The Sights of New York

June 3, 2007 at 12:36 am 26 comments

When Reggie came back from Chicago last year and brought home over 250 pictures, I thought that was a lot.  This time, he brought home over 400 photos from New York plus four video clips.  I didn’t even know that I could make video clips from my Canon PowerShot A520 digital camera.  And I’ve had it for two years now.

I thought I could only choose a few photos to summarize his trip, just like I did with his Chicago photo album.  But there are just too many photos that I’d like to share.  I narrowed it down to about a hundred.  So this will be a four-part series.

The picture that most amuses me is the “No standing” sign on the streets. Reggie said that if anybody do stand still, a policeman will approach the person and tell them to keep walking.  The streets are just too crowded and I guess it’s not in your best interest if you don’t go with the flow.

And I was surprised when he told me that sandwiches at the delis where they mostly ate are $15.00 a piece.  So expensive.

They rode the subway.  We don’t have subways here in Winnipeg, so that’s a first for him.

One more thing I noticed is that there are a lot of tall buildings, huge billboards, taxicabs and just too many people.

You can view the pictures at My New York Photo Album.  Don’t forget to read my captions.

Next time, I’ll share pictures of the many stores and landmarks of New York.

new york 

A New York Experience Photo Album: 

Part 1 – The Sights of New York
Part 2 – Shopping in New York
Part 3 – More sight-seeing in New York
Part 4 – New York – A Jazz Experience

Entry filed under: New York. Tags: .

The Flute Shopping in New York

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. karen  |  June 3, 2007 at 4:18 am

    oooh, i love new york, i intend to visit it in the near future. it’s definitely on my top 20 cities to visit. hehe. at dahil yan ang pinakamalapit, siguro naman i’ll get to cross it off my list in the near future. lol.

    by the way, i changed URL, pakiupdate na lang. thank you🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Abaniko  |  June 3, 2007 at 4:23 am

    New York really is nice, no? Among the states I’ve visited, NYC is my favorite.

    Reply
  • 3. kathy  |  June 3, 2007 at 8:56 am

    Interesting pics, niceheart. Never been to NY, but the pics oddly look like Tokyo – except that the signs would be in Japanese, of course.🙂 But I don’t think we can find any “No Standing” signs here, lol.

    Reply
  • 4. JO  |  June 3, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    I love NY… as a tourist, dont really want to live there. Too crowded, traffic all the time, dirty and full of graffitti subways and streets.

    Reply
  • 5. eric aka senor enrique  |  June 3, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Lovely pics, Irene!

    My nephew once asked who Ped Xing was while we were driving around Manila. With so many streets with that sign, he assumed he must have been a onetime influential “intsik.”

    Anyway, the “No Standing” sign means no vehicle with driver inside is allowed to linger on that particular part of the street. Many limousines or private chauffeured sedans, instead of parking their cars inside parking lots/garages, would just park curbside and wait while seated inside their cars, which can still hinder the flow of traffic. Thus, the “No Standing” signs.

    Easier to spot the tourists in Manhattan; they tend to look up a lot… hehehe.

    Oh, yeah … Ped Xing = pedestrian crossing.

    Reply
  • 6. eric aka senor enrique  |  June 3, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    Also …

    Though I was born in Manila and now back here, I have spent more of my life in New York City.

    Despite the NYC-trashing from some of those who had never been there or could not afford to live there, I will never trade my experiences of having grown up in New York City — warts and all — for anything. It was an amazing and wondrous life!

    Reply
  • 7. zeroimpact  |  June 4, 2007 at 12:44 am

    Oh yes, when we have happy snapping fingers, that is the result
    I too snap away most of the time and comes out with hundreds of photos
    I’m sure it was a really nice and fun trip.🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Ms Fair Face  |  June 4, 2007 at 12:52 am

    great pics! When I was in States, I had to bring along my laptop to transfer the pics from my camera. took more than 1000 shots for the 3 weeks I was there.

    Reply
  • 9. Gypsy  |  June 4, 2007 at 12:57 am

    You know, the only city in America I would really love to visit is New York–so I guess if I do get there at some point in my life, I might just be arrested by the police for standing still and gaping at the sights!🙂

    Reply
  • 10. tin  |  June 4, 2007 at 2:56 am

    Wow, having a “no standing” sign, NY is surely a busy street..

    Reply
  • 11. Wil  |  June 4, 2007 at 3:25 am

    the first (and last time) i was in NY was in 1998. I did buy sandwiches but I don’t remember them being $15 and I can’t imagine prices jumping that much since then. I figure your son just went to a high-end sandwich shop. 😀

    Reply
  • 12. Major Tom  |  June 4, 2007 at 5:23 am

    Great pics here and I enjoyed it so much that it instilled in me once more my New York dream. Maybe one day I’d visit this all too glitzy city of the world.

    Reply
  • 13. ipanema  |  June 4, 2007 at 8:58 am

    thanks for sharing the photos. Photosite looks ok. I may try it. My flickr is almost full.😦

    Reply
  • 14. Belle  |  June 4, 2007 at 9:24 am

    niceheart, my daughter is going there on the 8th. i will show her the pictures so she knows what to expect.

    thanks for sharing. i love the way he took the huge building, very very creative, i thought.

    Reply
  • 15. rachel  |  June 4, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    Wow, great pics! Manang-mana si Reggie sa Mommy photo buff- he knows what to take and how to frame them. Reggie obviously had a great time in New York and he captured them through this wonderful gadget called digital camera. Imagine if you have to develop and print them all? and the time it will take for you to share them all to us? Good job, both of you.

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  June 4, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    Thank you for the comments everyone.

    The group really had a fun time in New York. Even the school staff who chaperoned them and had been there before were also excited to go there once again. I also want to go there if given the chance and resources.

    Reggie does take good pictures, I think. If I could only upload all of them, I would. And yes Rachel, I had all his pictures printed, all 400+. We like flipping through the photo album and looking at them. It’s also easier to show to people the printed pictures especially my mother.

    Kathy, I also noticed that Tokyo looks a lot like New York, from the movies that I have seen.🙂

    Eric, thank your for explaining the “no standing” sign. That Ped Xing anecdote is funny. Although I figured right away what it means. 🙂 And I’m sorry if any of the comments have offended you. I’m sure they didn’t mean to trash New York. But I understand what you feel. Same thing I felt when I wrote a post about Winnipeg and this commenter kept trashing this city which I have also learned to love.

    Wil, Reggie said that some of the sandwiches were $10.00 each. I think it was only that particular sandwich that cost $15.00.

    Ipanema, I love photosite. Although I have also upgraded my account there and am now a paying customer.

    Belle, oh I’m sure your daughter will also have a good time there. I have more pictures to share. Wait for my next posts.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Kyels  |  June 4, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    I have always wanted to visit NY but never had the chance, but one day I’d love to move and live in California though!

    [:

    Reply
  • 18. Shopping in New York « Journey to Honeyville  |  June 4, 2007 at 11:15 pm

    […] June 4th, 2007 This is the second of my four-part photo album of Reggie’s trip to New York. […]

    Reply
  • 19. verns  |  June 4, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    wow..the carriages..they looked like the ones in Sex and the City hehe🙂 and I love the M&M store..so cute🙂

    Reply
  • 20. Karen  |  June 5, 2007 at 3:15 am

    re: photosite, that’s why i transfered all my pictures from there to multiply, i didn’t want to pay. LOL.

    Reply
  • 21. Daphne  |  June 6, 2007 at 1:57 am

    My lifelong dream is to spend my 40th birthday in New York well maybe not in October because it might be too cold for me. Basta the year I turn 40 which is next year na. Yikes! So hopefully I will get to see New York for real na instead of just through the movies and people’s pictures on their blogs.

    Great shots, kudos to your son he has a good eye for capturing the essence of a place🙂

    Reply
  • 22. julie  |  June 6, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    Niceheart, I was amused when you wrote:

    “I didn’t even know that I could make video clips from my Canon PowerShot A520 digital camera. And I’ve had it for two years now.”

    If it weren’t for my husband who patiently reads the manuals, I wouldn’t have known how to use the things that have manuals included.

    Hmmm..No standing signs are probably good here in P.I., sa dami ba naman ng istambay, hehehe…

    Nice shots, Reggie!

    Reply
  • 23. niceheart  |  June 6, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Kyels, you’re still young so you have a lot of time to plan for a trip to NY.🙂

    Verns, though I’ve never watched Sex and the City, I believe it was shot in NY.

    I may just sign up to Multiply too, Karen. I just learned that Yahoo Photos will discontinue their service late this summer. I also have lots of pictures there.

    Daphne, I also have a friend who celebrated her 40th in NY. I think that’s a nice way of celebrating that milestone. And thank you for the compliments on my sons pictures.🙂

    Julie, my kids are adept in electronic gadgets like a digital camera. When I bought them their Playstation and Gameboy and even our new VCR, sila na ang pinag-hook-up ko.🙂 And oh yeah, I remember ang dami ang tambay diyan sa atin.🙂.

    Reply
  • 24. More sight-seeing in New York « Journey to Honeyville  |  June 11, 2007 at 12:12 am

    […] This is the third of my four-part photo album of Reggie’s trip to New York.  […]

    Reply
  • 25. New York - A Jazz Experience « Journey to Honeyville  |  June 11, 2007 at 12:13 am

    […] This is the fourth and final installment of my four-part photo album of Reggie’s trip to New York. […]

    Reply
  • 26. tutubi  |  June 12, 2007 at 2:14 am

    400 photos?

    hmmm…kulang sa akin yan sa isang araw hehe
    the shutterbug that I am

    i badly needed an external hard drive😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


