Reading and Watching Harry Potter

August 16, 2007 at 12:46 am 33 comments

Warning:  Spoilers ahead.  If you haven’t read the fifth, sixth and seventh Harry Potter books and you are like me who hate spoilers and have avoided the words Harry, Potter, Deathly, Hallows and spoilers in the internet in the last few weeks, then turn away now and click on the back button or go to the next blog on your list.

Harry Potter I have been on a Potter-a-thon for the last six weeks.  Whatever do I mean by that?  Well, I have wanted to re-read Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix before I watched the movie.  So I was glad to have been able to do than once the kids were off from school.  Because really, it’s only in the summer when I can have enough free time to catch up with my books, DVDs, cleaning up and organizing the house, etc.  But I am a slow reader, and unlike my niece who read the Order of the Phoenix in only two days, it took me a few weeks to finish Phoenix.  When I asked her, “How do you people do that?  I can only read one chapter a night.”  She replied, “Well, that’s what I did the whole two days, Tita.  I have only been reading the book.”  Of course, she wasn’t working, at least on those two days, and she doesn’t have her own kids to look after.  So please tell me, whoever is reading this.  Is it only people who don’t have kids who could read a book that quick?  Because I can’t imagine any other parents, or at least mothers, who could just lock themselves up in a room to finish a book overnight or over a few days and ignore their small children.

When we went on our trip to Alberta, I brought my copy of Phoenix with me.  At first I thought that reading in the car through the 14-16 hour drive was out of the question.  No way.  I usually get sick and nauseous when I read inside a moving vehicle, even on a moving bus.  So I would only read at night, one long chapter, in the bathroom of whatever hotel we were in, because I didn’t want to disturb the others with the light coming from my bedside lamp.  But on our way back to Winnipeg, I thought I’d try to prop up the book on top of my purse that was on my lap.  At least this way, I wasn’t looking down.  Because it’s really the looking down that makes me sick in a moving car.  And it worked.  So I read a few chapters while we were driving back home.

I have finished the book before I went to see the movie with my three boys and my 14-year old nephew, Angelus, who was allowed for the first time to see a Harry Potter movie.  I was actually quite surprised.  Because both my sister and BIL were adamant in letting their children read or watch Harry Potter.  But they’ve had a change of heart.  They probably realized that there’s nothing wrong with the stories, even though I knew that they haven’t read or watched any of them.  And this is also the reason why my 19-year old niece has also been on a Potter-a-thon.  She had never read any of the books, although I knew she was quite curious because she would ask me things.  She borrowed all my books.  I’ve only lent her Books 1 – 5.  I was still reading Book 6 when she borrowed them so I told her that she’d have to wait until I finish the last two books.

Well, anyway, back to the movie.  I enjoyed it.  Even my kids loved it.  Ryan, my middle son, said that his favourite HP movies so far are 1, 3, and 5.  So there you go.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix  I always get excited to see how the actors have grown since the last movie.  I was just watching Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone with the kids the other night and we were just amused at how young and innocent they looked back then.  Now they are older and more good-looking, I think.  I’m starting to have a crush on Daniel Radcliffe and I’m curious on how he gets naked in this play, The Equus.  Oh boy, I think that’s wrong.  He’s my oldest son’s age and again, I know, that’s wrong.  And since I have just read the book, I noticed right away that the filmmakers changed some of the details.  For instance, in the movie, it was Cho who sneaked about Dumbledore’s Army to Umbridge.  In the book, it was her friend Marietta, who wasn’t even in the movie.  But of course, this is understandable.  Some details and scenes have to be cut out from the 766-page book.  Otherwise, the movie would last up to four hours or more and that could get boring to watch and would cost the filmmakers more money. 

Here are just some more of the changes from the book that I noticed:  In the book, Harry passed out during the OWLs exam and not when the twins Fred and George called it quits and were flying out of Hogwarts.  Harry saw Snape’s memory of how he had been bullied by the young James Potter through the Pensieve and not when they were having their Occlumency lessons.  The glass ball of prophecy dropped from Neville’s pocket when his robes tore along the seam and it was not Lucius Malfoy who smashed it.  Harry learned about the prophecy from Dumbledore and he didn’t actually hear it when it smashed.  The prophecy that revealed that “neither can live while the other survives.”

I think that the fighting scenes were spectacular.  So did my kids.  I loved how they showed a few scenes where Ron was being concerned about Hermione.  I really thought at that time that they were gonna end up together in the end.  And they did, didn’t they?

Sirius dies  Great improvement in acting from the young actors.  I liked that part when Harry was screaming NNOOO! when Sirius fell behind the veil and died.  He was screaming but you don’t hear it.  His screams were muffled by the background music.  I LOVE that!

In Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry feels so much anger.  He’s still mourning Cedric Diggory.  People won’t believe that Voldemort’s back.  Dumbledore’s avoiding him.  Snape’s going through his innermost thoughts and memories during their Occlumency lessons.  He has limited contact with Sirius.  He never felt so alone.  I see this anger on Daniel’s acting.  I must say again.  Very good performances not just on his part but on the other actors as well – young and old.

I can’t wait to see the next one.

After reading Phoenix, I just had to read Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince again. After all, it’s been two years since I last read it and I want to refresh my mind with the details before I could go on with Book 7, the last installment in the series.  I wanted to savour once again the moment when Harry and Ginny first kissed.  I wanted to refresh my mind about the horcruxes, about Harry and Dumbledore’s trip to the cave and the black lake, and although it was awful, how Snape killed Dumbledore on top of the tower.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows  And finally, I opened Book 7, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  First, let me just congratulate this genius, Ms. J.K. Rowling, for engaging not only young children but also children up to 99 years old (or more?) in this wonderful series of books that is already considered a classic by many.  I love how she dedicated this final book: “The dedication of this book is split seven ways:  (She names 6 important people in her life) and to you, if you have stuck with Harry until the very end.”  That’s me, and I guess millions of people all over the world.

J.K. already revealed even while she was still writing Deathly Hallows that one of the main characters would die.  And many speculated that it might be Harry.  Oh how awful, I thought.  And then there were also theories that it could be someone close to him, like Ron, Hermione, or Ginny.  Still, awful. 

Anyway, I started Chapter One with much anticipation.  When Hedwig died during the escape in one of the earlier chapters, I thought that was a bad omen.  When Harry and Ginny had a tender moment in Chapter 7, I thought, could it be her?  Here’s Harry already seeing himself and Ginny getting married and then she might die anyway?  And then when Harry and Ron had a row in Chapter 15 and Ron left, I thought, could it be Ron, his best mate?  But Ron came back a few chapters later.  And then I thought, could it be Hermione?  The one who stuck with him through all of these and who has been really a big help, the brains, the genius actually, in helping him understand all about the history of magic and The Tales of Beedle the Bard and all the loopholes in his plans, or actions, because he barely really made any plans at all.  Could it be actually her?

And then another creature that Harry loved died – Dobby.  Another bad sign.  And then the Battle at Hogwarts began.  People who Harry loved started falling one by one.  First Fred, and then the others.  When Harry learned that a fragment of Voldemort’s soul latched onto him when the Killing Curse rebounded upon Voldemort, I realized that he was the seventh horcrux and that both he and Voldemort was to die.  How awful. 

Harry died, or so we thought.  Or perhaps he did, but only temporarily just so he could have a chat with Dumbledore in the afterlife (?).  It’s true that Harry is the better man than Dumbledore.  While Dumbledore was selfish and was obsessed with the hallows so he could conquer death, Harry has been selfless and sacrificed himself and let Voldemort kill him, if that was the only way to destroy the Dark Lord, and thus making him not just the true master of death, but also a hero.

I am satisfied with the way J.K. Rowling ended the Harry Potter series.  The Good triumphed over the Evil.  After all, it’s all about choices, right?  I was just watching Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets tonight.  One of the scenes that struck me the most was when Dumbledore reminded Harry that although the Sorting Hat thought that Harry belonged to Slytherin, he still chose to be in Gryffindor.  Yes, it’s all about choices.  Like what the Bible has been teaching us from the Book of Genesis.  You either choose to obey God or eat the apple from the Tree of Life.  Just like Star Wars.  It’s just too bad that Anakin chose the Dark Force.

And of course, Harry Potter is not just about Good or Evil.  J. K. Rowling incorporated many other important plots that involve friendship, family, loyalty, trust, vows, remorse, social issues, and many others, but most especially LOVE.  The power the Dark Lord knows not.  And I think that is the ultimate power of all.  And speaking of love, what a revelation about Snape, huh?  He has loved Lily all this time and until his end.

Now, I can go back to those Harry Potter posts that I have intentionally skipped and see what the others thought about the Deathly Hallows.  And yes, that was also one of the reasons why I haven’t been bloghopping much lately.  I was not only busy reading the books but I was also worried that I might run into any spoilers.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV. Tags: .

Drumheller, the dinosaur town Awards time

33 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toe  |  August 16, 2007 at 2:08 am

    I’m currently reading Deathly Hallows. But I love spoilers. I’ve read all the spoilers. I tend to read too fast when I don’t know the ending and I miss the good parts and worse, I don’t get to enjoy the play of words which J.K. Rowling expertly weaves. Now, I’m reading super-super slow… really relishing the words. I don’t have kids so this weekend… I’m going to spend the entire two days enjoying the book. 🙂 Ang dami ngang lessons ng Harry Potter no?

    Reply
  • 2. sesame  |  August 16, 2007 at 2:41 am

    Unfortunately I am no Harry Potter fan. Never read the books and only watched 2 of the movies. I don’t know why it doesn’t appeal to me very much.

    Reply
  • 3. ladybug  |  August 16, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    Hay…tama ka diyan. I really love the way Rowling ended the Harry Potter series. I even wish that Rowling would more Harry Potter series. Kahit na never-ending. Ang saya!!! Or maybe she can write another series about another character in the series. 😀

    Reply
  • 4. verns  |  August 17, 2007 at 1:06 am

    Hi Niceheart🙂

    I watched Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone yesterday (for the nth time) and IMO the acting was better compared to the succeeding movies. I don’t know if it’s simply because they were cuter back then hehe But nevertheless I love all the movies..I love Harry Potter.

    When we watched Order, we were kinda disappointed because we were expecting more emotions. I guess we were just comparing (as usual) the kind of emotions we had we read the book. I mean in the book Harry was really frustrated that he was not kept in the loop about what’s happening but in the movie parang babaw lang. Yeah he was upset but it was different..parang kulang…but that’s just me….and again love ko pa rin HP hehe

    I love the ending and you are right Niceheart. Harry Potter is the better man compared to Dumbledore. Also between Ron and Hermione, Hermione will always be the stronger one. I cried buckets when Dobby died. That chapter is my favorite. When Harry buried the elf..it was very symbolic. I am reading the book again.

    Btw of all the HP books, Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite. I was hoping JK will somehow include Sirius in Book 7…even just a visit sa dream ni Harry or something but talagang wala huhuhuhu

    Reply
  • 5. Kyels  |  August 17, 2007 at 2:27 am

    Rowling’s a genius! I loved how she ended the series, it was amazing …😀

    I managed to finish all the books in one or two days as well because once I’m stuck to a book, I will read it till the end … Bad habit … Haha!

    However, I hope she will write more about Ron and Harry’s family and the other characters too, it would be a good read definitely!
    🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Daphne  |  August 17, 2007 at 3:14 am

    I’m not a HP fan so I cannot relate.
    I just wanted to add that I don’t have kids but it takes me months to read a book. I would read a few chapters before bedtime then forget to read the next night until I realize that book hasn’t been opened in months.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  August 17, 2007 at 8:16 am

    Toe, I was just reading another blogger yesterday and she also said that she read the book fast, in 24 hours, and she also said that she skipped some of the words. I knew it. That’s how you fast readers do it. But I tend to read every word because I’d get lost if I don’t. There are times when I’d even go back a paragraph or two when I drift off. I like to visualize the images in my mind.🙂

    In regards to spoilers, I don’t really like them. I want to learn what happens as I am reading them on the pages. I guess, I just want to feel what the character is feeling or going through at that moment without the knowledge of what lies ahead. But that’s just me. I guess we all have our own peculiarities.🙂

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  August 17, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Sesame, that’s alright. We all have our own choices and tastes.🙂 Actually it was my oldest son who got me hooked on the book. He was in sixth grade when he asked me to buy the first one and the curious mom that I was, read it too. And the rest is as they say, is history.🙂

    You like it too, huh, ladybug? I think I heard that she will be starting another series, but not HP. And you just might be right. Maybe it’s about another character in the series.🙂

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  August 17, 2007 at 8:35 am

    Verns, so you were disappointed pala. Maybe I was just so easy to pleased. 🙂 But I think I know where you’re coming from. On the overall, I think the filmmakers had to compress the story in the movie. Which I get because it was such a long book. I don’t know, but as I said, I felt his anger about people not believing him about Voldemort, his limited contact with Dumbledore and Sirius, etc. He felt so alone. I could even relate to the emotions and was teary eyed pa nga in some of the scenes. Ah, but that’s just me and my drama in real life. Okay, I digress. I’ll stop here before I reveal any more ka-dramahan.🙂

    And didn’t Sirius appear in Book 7? When Harry finally found the Resurrection Stone and his mum, dad, Lupin and Sirius appeared beside him while he was walking to his death in the forest, just before he met Voldemort?

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  August 17, 2007 at 8:40 am

    Kyels, she is a genius, isn’t she? Another fast reader huh? When I was younger, probably your age, I didn’t read as fast as you guys also do. Yes, I could also get stuck on a book, but I’d had to take a break.🙂

    Daphne, I also didn’t read as fast before I had kids. Not that I’d forget about it, I was just slow.🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Rev Stan  |  August 17, 2007 at 10:52 am

    I saw Equus twice (because I loved it so much the first time) at the beginning and end of the run.
    He is completely naked in one scene and runs around the stage, it isn’t titilating but a necessary part of the story. A young woman is also naked.
    It was so much part of the play I was more shocked when he started smoking in one scene.
    Before the first time I saw it, I had my doubts about his acting ability because stage acting takes no prisoners but he was actually very good and improved over the run.
    My posts about it are at:
    http://revstan.vox.com/library/post/harry-potters-magic-wand-the-verdict.html
    and
    http://revstan.vox.com/library/post/equus-again.html
    If you are interested…

    Reply
  • 12. Tin  |  August 17, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Yes ate, like your niece, I could also finish a book in two days. My only break is when I pee or eat and drink. Hehehe.🙂

    I love HP movies too. Sometimes, its hard for me to follow some of the action part in the book so I always wait for the movie to see how it was done. I even thought that the prophecy was like a scroll but in the movie, its a spherical glass. hehehe.🙂

    I didn’t read the rest of your entry cause I haven’t read Deathly Hollows yet.😀

    Reply
  • 13. bw  |  August 17, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    When I was on vacation in the mountains, my niece bought the latest HP book at Walmart.. Man, she read the whole book in a day or two at most🙂 I’m not an avid fan of HP ( i watch only the movie) but you seem to enjoy reading the book along with your children ! Good your you🙂

    Reply
  • 14. pining  |  August 17, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    I have reads the first 2 hp books and that’s about it; loved the films though, but I haven’t seen the latest one yet.
    At the moment I’m reading Northern Lights, that is if I’m not too tired to read, or even to open it🙂

    Reply
  • 15. chase  |  August 17, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    I was actually wishing it could have been Cho Chang who died there instead of Fred, Lupin or Tonks.

    Reply
  • 16. Sidney  |  August 17, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    I am not a big Harry Potter fan but my son managed to make me wait till midnight in front of a bookstore to get an early copy….

    Reply
  • 17. niceheart  |  August 17, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    Hello Rev Stan. Thanks for dropping by and enlightening us about Equus. It’s nice to hear that he did a very good performance in the play and I guess that makes it worth watching twice and it’s not just about the nudity. I also read somewhere that he smoked in the play. But oh well. Daniel is still young and if he’s already doing well, I think he’ll go a long way in acting. It’s just too bad that he’s quitting school. I read that also in an interview.

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  August 17, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    Tin, when I was your age, I couldn’t read a book that fast. I was living by myself then and I have to do everything around the house, including cook the food before I could eat.🙂

    And that’s why I don’t want to breeze through a book. I want to take in every detail and visualize them in my mind.🙂

    Reply
  • 19. niceheart  |  August 17, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    Actually, BW, it was only my oldest son who has read the books. But now that Book 7 is out, he’s not interested anymore. He’s 17 now. He has other interests now, most especially his music and his friends. But he and his brothers are still hooked on the movies.🙂

    Pining, I guess not everybody gets hooked on the HP books. But that’s alright. I looked up Northern Lights. And it looks like it’s also about magic.🙂

    Reply
  • 20. niceheart  |  August 17, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    I don’t know about Cho Chang, Chase. Harry’s not into her anymore. It’s Ginny now who he loves. So I guess it would not make sense to kill her off. It has to be somebody who Harry cares about a lot. I actually didn’t expect to see her in Deathly Hallows. But way to go Ginny. I love how she put her feet down when Cho wanted to accompany Harry to the Ravenclaw common room and Ginny insisted that Luna went with him instead.🙂

    Ah, you’re a good father, Sidney. I didn’t have to wait in line. I bought my copy a few days after it was released and at almost a half price discount at Superstore.🙂

    Reply
  • 21. Haze  |  August 18, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    I am lazy when it comes to reading but I love watching the movie ! I have the DVD collections of HP, nag sale kasi kaya medyo naka mura ako🙂 ! I wish I have the patience in reading but I love reading magazines and newspaper : ) para medyo maikli !

    Reply
  • 22. Wil  |  August 18, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    I did not read your entire post because I’ve only read up to book 5 and I just got a copy of book 6. But I will read the rest of the Potter series so I can finally read all these Harry Potter posts. hehehe. I’ve only read one spoiler on a blog — that a certain wizard died in book 6. Thanks a lot, verns. :p

    Reply
  • 23. Agnus  |  August 18, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    Actually po, I was able to read the first four books before the emphemeral ban. I’m glad they raised it though, so I can at least finish the series. I’m actually the opposite; I’m okay with spoilers as long as I know what happens in the end. I had to do that to at least find out what has happening in the rest of the books if I wasn’t allowed to read them. Salamat po for lending me (and us) your books. I didn’t know you had gotten the last book. I had asked a friend of mine if I could borrow her copy for the trip, but she had forgotten to bring it the last time we saw each other so I was just stuck with the “Half-Blood Prince” and “Stardust” on the way to NYC. Good thing I got “Daniel Deronda” at Barnes and Noble, or else I would have just been sleeping on the ride home. I had already read up on “Deathy Hallows” the day after it was released, so your post didn’t spoil that much. ;P

    Reply
  • 24. Agnus  |  August 18, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    P.S. It’s too bad Neville and Luna didn’t come to be a couple. They would have been cute together.❤

    Reply
  • 25. iskoo  |  August 19, 2007 at 6:32 am

    di ko pa nabasa yung HP books pero matigas ang ulo ko kaya binasa ko pa rin post mo, hehehe. lahat ng mob\vies napanood ko at di ko pinalampas na panoorin sa sine grabe ang ganda kasi, talagang nakikita mo sa nagkaka -edad ang mga bida. di pa ako nakukuntento ay pina-ulit ulit ko pa dito sa bahay ang panood ng HP.

    Reply
  • 26. niceheart  |  August 20, 2007 at 7:26 am

    Haze, there was also a time when I lost interest in reading. When I started having babies. It’s only now that they’re older and more independent that I’m reading again.🙂

    Wil, go on ahead and finish your HP books and then you can join in our discussions.🙂

    Agnus, thank you very much for the lovely New York souvenir. I love it! Hopefully one day, I can also go there.🙂 You can borrow Deathly Hallows if you want. I plan to read it again. But not yet. I’m starting with Book One for now.🙂

    Neville and Luna? Who knows. I heard that J.K. will be starting another series and it could just be about the other HP characters which could include the two.🙂

    Iskoo, kami rin dito kapag palabas sa TV and HP pinapanood pa rin namin.🙂

    Reply
  • 27. eric aka senor enrique  |  August 21, 2007 at 6:37 am

    I am one of those very few who never got into reading this very popular book series. Be that as it may, I have much respect for J.K. Rowling’s achievement. Wish I have her writing skills.

    Reply
  • 28. Julie  |  August 21, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    Ahh..I have read HP7 too. Finished with it Tuesday morning after I got it on the Saturday it went on sale. It was so engrossing. I cried (re Dobby), I laughed (especially with Kreacher) and I mulled over. Still some questions left unanswered. Though the epilogue seems “too rushed” for me. A student told me there’s gonna be another book, about Dumbledore. Don’t know if its true or if he is just teasing me.🙂

    Reply
  • 29. verns  |  August 21, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    oh yeah I forgot about that hehe I was actually expecting something like the one Harry had with Dumbledore…yung talagang nakapag-usap sila🙂

    Reply
  • 30. Aisha  |  August 30, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    I love the Movies . & the books
    Daniel is so talented as are Emma & Rupert & I could only wish to meet them !!
    Gosh but how would . a little city girl (11) do that ..
    this is how :
    I am going to Audition for the 7th Movie . by then I willl be (13) & will be able to audtion for all the girls parts ____
    yay me !! I am not sure when they are but will post when I do !!
    but please .. please ..please don’t count of it !!
    thankyou & rember this Name AISHA K )))

    Reply
  • 31. niceheart  |  September 4, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Hi Aisha. Thank you for the comment. Goodluck on the audition. And who knows, maybe we’ll see you in the next movie.🙂

    Reply
  • 32. Reading and Watching Harry Potter « My Movie Room  |  September 8, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    […] Read the rest of this entry. […]

    Reply
  • 33. niceheart  |  December 28, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    I was just watching the DVD of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix the other night. I just realized now that Harry heard the prophecy when he touched the glass ball for the first time, and not when it smashed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


