The hit songs when I was 18

June 11, 2007 at 9:58 pm 28 comments

I was tagged by supermom Earth Ember [ sorry ange, can’t help it🙂 ]  to name the hit songs of the year I turned 18.  Oh what a trip down memory lane.  The year I turned 18 was one of the most turbulent years of my life.
 
I ran away from my auntie’s house where my mother left me and my sister when she went abroad.  I went to live with my paternal grandmother because I missed my father.  But my father didn’t live there and would only go there on the weekends.  After my first year of college, I left Centro Escolar University and transferred to the Philippine School of Business Administration because, I would explain to people then that, PSBA had the best accounting courses and they produce the topnotchers in the Certified Public Accountant (CPA) Board Exams.  But here’s the fact.  My boyfriend, who stopped seeing me, was enrolled there.  I know.  How pathetic was I?  I guess I followed him there.  It’s a long story and maybe I’ll blog about that another time.  You wish.  He he he.

Well, anyway, Return of the Jedi (Star Wars) and Superman 3 were released on that year.  And it was also the year when our Philippine hero Benigno (Ninoy) Aquino Jr. was shot at the tarmac of Manila International Airport, now known as the Ninoy Aquino International Airport.  I was there at the overpass at Lerma-Espanya to watch his funeral procession with my buddies Tess and Lyn.  Right at the exact moment when the coffin that was surrounded with yellow flowers came right below us, rain started to pour.  And I came home soaking wet.  How’s that for a memory?
 
Does that tell you yet how old I am?🙂

The Rules:
1. Go to www.popculturemadness.com
2. Select the year you turned 18
3. Get all nostalgic over the hit songs of the year
4. Write about it
5. Pass this tag onto 5 others

Thriller

Billie Jean and Beat It – both by Michael Jackson.  His Thriller album went #1 and stayed #1 for 37 weeks.  I didn’t see the video of Thriller until I came here in Canada in late ’89.  And I had to rely on my imagination for the visuals of his Thriller song.  The creaking sound of a door opening, the foot steps and the howl at the beginning is very clever, I think.  I have a CD of MJ’s Greatest Hits Volume 1 and wrote about it in my post, The Timeless Music of MJ.  And as I’ve said before, it’s MJ’s talent that I admire, not the person that he has become.

Flashdance (What a Feeling) – Irene Cara.  I enjoyed this song not just because it was sang by my namesake but also because of the upbeat tempo.  I haven’t seen the movie but don’t you just love the dancing scene?

Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) – Eurythmics.  This was the theme song of The Apprentice: Martha Stewart, one of the shows she started on her comeback after her ordeal with the law.  Just look at these lyrics: “Some of them want to use you  Some of them want to get used by you  Some of them want to abuse you  Some of them want to be abused.”  So fitting for her.

Islands in the Stream – Kenny Rogers with Dolly Parton. I like his duet with Sheena Easton, We’ve Got Tonight better than this one.  There were quite a few songs then that are duets of big music stars.  My favourite Kenny Rogers’ song of the 80s is Lady.  Remember, I was pining for my “knight in shining armour.”  :)

All Night Long – Lionel Ritchie. I didn’t care much for this song.  My favourite Lionel Ritchie songs were Endless Love and Truly.  The lines “two hearts that beat as one” and “I’ll have your heart for always” got me.  I know, I am so baduy.

Do You Really Want To Hurt Me – Culture Club.  Do you really want to hurt me? Do you really want to make me cry?  Remember Boy George?  Their song Karma Chameleon became a hit the following year.

Every Breath You Take – Police.  Was it Senor Enrique who pointed out that people neglected to see the real meaning of this song?  “Every move you make Every vow you break Every smile you fake Every claim you stake I’ll be watching you.”  It’s actually about stalking somebody.

Air Supply

Making Love Out of Nothing at All – Air Supply. This song only made it to Number Two but it was one of the greatest hits of that year.  I love Air Supply and I also have a cassette tape, later on replaced by a CD.  I was in my first year at PSBA when a classmate in Social Science and I discussed what the title of this song means.  How do you make love out of nothing at all?  Obviously, we both had not experienced making love yet. We were still talking when our professor called her to share a story and she related to us how her boyfriend died, I can’t remember exactly the details now.  And then she told me that there’s this guy who looks like the handsome Vic Sotto and he has shown an interest in her and he would sing her this song.

Total Eclipse of the Heart – Bonnie Tyler.  This is the song that kept Making Love Out of Nothing At All from the top position, but they both stayed up on the charts for six months.  Don’t you just love this lyrics:

“Once upon a time I was falling in love
But now I’m only falling apart
There’s nothing I can do
A total eclipse of the heart
Once upon a time there was light in my life
But now there’s only love in the dark
Nothing I can say
A total eclipse of the heart.”

I guess that was just me hurting from an unrequited love.

Okay, enough of my pathetic life back then. 

I’m tagging these five people:
1. Teacher Julie 
2. Ipanema
3. Pining
4. Annamanila
5. Gypsy

Both Ipanema and Teacher Julie tagged me for the 7 songs meme.  Ipanema, some months ago and Teacher Julie, a couple of weeks ago.  But I wasn’t able to name 7 songs that I am currently listening to because, as I explained to them, I am not up to date with the current songs.  I’m stuck in the 80’s. :)  So I’ll understand if they’re not up to doing this tag.🙂

Entry filed under: About Me, Books, movies, music, TV, Memory Lane. Tags: .

New York – A Jazz Experience Summer Solstice

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ferdz  |  June 12, 2007 at 10:30 am

    Oh God! Sorry but when I hear those songs, I rememebr when I was really young. My mom and cousins would tease me now as they remember me dancing on table top to that Michael Jackson tunes. Still love listening to them until now.

    Reply
  • 2. ipanema  |  June 12, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    hahahaha…well, I was supposed to tell you I want to do this. But when I read my name…lol. I’m IT. Ok. I like music. Anyway, I’m older than you are. 🙂

    Wait mo lang post ko ha?🙂

    Reply
  • 3. pining  |  June 12, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    You know I still got that Air Supply in a cassette tape too, haven’t played it for ages, I doubt if it still works…I love the police!
    anyway, will do , thanks🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Swipe  |  June 12, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    Well, I’ve always said that Every Breath You Take is a stalker’s song but I suppose everyone who’s ever been heartbroken goes through a phase where they want to stalk the object or their affection (i.e. you PSBA transfer, hehehe).

    By the way, just in case you didn’t know, We’ve Got Tonight is a song about having a one night stand.😀

    Reply
  • 5. zeroimpact  |  June 12, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    I can totally relate to most of the songs and I was nothing near eighteen then.
    Michael is the best and all the songs you have here just soothes the ears
    Long live good songs, no matter what year

    Reply
  • 6. niceheart  |  June 12, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    Ferdz, that’s okay, no offense taken. You’d be surprised to realize that there are many of us in the blogosphere who could actually be your mother, I mean in terms of age.🙂 I’m not saying that I am old enough to be your mother. Or maybe I am.🙂

    Ipanema, thank you for doing the tag. It was fun, di ba?🙂

    Pining, thanks. I’m sure you’ll feel nostalgic too.🙂

    Swipe, well, if you want to put it so bluntly, yes, you can say that I was a stalker.🙂 We’ve Got Tonight – of course, one night stand.🙂

    Zeroimpact, you must still have been in diapers when these songs came out. Glad to hear you also enjoy this kind of songs.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. JO  |  June 12, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    love all the songs you have here… i guess we are on the same age bracket.

    Reply
  • 8. annamanila  |  June 12, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Omg. You putting me on the spot! Awww. I know everybody knows i am old but very few know exactly how. Hmmm lemme see.

    I like every breath i take!!

    Reply
  • 9. Gypsy  |  June 13, 2007 at 12:17 am

    Hey thanks for the tag–actually I was only thinking about writing something about 80’s songs last week so this is timely!🙂 Halos magka-generation pala tayo…halos lang..bwehehe. Peace!

    Reply
  • 10. Wil  |  June 13, 2007 at 1:58 am

    I remember this year very well because it was the year my family and I moved to the US. Nice memories to the songs there. 😀 Does baduy mean really sentimental or something like that? So you like Lionel Richie? I remember they kept playing that song “Hello” when we moved to the US. How about that song “Three Times a Lady”? Baduy ba mga kanta nya? hehe

    Reply
  • 11. Swipe  |  June 13, 2007 at 2:16 am

    Well, I’ve been guilty of stalking myself.🙂 although not to the extreme that some people take their stalking to.

    Reply
  • 12. Kyels  |  June 13, 2007 at 4:35 am

    I love Air Supply and Police; good old songs!

    [:

    Reply
  • 13. bw  |  June 13, 2007 at 10:26 am

    Love the Bonnie Tyler song.. I actually saw Bonnie Tyler at a concert and boy that girl can rock🙂

    LOL.. on Boy George .. Do You Really Want to Hurt Me🙂 Remember the NHL ( National Hockey League) strike a couple of years ago? Fans were so irate that the season was lost. Anyway, an ad showing a sobbing hockey fan sitting at an almost empty pub with the song DO YOU REALLY WANT TO HURT ME playing on the background appealing to the hockey gods to let the games begin was hilarious I thought hehe🙂

    Reply
  • 14. julie  |  June 13, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    I can sing those songs, Niceheart. But I wasn’t 18 yet, if I remember it correctly. It was like Rick Astley (?) songs and New Wave being played on the radio when I was 18. Will be doing the tag. This must be exciting!

    Thanks,🙂

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  June 13, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    JO, I have the feeling that we are of the same age too.🙂

    Annamanila, oops. I didn’t mean to put you in the spot. You can pick a year that you like instead and nobody would know.🙂

    Gypsy, halos lang ba? I wanted to pick one from a younger generation and you came to mind.🙂

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  June 13, 2007 at 10:17 pm

    Wil, yes, I also like those 2 Lionel Ritchie songs. Baduy, let me try to explain this. Baduy actually refers to one’s tastes. Let’s say someone dresses frumpily or out of style, they might be considered baduy. Or if you like sappy movies or sad songs or ones that include the words now and forever, i will love you always, or I will wait for you forever, like I did, you might be considered baduy. But you see, I also think baduy is a relative term. My songs may be baduy to some, but not to me.🙂 Now I just contradicted myself.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. niceheart  |  June 13, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    Swipe, I guess we are all guilty of stalking to some degree.🙂

    Thanks, Kyels. Another oldies lover.🙂

    BW, I remember the strike. But I think I missed that ad. Men and their hockey, huh?

    Thanks, Julie. I’ll look forward to that. I have no idea of who those two artists you mentioned were. Just shows you how so out of loop I am.🙂

    Reply
  • 18. Daphne  |  June 13, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    Wow if I am not mistaken we are the same age or at least in the same age bracket. I’m not sure I’m not good in math. hehe

    Gosh I’m familiar with all those songs you mentioned. I love songs from the 80s as much as I love the oldies (60s mostly).

    Great choices and interesting tidbits about the significance of the songs in your personal life.

    Great post, Niceheart🙂

    Reply
  • 19. verns  |  June 14, 2007 at 1:05 am

    sheesh! I love most of the songs you listed Niceheart and I was like 6 years old when Ninoy Aquino was shot🙂 I love the 80’s songs. Regarding Air Supply..I always listen to their greatest hits🙂

    Reply
  • 20. Major Tom  |  June 14, 2007 at 1:48 am

    I loved that Michael Jackson album and in fact it was such a gargantuan hit that I think it outsold the Beatles album all in all. I was about nine years old then and i remember now that it was the first album I have ever bought in my life.

    Uhm, Total Eclipse of The Heart surely had killer hooks but I liked Making Love Out Of Nothing At All better; it’s more genuine and sentimental.

    Reply
  • 21. TK  |  June 14, 2007 at 11:14 am

    I still love St. Elmo’s Fire. in The song “Man in Motion” there’s a line there that says:

    “You broke the boy in me, but you won’t break the man!”

    That’s my anthem right there.

    Reply
  • 22. Tin  |  June 14, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Michael Jackson is one of a kind! I love his songs!

    And about following ex-boyfriend, hahahaha! i can’t believe you did that!😀

    Reply
  • 23. niceheart  |  June 14, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Thanks Daphne. 🙂 I think you are a couple of years younger than me. Songs from the 80s are classic, I think.🙂

    Verns, iha. Batang bata ka pa pala.🙂

    Major Tom, another MJ fan.🙂 Although I like Air Supply, I like both Making Love and Total Eclipse equally.🙂

    TK, I don’t know the song Man in Motion, but that’s a great line.🙂

    Tin, at that time, I didn’t really think I was following him. I just wanted to leave CEU because I have a distant relative there who’s always on my back at isinusumbong ako sa auntie ko. 🙂

    Reply
  • 24. sesame  |  June 17, 2007 at 2:48 am

    Oh, these were songs I listened too…Air Supply was one of my fave during that time. And definitely remember Billy Jean there.

    Reply
  • 25. bbt mohamed  |  June 18, 2007 at 7:03 am

    hello

    there is lot of good information in your blog , i like it , and i visit it always
    don’t hesitate to visit my web site http://www.sabte.com and if you like information about accounting there is lot of articles here :
    http://www.sabte.com/dico/accounting/

    see you

    Reply
  • 26. annamanila  |  June 26, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Hi Niceheart. If you think I have forgotten this, think again. This meme is in my ‘to-do list.’ It’s just that i had older memes to comply with. … plus contributed expat-tales to post.

    Will do it with some ‘mutations’🙂

    Reply
  • 27. niceheart  |  July 2, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    It’s okay, anna. Looking forward to yours with some mutations.🙂

    Reply
  • 28. niceheart  |  July 2, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    I am always surprised when bloggers who I do not know link my posts to theirs. I just found out that NYCweboy linked this post to his Every Now And Then I Get A Little Bit Terrified, And Then I See The Look In Your Eyes post which includes a Total Eclipse of the Heart video.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


