Canada Day Jazz Festival Wrap-Up

July 2, 2007 at 10:30 pm 15 comments

jazzstage.jpg 

The 2007 Jazz Winnipeg Festival wrapped up its annual season with a series of free jazz and pop concerts at the TD Canada Trust Stage in Old Market Square on Sunday, Canada Day. 

canada flag 

It was a rainy day.  No heavy downpour but showers here and there.  You’d see people open up their umbrellas when it started raining, and then after a while, the rain would stop and then later on start again.  There were quite a few of those big dark green Canada Trust umbrellas handed out so people were kept dry.

That’s my mother and her friend Tessie in their denims sitting at the front. 

jazz1.jpg 

There are a couple of restaurants around and there were also food stands, just in case anybody got hungry. 

 jazz3.jpg

The event started at 11:00 a.m. and ended at midnight.

jazz2.jpg
 
Reggie performed with the Manitoba High School Honour Band on this event.  As conductor Richard Gillis mentioned a few times, you don’t just get into this band.  You audition for this.  Every end of May, Richard Gillis auditions students from different schools in Manitoba and he also picks which of the students will make it to the band composed of around 20 performers.  This year, they had five rehearsals, which were held at the University of Manitoba.

jazz4.jpg

Here are two video clips from last Sunday’s event.  Please excuse the jerky movements especially in the second video.  I was holding the camcorder in one hand and the digicam in another.  I placed myself at the front of the crowd, but I couldn’t quite get a good spot because Reggie would be concealed either by the microphone or the soloist at the front.  Besides, people kept passing by in front of me.

In the first video clip, the band played The More I See You featuring Sophie in vocals.

In this one, they played Duke Ellington’s Things Ain’t What They Used To Be featuring saxophonist Christine Jensen.  The tune was quite catchy and there were three couples that danced not too far from the stage.  I videotaped them too.

Entry filed under: Reggie and his music, Special Occasions, Summer, Winnipeg. Tags: .

The Graduate, His Awesomeness The View From My Post

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyels  |  July 3, 2007 at 12:24 am

    Wow, amazing. I love the videos!

    (:

    We always have Jazz festival here too but it falls sometime around August.

    Reply
  • 2. ipanema  |  July 3, 2007 at 2:48 am

    Oh, that was wonderful! Thanks for sharing. I love “The More I See you” and the couples dancing!🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Rach (Heart of Rachel)  |  July 3, 2007 at 6:53 am

    The Jazz festival looks like a fun event. Thanks for sharing the photos and video clips. Congrats to Reggie and the rest of the band for a great performance.

    Reply
  • 4. pining  |  July 3, 2007 at 7:37 am

    thanks for sharing this niceheart, it’s definitely better than the brass bands that we have over hear🙂
    Sophie is a good singer!

    Reply
  • 5. JO  |  July 3, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    sayang I missed the Canada Day celebration here… got an early morning shift at work eh.

    Reply
  • 6. Belle  |  July 3, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    that was a nice treat niceheart, thanks for sharing. they sounded really good though i was hoping you would zoom Reggie.

    Reply
  • 7. Wil  |  July 4, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    They were both nice songs in the videos. Sophie has a nice voice. The 2nd video though seemed like it speeded up or was cut-off at certain points. Maybe compressing the video caused that?

    Reply
  • 8. annamanila  |  July 4, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    Reggie and his band are superb. He’s the one who plays the flute ha. Thanks for sharing these clips with us.

    You must be musical too Niceheart! I also fancy a musical family. A daughter sings, a son plays the guitar. That’s about all. And me, I listen well. 🙂

    Happy Canada Day!

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  July 4, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Thanks for the comments guys. I’m glad you liked the videos even with my unsteady hand.

    Belle, I was holding the camera in my left hand (my weaker hand) and I didn’t want to zoom any closer because I was worried that instead of zooming to Reggie or the soloist, I might be unintentionally pointing it to somebody else. So I just left it at that. I was holding kasi in my right hand my digicam as I was also taking pictures at the same time. Talk about multi-tasking eh?🙂

    Wil, I also noticed that the 2nd video speeded up when I was transferring it to the computer. That was actually my second attempt. The first time, it was compressed much shorter, so I had to do it all over again. I don’t exactly know why it does that. I’m still new at transferring videos.

    Annamanila, no, we’re not really a musical family. Reggie’s the only one into music. Although my middle son also plays in Band. But that’s only because he didn’t want to go into Drama or Arts and he had no other choice but Band.🙂 And then there’s my husband who’s converted our basement into a home theatre setting and that’s where you would usually find him, listening to his music, sometimes the sound blasting throughout the house. As for me, we’re pretty much the same, I listen well too.🙂 Or as my friends have branded me, I’ve become a stage mom. Ha ha!

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  July 4, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Yes, I also like Sophie’s voice. This is her third time singing with the Manitoba High School Honour band. Reggie also performed with this band two years ago. So I’ve heard Sophie before and I liked her even then.🙂

    Reply
  • 11. kathy  |  July 5, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Ang galing! *applause* *applause*
    Great to finally view a couple of your videos here. This is a very nice addition to your post.🙂
    Sophie’ s voice is amazing. Hanga ako.

    Reply
  • 12. rhodora  |  July 5, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    I just hope that one day – Reggie will be able to perform in his parent’s native land. What a blast it would be!🙂

    Reply
  • 13. Leah  |  July 5, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    Oh, I love Jazz music. Thanks for sharing the videos.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  July 6, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    Thank you Kathy. Oo nga eh. Finally learned to upload videos. But you must have missed the other videos in my previous posts, mas maganda ang pagka-ka record kesa dito.

    Rhodora, I also hope that we could come back home and I’m sure that Reggie would gladly perform for the folks back there.🙂

    Leah, I’m glad you enjoyed the music.🙂

    Reply
  • 15. dan  |  November 21, 2011 at 9:19 am

    computerized tdcanadatrust modern of tradition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


