My favourite reality show contestants

May 16, 2007 at 11:52 pm 26 comments

apolo and julianneMy favourite reality shows are coming to an end this season.  One of the shows I watch is Dancing with the Stars.  Boy, is this the best season yet so far?  All three celebrity contestants left are good dancers, Joey, Laila and Apolo.  I’m rooting for Apolo.  He’s so flexible and dances like a pro.  I don’t care if Len deducted a point for their “raunchy” tango.  I loved it!

So last night when I was tucking my nine-year old, Ryland, into bed, I told him that his favourites, Ian and Cheryl got voted out.  Next thing I knew, he was crying.  I didn’t understand at first why he was crying.  I thought that I must have hugged him too tight or kicked him accidentally.  I later on found out that it was because his favourites were voted off.  Isn’t that sweet?  

melinda, blake, jordinI was quite happy when it was Melinda, Blake and Jordin that made it to the final three in Season 6 of American Idol.  They could all sing.  But I really thought that Melinda would win, or at least be in the final two.  So I was really surprised when she was voted off tonight.  I agree with the judges that she has been the most consistent singer throughout the whole season.  I’m not a singer but I think she was the best singer this season. She has been my favourite and I admire her humility and I have been rooting for her ever since.  But why didn’t she win?  Of course, it was America’s choice.  So was America voting based on looks, age, or perhaps personality?  Yes, Melinda lacked the self-confidence at the start, but she gained it towards the end.

Yau-ManAnother favourite contestant that didn’t make it to the finals was Yau-Man.  This guy surprised me when he did well at the darts and arrow challenge and when he made one of the most conversial deal in Survivor history.  When he won a truck in one of the reward challenges, he made a deal with Dreamz.  He knew that Dreamz doesn’t have a car and he wanted one badly. He offered him the truck, in exchange, should he and Dreamz make it to the final four and Dreamz won immunity, that Dreamz would give it up to Yau.  Dreamz accepted.  But Dreamz backstabbed him and voted Yau-Man off.  It’s true that although Dreamz didn’t win, he has ouwitted, outplayed and outlasted Yau-Man but I still think that Yau-Man played the best game.  At the reunion show, Yau-Man said that he has no hard feelings against Dreamz.  And how can you not love this guy.  He said, “I only have one mantra in life: Love many, trust few and do wrong to none.” 

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV. Tags: .

Watching Spiderman 3 on Mother’s Day Lilacs in bloom

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  May 17, 2007 at 2:23 am

    woohoo! dancing with the stars…ako naman i’m rooting for joey and kym, although its fine if apolo and julianne win. laila and maksim are alright, but i think they are overrated🙂

    Reply
  • 2. eric aka senor enrique  |  May 17, 2007 at 3:59 am

    I only know of the American Idol contenders. It’s basically the only TV show I follow🙂

    Reply
  • 3. niceheart  |  May 17, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Karen, same here. It would be fine with me if either one of the other two wins. But I still want Apollo to win. Kulit no?🙂

    Eric, you’re not much a fan of reality shows eh?🙂

    Reply
  • 4. pining  |  May 18, 2007 at 6:11 am

    Poor Ryland, bless him…
    “Dancing…” is not shown here, but I believe it’s the US version of “celebrity come dancing” here, which I avidly watch🙂
    Melinda is great but my money’s on Blake…

    Reply
  • 5. vic  |  May 18, 2007 at 8:37 am

    I pick apolo to win. he just so “perfect” and athletic compares to the rest. for their partners they are experts and they all execute to perfection, but apolo being a speed skater is jus the most flexible and graceful. but again its the viewers choices and eveyone taste is different. But all being amateurs dancers from the beginning, just imagine the efforts of their DIs to get where they are now, even laila who only dance to avoid an opponent punches like daddy, is now as gracefull as her di….

    Reply
  • 6. bw  |  May 18, 2007 at 8:51 am

    Most people agree with your observation of Melinda being ousted. I believe others did not vote for her to prove the arrogant Simon Cowell wrong🙂 I think the idol winner has to have the complete package, not just singing talent. But Melinda can have a great singing career even if she didn’t win I’m quite sure🙂

    Reply
  • 7. haze  |  May 18, 2007 at 9:32 am

    We laso have reality shows here and I prefer to watch reality shows with sense! We have Koh-Lanta (adventure), Star Academy and A la research de la Nouvelle Star (singing contest or talent contest) ! But I hate these reality shows being aired like I’île de la Tentaion (Island of Temptation) Le Millionaire ( The millionaire) it’ll be my next post and you will understand why😉 !

    Reply
  • 8. rachel  |  May 18, 2007 at 9:49 am

    “Happy long weekend”,Niceheart. Yes, I do enjoy those two reality TV shows. In fact, our whole family does. Those are the only shows that make us eat supper early so we can watch together. We even make bets. While our kids prefer Blake (obviously), my husband and I go for Melinda or Jordin. Blake must have captured the hearts of many Americans who look up to “idols” who are young; can sing, dance and ‘beep-box’- another Justin Timberlake? As for the dancers,I hope Apollo wins.

    Reply
  • 9. misyel  |  May 18, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    I’m an avid fan of American Idol and Dancing with the stars, like you I like Apolo to win and Jordin for American Idol…

    Have a nice weekend🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Belle  |  May 18, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    niceheart, i have yet to watch Dancing with the Stars. no one watches it in our household. what day does it go on?

    am an avid fan of american idol. my daughter S, (eldest) roots for Melinda while my daughter A (youngest) roots for Jordin. A thinks that Jordin has a better voice. i think so, too. and the fact that she is only 17, she is just going to get better and better as she develops.

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  May 18, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Pining, Ryland is such a sensitive child. His feelings get hurt easily, but I always try to explain to him that these things happen and they don’t always go the way you want them to go, you know. So you’re a Blake fan, huh?

    Vic, hey, another Apolo fan. Yeah, I think he’s being a speed skater gave him that flexibility. I also admire Laila’s gracefulness. Who would have expected that from her at the beginning right? She has this athletic body, and even a manly voice, so my kids say🙂. And yet she can be so graceful on the dance floor.

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  May 18, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    BW, you might be right about people not voting Melinda to go against Simon. But as we have seen in American Idol history, the runners-up could still have sucessful careers after their A.I. stint. Just look at Clay (I’m a fan), and the others. So I’m not really worried about Melinda.🙂

    Haze, I guess singing and talent contests are everywhere. It’s fun watching them, no?

    Rachel, I guess Blake is a teen heartthrob and that makes him popular among the young, who I think is the majority of the viewers and voters. Actually we watch these shows while having supper. We’ve got a TV in the kitchen.🙂

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  May 18, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    Misyel, another Apolo fan. Yay! Have a nice long weekend too.🙂

    Belle, you can catch Dancing with the Stars on Monday at ABC. Actually this Monday is the finals already. So better watch it. It’s on at 7 p.m. here. We are on Central Time. Your youngest is also 17, right? And is she the one who also sings?

    Reply
  • 14. Daphne  |  May 18, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    I think Melinda is already well polished and just needed the exposure to showcase her talent. She didn’t need to win American Idol. I’m rooting for Jordin. I can’t stand how Blake uses the beatboxing technique to every song he sings, That irritates me. LOL

    I’m a big fan of survivor and been watching every single episode since this reality show started. Yau Man deserved to win but unfortunately he got voted off. But better that Earl won instead of that Dreamz. He seems to be morally unethical to not give Yau Man the immunity but hey I guess he was just playing the game, after all. I could go on and on about that strategic move but I don’t want to flood your comment box hehe

    Reply
  • 15. Belle  |  May 18, 2007 at 11:59 pm

    actually the one who sings, composes, and performs is the eldest. but the little one also sings. thanks, i will watch Dancing with Stars for sure. huli man daw at magaling ay makakahabol pa rin.

    Reply
  • 16. Major Tom  |  May 19, 2007 at 12:10 am

    Is another Filipino doing good in Dancing? It is not yet shown here but only on a much delayed basis like maybe a month after the show is over. I enjoyed the season last year.

    It was really sad about Melinda. I thought she just had the most powerful voice for a woman, even better than Fantasia. But just how it is, often these voting system cant be the best judging system but its one that could be most convenient for viewer participation.

    Reply
  • 17. ernesto  |  May 19, 2007 at 3:51 am

    I love Mookie Lee of survivor!!!

    Reply
  • 18. annamanila  |  May 19, 2007 at 4:02 am

    I came home very late thursday night (from a wake) and one of the first things i did was to ask who got eliminated. I thought they were pulling my leg when they said it was Melinda. Up to the next day, i kept asking. But it was true. Why, why, why? She is my and Simon’s girl. 😦

    Reply
  • 19. paolomendoza  |  May 20, 2007 at 1:51 am

    trust few… thats a cool mantra

    Reply
  • 20. tin  |  May 20, 2007 at 5:48 am

    Wow, i love Yau Man’s mantra. Sana mag show rin yan sa Pinas.

    Reply
  • 21. pauL  |  May 20, 2007 at 6:51 am

    i was so upset when melinda went home last elimination night. i pictured her as the next american idol. tsk tsk.😀 passing by…

    Reply
  • 22. Kyels  |  May 20, 2007 at 7:42 am

    Hmmm … Never watched it before. Heh.

    I guess all the reality shows are different here.

    [:

    Reply
  • 23. niceheart  |  May 20, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Daphne, I also thought that. Melinda doesn’t need to win A.I. I bet you record producers are already lining up to sign her up. As for Blake, I loved his originality at the start. But yeah, I guess the beatboxing doesn’t really work with every single song.🙂 And it gets old, too.

    I can also go on and on with the Dreamz and Yau-Man issue, but I didn’t want to bore the other readers who are not hooked on Survivor. Also glad that Earl won instead of Dreamz.🙂

    Reply
  • 24. niceheart  |  May 20, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    So Belle, two singers in the family. That’s nice. Yup, you’re not too late with Dancing with the Stars. Let me know who you think is the best.🙂

    Major Tom, there isn’t a Filipino celebrity in the current season of Dancing with the Stars. But Cheryl Burke, Ian Ziering’s partner, is of Filipino heritage. And that’s why they were my son’s favourites. He said he likes whoever is partnered with Cheryl.🙂 Because Cheryl was champion for two consecutive seasons. And about Melinda, I don’t really know what happened there. But it’s obvious that America didn’t like her. Perhaps they are looking for a younger face.😦

    Reply
  • 25. niceheart  |  May 21, 2007 at 12:12 am

    Ernesto, Mookie fan huh?

    Annamanila, I also had the same reaction. I even told my son Ryland that I also felt like crying when she was eliminated.

    Paolo and Tin, don’t you just love that mantra. I think I will be living by that mantra from now on.🙂

    Thanks for the visit Paolo.🙂

    Paul, I also thought that she would be the next American Idol. Thanks for dropping by.🙂

    Kyels, I also thought that different countries would have different reality shows.

    Reply
  • 26. niceheart  |  May 22, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    My boy Apolo won! Yay!

    And based on tonight’s performances on A.I., I think it’s gonna be Jordin.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


