Jazz in the Courtyard

June 20, 2007 at 9:59 pm 14 comments

It’s summer once again here in Winnipeg and there are free outdoor concerts here and there.

jazz in the courtyard

One of this is Jazz in the Courtyard every Friday noons starting June 1 to August 24 at the CanWest Global Place.  This concert series will feature musicians from our local high school jazz bands.  The River East Collegiate Senior Jazz Band performed in one of these concerts two weeks ago. 

noon hour jazz 

Of course, I invited my friends who work downtown so that they could see Reggie play.  They were teasing me and calling me a stage mother.  That’s okay. I guess I am.🙂

jazz in the courtyard

reggie with clay and sam

Aside from the local jazz bands, there are also two special professional performances on July 6th and July 13th.

There are hotdog stands nearby, so you can eat your lunch while enjoying the live music.

Jazz in the Courtyard

From Friday, June 1 2007 – 12:00pm
To Friday, August 24 2007 –  1:30pm
Friday of each week
   
Location CanWest Global Place
Address 201 Portage Ave.
Tickets Free

Reggie has also auditioned and made it to the Manitoba High School Honour Band.  He is now busy rehearsing with the band in preparation for the Canada Day Wrap-up weekend of the Jazz Festival at the TD Canada Trust Stage in Old Market Square at the Exchange District.  If you are a music fan, you can check out the list of performers on this link.

Also, the recordings of the finalists to the 12th Annual Essentially Ellington High School Jazz Band Competition and Festival are now up on the Jazz at Lincoln Center website.  You can listen to the three selections each of the 15 band finalists played at the competition, including River East Collegiate.

Entry filed under: Reggie and his music, Summer, Winnipeg. Tags: .

Father’s Day at The Ex Pay phone rates increase

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ms Fair Face  |  June 21, 2007 at 3:28 am

    ooh summer is lovely for some afternoon jazz and people watch! Throw in some food and you get alfresco diningI hope the weather is doing you well!

    Reply
  • 2. Kyels  |  June 21, 2007 at 4:50 am

    Summer rocks … It’s the best time for me, in my opinion. Jazz bands, it has been quite some time since I last attended a gimmick.

    (:

    Reply
  • 3. pining  |  June 21, 2007 at 10:19 am

    there’s nothing wrong with being a stage mother… we all want the best for our kids so giving them a lot of encouragement is a good thing indeed
    good luck on his endeavours and the future ones🙂

    Reply
  • 4. zeroimpact  |  June 21, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Yay, free music
    Now I really wish I work near there or even live there
    Hmmmm

    Reply
  • 5. TruBlue  |  June 22, 2007 at 12:16 am

    I’ve read some of your posts on Senor Enrique’s and Wil’s. I decided to check yours again as I remembered some commenters living in Canada. What a coincidence! My youngest sister and her family are about six hours away from boarding a flight to Winnipeg,
    Manitoba to settle I hope. They tried Australia but for some reason
    it didn’t work.
    So it’s summertime in Winnipeg, hope they’ll be able to adjust since they’re coming from Baguio. Cheers and goodhealth….

    Reply
  • 6. Major Tom  |  June 22, 2007 at 1:16 am

    Sunny weather and jazz in the park—this could just be what I mean by perfect summer. Good luck to reggie and may his career in jazz bloom all the more…

    Reply
  • 7. Belle  |  June 22, 2007 at 1:18 am

    Irene, I wouldn’t mind watching Reggie perform. Too bad, am too far away, your Reggie and my Tepsie can organize a concert together, how’s that?

    It looks like his hands are full this summer. Good for him. He sure loves to perform. Way to go Reggie!

    Reply
  • 8. verns  |  June 22, 2007 at 1:35 am

    I’m happy for Reggie🙂 and it’s okay to be a stage mother hehe I mean you have all the reason to be so proud of you son🙂

    Reply
  • 9. bugsybee  |  June 22, 2007 at 8:00 am

    That just shows how they truly appreciate jazz there. Last summer, I went to listen to free jazz music by the Manila bayside and I really enjoyed it.

    If I had a son as talented (and as serious with his music) as Reggie is, I’d be a stage mother too. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  June 22, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    Thanks for the comments everyone. Now, I don’t feel too bad for being such a stage mother.🙂

    Yes, there are quite a few jazz fans here in Winnipeg. There is a jazz station on the radio, jazz festivals in the summer, and also jazz programs in the university. I’m sure you jazz lovers would enjoy watching and participating in these kinds of activities.🙂

    TruBlue, thanks for dropping by. It’s a good thing that your sister and her family are coming here in the summer. At least they could gradually adjust to our climate here before the cool months arrive.🙂 I think Winnipeg is a good place to raise children. The programs in the city, and Canada in general is very family-oriented. I hope they like it here.🙂

    Belle, oh that would be wonderful to have my Reggie and your Tepsie perform together. I can just imagine the music that they could produce.🙂 Who knows? Hmmn.🙂

    Reply
  • 11. chase  |  June 23, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    That sounds nice and Reggie is lucky to have a very supportive mother like you. My mother isnt really that supportive and she doesnt even know most of my extra curricular stuff at school before

    Reply
  • 12. Tin  |  June 23, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    You must be really proud of Reggie!🙂

    Reply
  • 13. haze  |  June 25, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    We have the fête de la musique and it started last week ! Ganda di ba ambiance is great with free music ! I saw my friend’s daughter playing guitar and she plays very well ! Wow, I really love jazz it’s so relaxing😉 !

    Reply
  • 14. Toe  |  June 27, 2007 at 8:26 am

    Oh, I’m so happy for Reggie. He really loves music and he’s getting so much great exposure recently. He looks good on that stage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


