Let’s do The Twist

May 26, 2007 at 11:59 pm 32 comments

Every spring, our school division holds a Children’s Folk Dance Festival for all the Grade 1, 2 and 3 classes.  This is an outdoor activity and the venue is usually at a nearby park.

The Twist 

The Festival was scheduled last Friday, with an alternate rain date of Tuesday next week.  We’ve had a rainy and cold week, and fortunately it didn’t rain on Friday.  I took an hour break from work and went to watch a little bit of the Dance Festival.  It was cold at only 10 C and wind of around 30 NW.  Most of the students and teachers were wearing their warm jackets and some even wore their hats and gloves.  But the cold weather didn’t dampen their spirits.  They danced all the dances that they have been learning and practicing the entire week.  I only got to see Ryland do five dances:  the Virginia Reel, the Macarena, Hands Up, Chicken Dance and The Twist, which I also danced.  Click on the pictures to watch short video clips.  And let’s see if you can spot me dancing The Twist.

Virginia Reel

Blast from the past

When I was in elementary school in the Philippines, we celebrated the Foundation Day of our school by performing different dances.  This one is the Hawaiian Dance to the tune of Pearly Shells when I was in kindergarten.

Hawaiian Dance

Entry filed under: Memory Lane, My Sweet Ryland, Raising the 3Rs, Special Occasions, Spring. Tags: .

Goodnight Irene The Flute

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zeroimpact  |  May 27, 2007 at 12:13 am

    I remember I did the Hawaiian dance too when I was in my primary years
    Such memories!!!
    And well, lets twist and have fun
    Twist… twist… twist…

    Reply
  • 2. tin  |  May 27, 2007 at 1:10 am

    We also have foundation day too. No classes for one week! Walau!😀

    I remember I loved to dance Macarena with my brother whenever we hear that song when I was a kid. It was the most popular song before here in the Philippines. It could be heard everywhere!

    Reply
  • 3. chase  |  May 27, 2007 at 4:58 am

    Lovely photos! Reminds me as well of my kindergarten days. We also danced Pearly Shells as well as In The Navy.

    Reply
  • 4. vic  |  May 27, 2007 at 5:31 am

    I remember I was too shy to do any of these number, but not now, I do just about any one, from line dancing of waltz, the meringue, to the chicken dance, just jump with the crowd and follow the leader or the dancer next to u. And the twist and the limbo rock is the most energetic free style, good for the creaking knees. and look at the children, they can dance at the flick of the music. lovely video…

    Reply
  • 5. bw  |  May 27, 2007 at 6:52 am

    Did you dance to the tune of Pearly Shells sang by Victor Wood? hehe🙂 Can you imagine that record allowed him to be a celebrity and run for senator🙂

    Reply
  • 6. eric aka senor enrique  |  May 27, 2007 at 7:54 am

    @BW – Thank God, he lost!

    Irene, at Bonifacio Elementary School, we also had to perform folk dancing on Bonifacio Day! It was fun. I enjoyed it!

    Reply
  • 7. Rach (Heart of Rachel)  |  May 27, 2007 at 9:30 am

    The Children’s Folk Dance Festival looks like a funfilled event. I enjoyed your Blast from the Past. I remember doing the same dance back in grade school.

    I read your comment on Sexy Mom’s site and learned that you recently celebrated your birthday. Belated Happy Birthday! Wishing you good health and many more promising years ahead. Take care!

    Reply
  • 8. Kyels  |  May 27, 2007 at 11:55 am

    Memories!

    When I was younger, I did the Twist too, back in my kindy days!

    [:

    Reply
  • 9. Belle  |  May 27, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    Irene, of course, i saw you. You were the carrying the purse with your back facing the camera. You surely can do the twist, Ryland must have inherited his dancing prowess from you. Who was taking the video? your husband.

    I used to dance Pearly Shells, too.

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  May 27, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Zeroimpact, so you did the Hawaiian dance too eh? Fun memories!🙂

    Tin, that’s a long break from school, one week? I was already out of school when Macarena became popular.🙂

    Chase, do you still remember the moves to Pearly Shells? I do. I think I can still dance it.🙂

    Vic, when I am invited to a friend’s party and there is line dancing, I also jump in. As you said, I just follow the leader or whoever is beside me. I always have a fun time.🙂

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  May 27, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    BW, now that you mentioned it, yes I think it was Victor Wood. It was during his hey days when we danced this. So he’s one of those celebrities who ran for office pala.

    Eric, good thing he lost ba?🙂 So Bonifacio Day pala’ng Foundation Day n’yo. Ours were usually held in March towards the end of school.

    Rach, thanks for the greetings. I just celebrated it very quietly this year. This is my first time to watch the Children’s Folk dance Festival and yes, it was a very fun-filled event. I would have stayed the entire time, but I had work that day.

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  May 27, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    It’s fun to do the Twist, no, Kyels.🙂

    Belle, yes, that was me. I was just gonna take Ryland’s pictures but the announcer invited the parents to also join in the dance. So I did.🙂

    I dragged my husband to drive me to the park and yes that was him taking the video.

    Come on, let’s dance the Pearly Shells.🙂

    Reply
  • 13. earthember  |  May 27, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Pearly Shells and the hawaian straw skirt sure bring back good old memories.

    Reply
  • 14. ann  |  May 27, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    I saw you too irene, sana pinahawak mo muna kay hubby yung bag mo para nakabwelo…hehehe.

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  May 28, 2007 at 12:26 am

    They sure do, ange.

    Ann, hindi ko na naisip yon eh. Naisipan ko ngang ilapag sa damo kaya lang baka kako maapakan nung mga nagsasayaw.🙂

    Reply
  • 16. verns  |  May 28, 2007 at 2:04 am

    OMG! my first dance is also a Hawaiian dance in kindergarten hehe but it was to the tune of Hookilau (I’m not sure with the spelling though)…

    I have yet to see the videos Niceheart…my internet is acting up again…

    Reply
  • 17. ipanema  |  May 28, 2007 at 3:49 am

    Oh, looks like they’re enjoying! Twist, macaren and chicken dance?🙂

    I miss those foundation day activities way back. Oh, Pearly shells. May kapatid to eh, si Tiny Bubbles. Sadly, the original singer just died last month. But the song lives of course. Para dun sa mga kababata ko.🙂

    Reply
  • 18. Ferdz  |  May 28, 2007 at 9:09 am

    That’s a nice twist at the end of the entry seeing those children and going back to your child pic. It’s so fun being a kid, I think most kids were able to do the twist, even me. Now I think my feet is twisted and I can no longer dance. Hehe

    Reply
  • 19. Toe  |  May 28, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Ryland is cute talaga! 🙂 I remember dancing the Pearly Shells as well… haha… really nice memories. 🙂

    Reply
  • 20. rhodora  |  May 29, 2007 at 2:38 am

    Ay, noong high school kami, sumayaw din kami ng Pearly Shells! Pero yung grass skirt ko, natanggal-tanggal ang mga straw strands, buti na lang may shorts ako sa loob, kundi, nag-bold ako! hahaha!

    Reply
  • 21. annamanila  |  May 29, 2007 at 3:12 am

    That’s a refreshing blast friom the past, nice heart. Nudged me also to remember annual foundation day field dance in grade and high school Yup, that’s how we called it — field dance. That was about the only dance I was included in …. with my two left feet and arrythymia (or my lack of rhthym). But they were fun. And we had such colorful customes ha.

    Reply
  • 22. watson  |  May 29, 2007 at 7:13 am

    Uy that’s a nice photo! Yung ate ko rin, merong ganyan wearing a hawaiian costume. Uso ang hawaiian dances sa schools dito, napansin ko. hehe

    Reply
  • 23. julie  |  May 29, 2007 at 10:23 am

    The kids were having a blast! The look on their faces! We do dances during the school patron’s feast, August 28. We almost always dance in the school quadrangle drenched because it was rainy season,😀

    Reply
  • 24. Gypsy  |  May 30, 2007 at 1:22 am

    You look cute in a grass skirt!🙂 I wore a backless mini-dress in grade one for a Hawaii Five-O Dance. Not one of my best moments. Hehe.

    Reply
  • 25. Abaniko  |  May 30, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Nakakatuwa ang porma ng mga bata sa unang pic. Hehe. They seem to have so much fun!

    Reply
  • 26. niceheart  |  May 30, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    Verns, looks like Pearly Shells is a very popular dance for kindergarteners. I think I have also heard the song Hookilau.🙂

    Ipanema, yes, they enjoyed dancing that day. I also remember Tiny Bubbles, in Hawaii, makes me feel happy, makes me feel sad. Tama ba yung lyrics?🙂

    Ferdz, oh, I think you can also do the twist. Just try it.🙂

    Reply
  • 27. niceheart  |  May 30, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    Toe, you too? Yes, they are really nice memories. Thanks.🙂

    Rhodora, high school ba eh di mga dalaga na pala kayo? Naka-shorts din kami sa loob ng grass skirts.

    Annamanila, we also had lots of foundation days at the different schools I attended. Yes, colourful costumes too.🙂

    Watson, uso ba Hawaiian dance. Dahil siguro parehong tropical countries ang Pinas and Hawaii. Saka mainit kasi eh, at least presko ang costume.🙂

    Reply
  • 28. niceheart  |  May 30, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    Julie, they did have a blast. That’s too bad naman at rainy season ang foundation day nyo.

    Gypsy, thank you. You must have also looked cute in your Hawaii Five-O costume.🙂

    Abaniko, ganda nga ng porma no? I was glad I captured it like that on my camera.🙂

    Reply
  • 29. Ms Fair Face  |  June 1, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    oh the pic from the past, you still keep them! and is that you in the pic?🙂

    Reply
  • 30. niceheart  |  June 3, 2007 at 1:09 am

    Ms Fair Face, yes we still have our old pictures from our childhood and that is me in the pic.🙂

    Reply
  • 31. Leah  |  June 6, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Oh, you’re so cute. I remember a lot of events in school where I did some dancing as well.

    Reply
  • 32. Angie  |  June 8, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    I love the concept of this festival. I might just have to steal the concept.😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


