watch Little children. I think I have seen all her movies with her nude scenes haha🙂 I have no patience for watching movies anymore – it’s just too long hehe🙂 Bootleg DVD’s have surface pretty quick here so there’s a chance I could get all of them🙂 I got a pretty good copy of the latest Die Hard while it was still showing in the theatres🙂

    Reply
  • 12. zingtrial  |  August 30, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    Cool reviews My friend might try and get one as I am rather busy these days, will have to watch in two parts He!He!He!.Till than all the best pal.Thanks for sharing🙂

    Reply
  • 13. JO  |  August 30, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    i love the lake house! kaka-in love!

    Reply
  • 14. annamanila  |  August 31, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    I love the quotations. I love to collect them too and then modify them and make them my own.

    Among the moviews you reviewed, I saw only one … Lake House. A reality bender, no? But well, sabi nga, the past, present and future is just one continuum. Whtever that means. hahaha. I

    Thanks for the list, thanks for the review. I think i just might see a movie this weekend. 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Tin  |  August 31, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    I have only watched The Lake House. Love the story!🙂

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  September 1, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    Thank you for the comments everyone. He he. I don’t even consider these as movie reviews. They are just summaries. But nonetheless, thank you all for your kind words.🙂 Now I’m pressured to write more critique and opinions in my next movie post.🙂 But that’s alright. Just kidding about the pressure. No pressure there, really.🙂

    I haven’t had the time to bloghop lately. So please do excuse me if I haven’t visited you guys. Will try to make up next time. Til then, have a nice weekend everyone. 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. dee  |  September 1, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    I love to watch movies too and do prefer the dvds to going to a theater. This year it has been to heck to attend a theater and too hectic to watch them at home. I had a wedding, baby shower and all sorts of things going on this summer. You should try flixter.com for their movit trivia. I love it. I have not blogged for about two months because of all the stuff going on.

    Reply
  • 18. andrei  |  September 2, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    i’ve noticed you like quality films/movies. check out warm springs with kenneth brannagh and cynthia nixon. i’m sure you’ll find it interesting. it’s franklin d. roosevelt’s bio.

    Reply
  • 19. eric aka senor enrique  |  September 5, 2007 at 1:18 am

    Wow! And I haven’t been watching any movies, except for Inside Job last week on HBO.

    But if ever the urge hits in the near future, I will use your list to select from. Thanks for sharing🙂

    Reply
  • 20. niceheart  |  September 7, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Dee, thanks for recommending flixter.com. I’ll visit it when I get the chance. Congratulations to your daughter on getting married. So is she also the one having a baby?

    Thanks also for the recommendation, andrei. I think I’ve heard about Warm Springs. Is that the one where Cynthia Nixon has to wear false teeth? I might check that out too.🙂

    You’re welcome, Eric.🙂

    Reply
  • 21. My 2007 Summer Movies - Part 2 « Journey to Honeyville  |  September 8, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    […] another list of the movies I watched this summer. And as I’ve written in my comment in my previous post, I didn’t consider my entry as movie reviews. They were just summaries. But since I know you […]

    Reply
  • 22. Little Children « My Movie Room  |  September 8, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    […] This is simultaneously posted at My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 1. […]

    Reply
  • 23. Thank You For Smoking « My Movie Room  |  September 8, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    […] This is simultaneously posted at My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 1. […]

    Reply
  • 24. The Lake House « My Movie Room  |  September 8, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    […] This is simultaneously posted at My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 1. […]

    Reply
  • 25. The Last Kiss « My Movie Room  |  September 8, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    […] This is simultaneously posted at My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 1. […]

    Reply
  • 26. Notes on a Scandal « My Movie Room  |  September 8, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    […] This is simultaneously posted at My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 1. […]

    Reply
  • 27. The Zodiac « My Movie Room  |  September 8, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    […] This is simultaneously posted at My 2007 Summer Movies – Part 1. […]

    Reply
  • 28. My 2007 Summer Movies - Part 3 « Journey to Honeyville  |  September 17, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    […] 17, 2007 Let me wrap up this series before summer ends.  Coz although fall doesn’t officially start until September 23rd, […]

    Reply
  • 29. andrei  |  October 30, 2007 at 2:29 am

    yeah, i’m sure she needs those false teeth to look like eleanor. i actually cried watching that movie, brought back sad memories of my late brother who contracted polio at an early age.

    Reply
  • 30. Chiptweew  |  October 30, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    You don’t really need or want that lifestyle, it might hurt y’all slowly more…….Just tell him you
    don’t wanna repeat something your not too proud of z7uas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


