Lilacs in bloom

May 20, 2007 at 11:35 pm 28 comments

I watched Martha last week and she talked about lilacs.  I didn’t know that’s what these plants are called.  I thought that lilacs are just “flowers.”  They also come in shrubs and trees.  Lilacs are blooming now here in Winnipeg.  And it’s only now that I notice that there are quite a few of these plants in our neighbourhood.  I also learned that they only bloom in the spring.  These fragrant pretty purple and pink flowers will be gone by summer.  So stop, smell and admire these flowers while they’re here.

lilac1t.jpg

lilac2t.jpg

lilac3t.jpg

lilac4t.jpg

lilac5t.jpg

lilac6t.jpg

lilac7t.jpg

Entry filed under: Spring, Winnipeg. Tags: .

My favourite reality show contestants Goodnight Irene

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. verns  |  May 20, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    ohhhh…they’re so pretty Niceheart. May I borrow? I’ll make one my screensaver🙂

    Reply
  • 2. niceheart  |  May 21, 2007 at 12:11 am

    Sure verns. Tell me which one and I’ll email you the original size.🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Abaniko  |  May 21, 2007 at 12:59 am

    Beautiful!

    Reply
  • 4. Major Tom  |  May 21, 2007 at 5:00 am

    Now i know hat really lilacs are. I had just a feint idea before. They look so much like orchids or lilies…

    Reply
  • 5. ipanema  |  May 21, 2007 at 7:02 am

    Oh, they are beautiful. Like you, I thought they are just flowers.🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Ms Fair Face  |  May 21, 2007 at 7:07 am

    beautiful flowers which can brighten anyone’s day! I wish we have such pretties in singapore.

    Reply
  • 7. haze  |  May 21, 2007 at 7:40 am

    Magnific Lilacs and that’s why I love spring🙂 !

    Reply
  • 8. pining  |  May 21, 2007 at 10:09 am

    My mother-in-law has one in her garden too and they’re ever so pretty🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Kyels  |  May 21, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Pretty, pretty flowers!

    [:

    Reply
  • 10. vic  |  May 21, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Now we know what the Phrase we used to sing and say in the old days which goes like this “spring showers bring in spring flowers” and now we are seeing then in beautiful pictures, and only seeing them and smelling their fragrance we can even appreciate them more..

    Reply
  • 11. Belle  |  May 21, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    niceheart, what a coincidence, we have similar blog entry that talks about flowers. i used to have a lilac tree where i used to live. i love it!

    beautiful shots of flowers, niceheart.

    Reply
  • 12. lisa  |  May 21, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    awww, i’ve always wanted a garden of my own…i had to give up my garden in the province when I went to college… awww…🙂

    Reply
  • 13. eric aka senor enrique  |  May 21, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Simply gorgeous, Irene! And what a beautiful color lilac is. They say in NYC that it is a very spiritual color.

    Reply
  • 14. bw  |  May 21, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    great pics🙂 Isn’t spring just wonderful ? I love these flowers, esp the perennials that resurrect their beauty once the winter ice thaws🙂

    Reply
  • 15. annamanila  |  May 22, 2007 at 4:38 am

    What can i say? Just BEAUTIFUL! I bet seeing those lilac trees in four dimensions will take my breath away.

    Yung ngang bongavilla (hirap i-spell nito lol) na halos wala ng green leaves, okay na okay na sa akin. Gusto ko din ang yellow bells.

    Reply
  • 16. Ferdz  |  May 22, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Beautiful! Spring is just really colorful there! I would have love taking photos there at that time

    Reply
  • 17. julie  |  May 22, 2007 at 10:07 am

    Love the colors! Beautiful. Would have love to take photos there. Hah, sana nga,🙂

    Enjoy these blooms while they last!

    Reply
  • 18. Sidney  |  May 22, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    Gorgeous flowers!

    Reply
  • 19. Gypsy  |  May 22, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Ganda ah. I have a friend in the UK who lives behind a lilac plantation–the scent must be overwhleming! But at least they dont need air freshners!🙂

    Reply
  • 20. rhodora  |  May 23, 2007 at 2:51 am

    Wow! Beautiful flowers!

    I bet you can smell summer, Irene! Whereas here, we are about to say goodbye to this sweltering but festive season.

    Wish you and your family well this coming summer break!🙂

    Reply
  • 21. Shoshana  |  May 23, 2007 at 3:28 am

    I cna almost smell the flower! It’s so beautiful!

    Reply
  • 22. zeroimpact  |  May 23, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Yes, stop and smell the flowers🙂
    That’s what life is made interesting with

    Reply
  • 23. tin  |  May 24, 2007 at 1:38 am

    Wow! Lovely!

    Reply
  • 24. Lazarus  |  May 24, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    my first time to see a pic of lilacs. amazing bloom!

    Reply
  • 25. niceheart  |  May 24, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    Thanks for the comments, everyone.🙂

    Reply
  • 26. ann  |  May 25, 2007 at 3:17 am

    Ang gaganda! Hindi pa ako nakakakita sa personal ng tree na puro flowers .

    Reply
  • 27. earthember  |  May 27, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    I left a comment last week, but for some reason, can’t view it. Anyway, what I wanted to say was, I didn’t know there were such flowers. And they are lovely. I like the colour, and probably would hunt for them here, to plant in my garden.

    Reply
  • 28. niceheart  |  May 28, 2007 at 12:31 am

    Ann, dito rin lang ako nakakita ng ganyan.🙂

    Ange, I’ve also heard from other people about problems commenting in my blog and other wordpress blogs. I have been lazy checking my spam box because they come in thousands now. Sometimes I just delete them all without checking. I have started checking them again before deleting, but if your comment was from last week, I must have deleted it already.

    Yes, the colour of these lilacs are very pleasing to the eyes. Goodluck on your hunt.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


