Shopping in New York

June 4, 2007 at 11:15 pm 18 comments

This is the second of my four-part photo album of Reggie’s trip to New York.

Reggie and his group visited not only Toys R Us, but also FAO Schwarz, another huge toy store and was made famous by the Tom Hanks’ starrer “BIG,” where his character wished he were big and he became an adult overnight.  Remember that scene where Tom Hanks played the big electronic floor piano?  Well, Reggie got to play that piano, too.

They also visited Tiffany & Co., another store that was prominent in a Hollywood movie, “Breakfast at Tiffany’s,” starring Audrey Hepburn.  Reggie has watched this movie several times and owns not just a copy of this movie but also other movies of Audrey Hepburn.  At first I thought that he just fell in love with the song “Moon River,” which Audrey sang at “Breakfast at Tiffany’s,” but I think he’s also in love with the young Audrey Hepburn. He has a movie poster of “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” which he bought in Brandon, Manitoba when they went there for the spring jazz festival.

You can see more pictures of the stores they went to and passed by on their walking tours at my My New York Photo Album.

More New York pictures next time.

lollipops BIG piano

Tiffany & Co. Toys R Us

A New York Experience Photo Album: 

Part 1 – The Sights of New York
Part 2 – Shopping in New York
Part 3 – More sight-seeing in New York
Part 4 – New York – A Jazz Experience

Entry filed under: New York. Tags: .

The Sights of New York More sight-seeing in New York

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. verns  |  June 4, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    cool! I’ve seen the movie Big but I can’t remember the big piano hehe🙂

    Reply
  • 2. The Sights of New York « Journey to Honeyville  |  June 4, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    […] Shopping in New York […]

    Reply
  • 3. JO  |  June 4, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    you know, i’ve been to NY a lot of times already, but I have never been to the big piano… is that in manhattan?

    Reply
  • 4. watson  |  June 5, 2007 at 12:11 am

    How wonderful! Yeah I recall Tom Hanks playing Chopsticks on that oversized piano. May Toys R Us na rin dito, Niceheart. Nasa Robinsons Galleria.

    Reply
  • 5. domestic rat  |  June 5, 2007 at 1:00 am

    How could anyone not love Audrey Hepburn? She’s a classic. And your boy is fast learning the way to a woman’s heart. Tiffany & Co!

    Reply
  • 6. karen  |  June 5, 2007 at 3:13 am

    i’d love to have a poster like that, as well…pati na ang the sound of music🙂

    Reply
  • 7. SexyMom  |  June 5, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    i have been to so many places, but not New York, one day i will!

    thanks for sharing the photos, and yes, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, who will forget that?

    Reply
  • 8. Kyels  |  June 6, 2007 at 12:24 am

    I gotta check out the movie “Big” then. I’ve never heard of it and the idea of an electric floor piano’s cool!

    [:

    Reply
  • 9. ernesto  |  June 6, 2007 at 3:55 am

    Wish I could go to NY and live there!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Leah  |  June 6, 2007 at 11:36 am

    Oh I remember that movie. Looks like he had lots of fun. So did he shop anything for you?

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  June 6, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    Verns, that’s what I remember the most in that movie. It was shown in our local channel here a couple of weeks ago and I taped it and I showed it to my kids. 🙂

    JO, I searched on the internet. It’s on 5th Avenue. But I don’t know if that’s in Manhattan.

    Watson, Toys R Us in Pinas. That’s nice to know.🙂

    DR, yes, fast and expensive way to a woman’s heart.🙂

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  June 6, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    Karen, Sound of Music is nice too. But interestingly, my kids have never really liked that that movie.🙂

    You’re welcome, Sexymom. I would also love to visit NY. 🙂

    Kyels, you should check it out. My kids and I were just watching parts of the movie tonight and they loved it.🙂

    Ernesto, I’d also love to go to NY.🙂

    Leah, he did bring home “I heart NY” Tshirts. He didn’t shop a lot, though. And I didn’t expect him to. He only had enough pocket money for food and a few extra for shopping. After learning how much food cost there, I was relieved to hear that he didn’t run out of money. I saw him bought something for his girl though.😉

    Reply
  • 13. Toe  |  June 6, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    Niceheart, oh this just reminds me how much I love New York. FAO Schwarz is also my favorite place and Breakfast at Tiffany’s, one of my favorite movies. I’m so glad Reggie had a blast in New York!!!

    Reply
  • 14. Wil  |  June 7, 2007 at 6:51 am

    Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of those strange movies where they have a love story which was interesting. But then it also had that stereotypical, racist portrayal of a Japanese guy portrayed by Mickey Rooney.

    Reply
  • 15. Gypsy  |  June 7, 2007 at 8:32 am

    So Reggie prefers Audrey Hepburn rather than hmm…Hilary Duff? Classy!🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Belle  |  June 7, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    Reggie surely knew how to have a good time in New York. He brought a lot of memories back home. Thanks for sharing these photos. I have to make sure my daughter takes a camera with her. hope she doesn’t lose it though.

    Reply
  • 17. ipanema  |  June 9, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    I love the floor piano and Audrey Hepburn!🙂

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  June 10, 2007 at 12:29 am

    Thanks for the comments guys.

    Wil, I’ve only seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s once and I guess I haven’t paid much attention to Mickey Rooney’s character.

    Gypsy, Reggie doesn’t pay much attention to our current artists/celebrities. Even his taste in music and movies is of the olden times.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


